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TAX POLICY 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
As the 2003 Legislative Session convened, the effects of the recession that began in 
March 2001, which the September 11 terrorist attacks intensified, had produced a 
significant slowdown in the growth of the Nevada economy and a stagnant state 
revenue picture.  Simultaneously, the slowdown increased the demands for state 
services creating a sizable gap between revenues and expenditures. 
 
The events of September 11 initiated an unprecedented decline in state tourism activity.  
The result has been very sluggish gaming and sales tax revenue collections that 
continued into 2003.  Because these two sources account for about 70 percent of state 
General Fund revenues, the underperformance led to a projected revenue shortfall of 
approximately $150 million for the 2001-03 biennium, when compared to the Economic 
Forum forecasts used to support the budget approved by the 2001 Legislature.  The 
state also faced an additional shortfall of approximately $75 million in the Distributive 
School Account (DSA) because of the slower growth in revenues from the Local School 
Support Tax (LSST). 
 
The Governor’s Task Force on Tax Policy in Nevada, which was created by the 2001 
Legislature principally to address the state’s longer-term revenue needs, began to 
design a solution to the short-term revenue problem which became obvious shortly after 
September 11.  The Task Force concluded its work by recommending a package of tax 
increases and new taxes to address both the short and long-term revenue needs of the 
state of Nevada.  
 
Using the Task Force recommendations as a template, The Executive Budget for the 
2003-05 biennium proposed tax increases and other revenue changes to support the 
General Fund through FY 2004-05 and for some years thereafter.  Included in the 
proposal were increases in the cigarette, liquor and business license taxes and 
Secretary of State and restricted slot fees.  These new revenues were recommended to 
take effect April 1, 2003 to help balance the FY 2002-03 budget and to partially 
replenish the state’s stabilization fund. 
   
Continuation of these tax and fee increases, and proposals to adopt an annual business 
license fee and a transactions tax on non-participatory amusement activities and 
several minor revenue adjustments were designed to support the FY 2003-04 budget.  
To finance FY 2004-05 spending, these revenues were to be further supplemented with 
a statewide property tax of 15 cents per $100 of assessed valuation. 

The Governor’s budget also requested the 2003 Legislature to approve a gross receipts 
tax on businesses and an increase in the top gaming tax rate combined with a reduction 
in the business license tax to support the General Fund budget beginning with the 
2005-07 biennium and beyond. The enactment of a gross receipts tax was a key 
component of the revenue recommendations made by the Governor’s Task Force on 
Tax Policy in Nevada. 
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LEGISLATION 
 
In May 2003 the Economic Forum forecast modest increases of 4.5 and 5.0 percent in 
General Fund revenues for FY 2003-04 and FY 2004-05, respectively, from a 
FY 2002-03 base that was considerably reduced from the Forum’s May 2001 
projections.  With these revised forecasts, overall revenue growth would remain far 
below the combined effects of population growth and inflation since FY 2000-01.  The 
Executive Budget proposal and various alternative revenue enhancement plans to 
support the Governor’s budgetary recommendations proved to be the most debated and 
controversial issue for the Legislature, not only during the 72nd Regular Session, but 
through the 19th and 20th Special Sessions as well. 
   
The revenue package to support the General Fund appropriations was ultimately 
adopted at the conclusion of the 20th Special Session of the Nevada Legislature, which 
ended on July 22, 2003.  The three bills approved to raise the revenue, Assembly Bill 4 
and Senate Bills 2 and 8, included several of the elements contained in the revenue 
proposal submitted in January by the Governor.  Nevertheless, the final funding plan 
also differed from the Governor’s revenue proposal in many important details. 
 
One of the Governor’s proposals that was not approved by the Legislature was bridge 
revenues to help balance the FY 2002-03 budget.  Instead, the Legislature approved 
the transfer of $135 million from the Rainy Day Fund, which represented almost the 
entire balance of the fund and $85 million more than was recommended by the 
Governor. The increases in cigarette and liquor taxes and restricted slot fees 
recommended by the Governor to take effect in April were included in Senate Bill 8, but 
their effective dates were delayed by more than three months because the bill was not 
approved until the latter part of July 2003.   
 
Senate Bill 8, which encompasses more than 90 percent of the revenue package, 
include the annual business license fee and a live entertainment tax.  The Governor’s 
proposals for a state property tax and a gross receipts tax were not adopted.  In their 
place, the revenue needs for the 2003-05 biennium and future biennia were met with a 
combination of a real estate transfer tax, a modified business tax and a larger gaming 
tax increase than was proposed by the Governor.  The enactment of a modified 
business tax, in the form of a payroll tax with a special higher rate on financial 
institutions and a deduction for costs of providing medical coverage for employees, also 
resulted in the repeal of the state business license tax. 
 
The remaining two bills, Assembly Bill 4 and Senate Bill 2 are estimated to provide 
about $75 million in revenue over the 2003-05 biennium through reductions in tax 
payment and collection allowances for liquor, cigarette, other tobacco and sales taxes 
and higher fees on commercial recordings and securities collected through the 
Secretary of State’s office. 
 
Although the bills to support the General Fund spending plan were the most significant 
legislation considered in 2003, the Nevada Legislature approved numerous other bills 
that have an effect on the state’s tax system.  Additional information concerning the 
three revenue bills and details about other significant tax legislation are covered in the 
remainder of this section.      
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STATE REVENUE BILLS 
 
Senate Bill 8 of the 20th Special Session includes the key components of the 
Legislature’s revenue package to support General Fund appropriations.  The key 
components include: 
 

• A modified business tax for businesses other than financial institutions 
• A modified business tax for financial institutions 
• An excise tax on bank branch offices 
• An annual business license fee 
• An increase in taxes on gross gaming revenue and restricted slot 

operations 
• An increase in cigarette taxes 
• An increase in liquor taxes 
• A tax on live entertainment 
• An increase in the real property transfer tax 

 
Modified Business Tax for Businesses other than Financial Institutions  
The Legislature imposed a new tax of 0.7 percent on gross wages paid 
effective October 1, 2003.  The rate lowers to 0.65 percent on July 1, 2004.  
The Legislature authorized employers to deduct from gross wages on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis amounts paid for health insurance or health benefit 
plans.  Employers other than financial institutions, Indian tribes, nonprofit 
organizations and political subdivisions are required to pay the tax on gross 
wages if they are required to make a contribution for unemployment 
insurance pursuant to NRS 612.535.    
 
Modified Business Tax for Financial Institutions – The Legislature 
imposed upon financial institutions a new tax of 2 percent on gross wages 
paid effective October 1, 2003.  Financial institutions are also authorized to 
deduct from gross wages on a dollar-for-dollar basis amounts paid for health 
insurance or health benefit plans.  For the purposes of the new tax, a 
financial institution includes banks, savings and loan institutions, installment 
loan companies, debt adjusters, thrift companies, check-cashing and 
deferred deposit service providers, mortgage companies, brokers and 
agents and collection agencies.  The tax must also be paid by financial 
services providers, including security and commodity brokers, dealers, 
exchanges and services and holding and other investment offices.  Credit 
unions are specifically exempt from the requirement to pay the tax.   
 
Excise Tax on Bank Branch Offices – The Legislature imposed a new 
excise tax on each bank at the rate of $1,750 for each branch office in 
excess of one maintained by the bank in Nevada effective January 1, 2004. 
 
Business License Fee – The Legislature replaced the current one-time 
$25 licensing fee for businesses with a $100 annual licensing fee effective 
July 22, 2003.  Sole proprietors are required to pay the annual fee unless the 
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proprietor operates the business from his home and earns from that 
business not more than 66-2/3 percent of the average annual wage for the 
preceding calendar year. 
 
Gross Gaming and Restricted Slot Taxes – The Legislature increased the 
current tax rate on gross gaming revenue of nonrestriced gaming licensees 
by 0.5 percent effective August 1, 2003, and increased the fee for the 
operation of slot machines in restricted gaming locations by 33 percent 
effective July 22, 2003. 
 
Cigarette Taxes – The Legislature increased the current tax on cigarettes 
by 45 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes from 35 cents per pack to 80 cents per 
pack of 20 effective July 22, 2003.  A total of 70 cents per pack of twenty 
cigarettes is deposited to the state General Fund, with the remaining 
10 cents allocated to local governments.   
 
Liquor Taxes – The Legislature increased the current tax on intoxicating 
liquors by 75 percent effective August 1, 2003.  The table below provides a 
comparison of the former and current tax rates on the various types of 
intoxicating liquors: 
 

Intoxicating Liquor Tax Rates Per Gallon 
Liquor Type Old Rate New Rate Difference 

Beer or Other Malt Beverage $0.09 $0.16 $0.07
Wine (0.5-14% Alcohol) $0.40 $0.70 $0.30
Liqueurs & Wines (14-22% Alcohol) $0.75 $1.30 $0.55
Hard Liquors (Over 22% Alcohol) $2.05 $3.60 $1.55

 
Live Entertainment Tax – The Legislature imposed a new excise tax on 
admission to any facility where live entertainment is provided at the following 
rates: 
 

• If the maximum seating capacity of the facility is less than 7,500, 
10 percent of the admission charge and 10 percent of any amounts 
paid for food, refreshments and merchandise purchased at the facility. 

• If the maximum seating capacity is 7,500 or more, 5 percent of the 
admission charge to the facility. 

 
Live entertainment provided at a nongaming establishment is exempt from 
the tax if the facility in which the entertainment is provided has a maximum 
seating capacity of less than 300.  Live entertainment provided at a gaming 
establishment licensed for less than 51 slot machines, less than six games 
or any combination of slot machines and games within those respective 
limits is also exempt if the facility in which the entertainment is provided has 
a maximum seating capacity of less than 300.  Entertainment provided by 
nonprofit organizations and boxing contests or exhibitions are also exempt 
from the requirement to pay the tax. 
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The new live entertainment tax is effective January 1, 2004.  The 
Legislature revised the current casino entertainment tax to eliminate certain 
exemptions effective during the period between September 1, 2003, and 
December 31, 2003.  The current casino entertainment tax is repealed 
effective January 1, 2004, when the Live Entertainment Tax becomes 
effective.  

 
Real Property Transfer Tax – The Legislature imposed a new state tax on 
the transfer of real property at the rate of $1.30 of each $500 of value 
effective October 1, 2003. 

 
Assembly Bill 4 of the 20th Special Session reduced the allowances for the 
collection of sales and use taxes and taxes on intoxicating liquor, cigarettes and 
other tobacco products to 0.5 percent of the amount collected and increased by 
100 percent the fees for the privilege of selling securities in Nevada. 
 
Senate Bill 2 of the 20th Special Session makes various changes to the filing 
requirements for business entities, adds new provisions concerning foreign 
business entities doing business in Nevada, provides for the creation of a new 
type of business entity, the limited-liability limited partnership, and makes various 
other changes pertaining to business entities.  The bill includes the creation of 
new filing fees for business entities and increases various existing filing fees by 
various amounts.   Finally, the bill incorporates into the Nevada Revised Statutes 
certain fees pertaining to securities that are currently established by 
administrative regulation and set forth in the Nevada Administrative Code and 
doubles the current amount of those fees. 
 
TECHNICAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE BILLS 
 
Assembly Bill 348 establishes procedures for the Nevada Tax Commission to 
follow before adopting factors that are applied annually to the taxable value of 
improvements for property that has not been reappraised.   
 
Assembly Bill 437 revises the definition of “supplier” relating to liquor that is 
imported from outside the United States to ensure that this definition does not 
conflict with other statutory provisions relating to the importation, distribution, sale 
and taxation of such liquor in Nevada.  The bill also authorizes a retail liquor 
store that holds a nonrestricted gaming license to transfer an original package of 
beer to another retail liquor store that holds a nonrestricted gaming license under 
certain circumstances if the wholesale dealer of the beer approves the transfer in 
writing.  The bill also requires the Attorney General to enforce statutory 
provisions regulating trade practices with respect to alcoholic beverages. 
 
Assembly Bill 514 enacts and revises various state statutes relating to sales and 
use taxes to carry out the provisions of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 
Agreement.  Among other things, the agreement is designed to pave the way for 
the collection of sales taxes on purchases through the internet and other forms of 
remote sales.  The bill provides for the electronic registration of sellers, 
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establishes requirements for determining the place of sales, establishes 
requirements for claiming an exemption from the taxes and provides for the 
electronic payment of the taxes.  The bill also submits to the voters at the 2004 
General Election a ballot question to conform state sales and use tax law to the 
agreement.  Through this ballot question, voters will be asked to approve or 
disapprove various exemptions, abatements and definitions to align the 
provisions of the state Sales and Use Tax Act and the provisions governing all 
local taxes within the Local School Support Tax law.  After the voters decide on 
the question, all like items will be treated identically for purposes of both state 
and local sales taxes. 
 
Assembly Bill 531 corrects existing law to apply the same joint and several 
liability provisions for the payment of tax by a person responsible for the use tax 
that are currently in effect for sellers who are required to collect and remit sales 
taxes.   
 
Senate Bill 314 requires the Department of Taxation to collect primary and 
supplementary data regarding electronic commerce that is conducted in Nevada 
and requires the department to prepare a report compiling the data collected for 
the year.   
 
Senate Bill 475 revises the manner in which the value of certain electric light and 
power companies is assessed.  The bill requires the Nevada Tax Commission to 
segregate from the collective unit the value of a facility placed into operation by 
an electric light and power company on or after July 1, 2003, in a county whose 
population is less than 100,000.  The value of the facility must then be assessed 
in the county where the facility is located, rather than in all of the counties in 
which the company is operating.   
 
BILLS REGARDING EXEMPTIONS, ABATEMENTS AND POSTPONEMENTS 
 
Assembly Bill 199 exempts the proceeds from the annual tax that a county may 
impose to support a museum, art center or historical society from the limitation 
on allowed revenues from property taxes for that county. 
 
Assembly Bill 346 authorizes a person to travel in a motor vehicle on the highway 
with dyed special fuel in the fuel tank of the motor vehicle if the person is only 
crossing the highway to travel from one parcel of land owned or controlled by the 
person to another parcel of land owned or controlled by the person.  The bill also 
limits the authorization to operate any special mobile equipment or farm 
equipment with special fuel in its fuel tank on a highway only to the extent 
permitted by federal law. 
 
Assembly Bill 355 provides for an exemption from personal property taxation for 
certain commercial helicopters in a county whose population is 400,000 or more 
and establishes a temporary moratorium on the construction or operation of new 
heliports in such counties.  To be eligible for an exemption from personal 
property taxation, a helicopter operator must operate from a preferred airport or 
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other facility for the takeoff and landing of commercial helicopters designated by 
the Board of County Commissioners, or must comply substantially with the 
technological modifications and other measures for noise reduction that are 
recommended by the Board of County Commissioners.   
 
Senate Bill 313 clarifies that the Department of Taxation shall apply the 
exemption from sales and use taxes for state and local governments to include 
any type of motor vehicle transferred for use by a state or local entity, whether by 
sale or lease.   
 
Senate Bill 353 clarifies that an organization is exempt from the payment of sales 
and use taxes if the sole or primary purpose of the organization is to operate a 
public hospital, private hospital or other medical facility licensed pursuant to 
Chapter 449 or 450 of NRS and the organization complies with all other current 
statutory requirements to be considered an organization created for charitable 
purposes. 
 
Senate Bill 440 authorizes the owner of a single-family residence to file a claim to 
postpone the payment of property taxes under certain conditions.  To be eligible 
for a postponement, the assessed value of the residence cannot be more than 
$175,000, the owner cannot own other property with an assessed value of more 
than $30,000 and the owner must have occupied the residence for at least six 
months.  The bill provides that the owner cannot be the subject of bankruptcy 
proceedings and cannot owe delinquent taxes on the residence for a year other 
than a year for which the postponement is requested.  The bill further provides 
that the owner must have suffered a severe economic hardship that is expected 
to last for at least a year and that the total annual income of the household 
cannot exceed the federally designated poverty level. The bill would allow for a 
postponement period of no longer than three years. 
 
Senate Bill 464 makes various changes to the manner in which sales and use 
taxes are collected with respect to sales of various types of watercraft.  The bill 
requires the Department of Taxation to apply the exemption for the sale of 
tangible personal property delivered by the vendor to a forwarding agent for 
shipment out of state, to include the sale of a vessel to a nonresident.  The bill 
excludes the value of a vessel taken in trade from the sales price of a vessel for 
the purposes of the Local School Support Tax and other local sales and use 
taxes.  The bill exempts a motorboat that has been documented, pursuant to 
federal law, from the requirement of obtaining a title pursuant to the provisions 
governing watercraft, but requires that all boats be numbered in this state or 
another state.  Finally, the bill requires the Division of Wildlife to receive proof 
that all taxes have been paid before issuance to the buyer or transferee of a new 
certificate of ownership and certificate of number for a motorboat. 
 
Senate Bill 473 reduces the number of full-time employees that a new business 
is required to have on its payroll to obtain an abatement from property taxes, 
business license taxes or the Local School Support Tax.  The bill also authorizes 
the Commission on Economic Development to approve a partial abatement on 
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taxes for a business that furthers the development and refinement of intellectual 
property, a patent or a copyright into a commercial product if the business meets 
certain requirements.   
 
The bill also revises the additional requirements for a partial property tax 
abatement for new businesses by reducing the amount of the capital investment 
that is required and provides that if a partial abatement from property taxes is 
approved for an energy storage device, the abatement shall last for a period of 
10 years and equal 50 percent of the taxes payable.  The bill eliminates the 
graduated scale of exemption percentages for a partial exemption from the 
Business License Tax and provides that the exemption is 50 percent of the 
amount of tax otherwise due during the first four years of operation. 
 
The bill provides that an abatement from the Local School Support Tax on the 
gross receipts from the sale and the storage, use or other consumption of eligible 
machinery or equipment lasts for the duration of the lease if the machinery or 
equipment is leased and clarifies that the lessee is the taxpayer who is eligible 
for the abatement.   
 
Finally, the bill extends until June 30, 2009, the prospective expiration of the 
provisions that authorize an abatement of taxes for facilities for the generation of 
electricity from renewable energy that are currently set to expire on 
June 30, 2005. 
 
Senate Bill 489 allows an exemption from the Local School Support Tax and the 
City-County Relief Tax for a solar energy system for heating water that reduces 
the consumption of electricity or any fossil fuel.  The bill allows a similar 
exemption for solar lighting systems that use solar energy to provide indoor 
lighting.  The bill delays the prospective expiration of the exemption for products 
or systems designed or adapted to use renewable energy to generate electricity 
to June 30, 2005.  
 
BILLS AFFECTING LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAXES AND REVENUES 
 
Assembly Bill 205 amends the 1999 special act (Senate Bill 477) relating to the 
imposition of additional room taxes in Washoe County to increase the room tax 
by 2.5 percent in the City of Sparks in order to develop and promote projects and 
events and to pay for various capital improvements to attract and expand tourism 
within or to benefit the Victorian Square area of the Sparks Town Center Project.  
The bill provides that the City of Sparks will not continue to receive annual 
increases in its allotment from the 1999 Room Tax Act by providing that the 
allotments for Sparks cannot exceed $200,000 in each year after July 1, 2001. 
 
Assembly Bill 208 authorizes the county commission in a county with a 
population of less than 15,000 to impose, if approved by the voters, a sales tax of 
up to 1/4 of one percent for the operation and maintenance of a swimming pool.  
Because voters in White Pine County approved an advisory question at last 
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year’s General Election supporting such a tax, the bill authorizes the imposition 
of the tax in that county by ordinance with no additional voter approval required.   
 
Assembly Bill 516 makes three separate changes applicable to the distribution of 
fuel tax revenues.  The first change is the establishment of a statutory definition 
of “total road and street mileage” to ensure that mileage is counted and reported 
uniformly from county to county.  The second change corrects an oversight in 
previous legislation by allowing the one-cent gasoline tax to be distributed 
directly to each county and city to match how other local gasoline taxes are now 
distributed.  The third change revises how revenues from the 3.6 percent portion 
of the local gasoline taxes are distributed to those counties eligible to receive 
revenues in excess of the base-year guarantee amounts established as a result 
of the 2001 amendments to the distribution formula.  The legislation approved in 
2001 inadvertently included a method for distributing surplus revenues that was 
not recommended by the 1999-2000 Interim Legislative Committee.  The 
amendments in Assembly Bill 516 correct the formula to correspond to the earlier 
recommendation and ensure that no county loses revenue because of the 
formula changes by revising the year used to determine the guarantee amounts 
from FY 2000-01 to FY 2002-03. 
 
Assembly Bill 16 of the 20th Special Session authorizes the imposition of a fee on 
rental cars to finance a performing arts center and a facility for providing 
vocational training in culinary skills in a county whose population is more than 
400,000.  The bill authorizes the Board of County Commissioners in such a 
county to impose by ordinance a fee of not more than 2 percent of the rental 
costs for all rental cars other than those rented as replacement vehicles.  The bill 
requires the Clark County Board of County Commissioners to distribute the first 
$3 million collected from any fee imposed pursuant to the provisions of the bill in 
Clark County to the Culinary and Hospitality Academy of Las Vegas for the 
planning and design of a vocational training facility in southern Nevada. 
 
Senate Bill 237 revises various provisions as necessary to carry out advisory 
questions in Clark and Washoe Counties relating to funding for regional 
transportation projects.  Based on the approval of Question 10 in Clark County, 
the bill allocates to the Regional Transportation Commission the proceeds from 
the mandatory one-cent per gallon levy on fuel for jet or turbine-powered aircraft 
sold, distributed or used in Clark County and requires that the proceeds be used 
for transportation projects described in the regional plan for transportation.  The 
bill also increases, over the next 15 years, the maximum tax rate that may be 
imposed by a county on the privilege of new residential, commercial, industrial 
and other development for the improvement of transportation and adds air quality 
projects to the list of activities for which optional motor vehicle fuel taxes imposed 
pursuant to NRS Chapter 377A can be used.  The bill also provides for an 
increase of one-quarter of one percent in the sales and use tax in Clark County 
for the construction, maintenance or repair of roads or the maintenance of a 
public transit system. 
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Based on the approval of Question WC-2 in Washoe County, the bill authorizes 
the Washoe County Board of County Commissioners to adopt an ordinance to 
index the local fuel tax rates and the optional fuel tax levy for the Regional 
Transportation Commission each year to the average percentage increase in the 
Consumer Price Index or to increase the rate by 4.5 percent, whichever is less, 
and authorizes a local government that imposes an impact fee to pay the cost of 
constructing a street project to index the fee each year to the average 
percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index or to increase the rate by 
4.5 percent, whichever is less.  The bill also provides for an increase of 
one-eighth of one percent in the sales and use tax in Washoe County for the 
construction, maintenance or repair of roads or the maintenance of a public 
transit system. 
 
Senate Bill 370 authorizes a Board of County Commissioners in a county whose 
population is less than 400,000 to impose an additional tax on the transfer of real 
property, not to exceed $0.05 for each $500 of value.  The proceeds of the tax 
must be used by the Department of Agriculture for programs for the exclusion, 
detection and control of invasive species and certain endemic pests and weeds 
and for grants to local governments and nonprofit organizations for the control or 
management of invasive species and certain endemic pests and weeds. 
 
Senate Bill 465 deletes provisions providing that any property tax rate authorized 
for school capital projects must be included as part of the property tax rate used 
to determine the school district’s portion of the basic governmental services tax 
revenues.   
 
Senate Bill 467 authorizes a special district to pledge a percentage of revenue 
received from the supplemental city-county relief tax for the payment of general 
obligation or revenue bonds issued by the special district.   
 
Senate Bill 470 authorizes the governing body of a city in a county with a 
population of less than 100,000 to impose a tax of not more than four cents per 
gallon on fuel for jet or turbine-powered aircraft and eight cents per gallon on 
aviation fuel sold, distributed or used at an airport that is owned or operated by 
the city.  The bill also revises the manner in which the Department of Motor 
Vehicles allocates the revenues collected from taxes on fuel for jet or 
turbine-powered aircraft and aviation fuel to ensure that the revenues are 
provided to the governmental entity that owns or operates the airport or, if the 
airport is neither owned nor operated by a governmental entity, to the county in 
which the airport is located.  Finally, the bill limits the authority to use the 
proceeds of these taxes for marketing purposes to owners and operators of 
airports in counties with a population of less than 400,000.   
 
Senate Bill 471 makes various changes to provisions relating to the collection 
and administration of fees for petroleum products and fuels for motor vehicles 
and aircraft.  The bill requires the licensure of exporters and transporters of motor 
vehicle fuel, aircraft fuel and special fuel and increases the time period within 
which the DMV can perform an audit of dealers, suppliers, exporters and 
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transporters of such fuels.  The bill authorizes the department to approve an 
extended reporting period for special fuel dealers under certain circumstances 
and provides for a standardized 12-month period during which motor vehicle fuel 
licensees, aircraft fuel licensees and special fuel licensees can apply for a refund 
of taxes paid.  The bill also provides that a person who is responsible for 
collecting a tax on motor vehicle, aircraft or special fuel cannot retain the 
2 percent collection allowance if the taxes are not paid when due.  Finally, the bill 
eliminates the requirement for a licensee who is responsible for collecting motor 
vehicle, aircraft and special fuel taxes to hold the amounts collected in a separate 
account in trust for the state unless the licensee has failed to remit the taxes in a 
timely manner in the past.   
 
Senate Bill 490 authorizes the Board of County Commissioners of Washoe 
County to expend the money in the county’s infrastructure fund for the operation 
and maintenance of certain projects for the management of floodplains or the 
prevention of floods.  The bill limits the use of the money in the infrastructure 
fund to those flood control projects that were included in the plan for 
expenditures from the fund adopted by the Washoe County Board of County 
Commissioners as that plan existed on January 1, 2003. 
 
Senate Bill 495 authorizes the acquisition of art and tourism projects and 
entertainment projects pursuant to the provisions of the Consolidated Local 
Improvements Law.  The bill allows a municipality in a county whose population 
is less than 400,000 to pledge for an improvement project that will increase retail 
expenditures by tourists not more than 75 percent of the proceeds from the 
mandatory sales and use taxes collected in the improvement district, after 
deducting a sum equal to 0.75 percent of the amount of those proceeds. 
 
Senate Bill 497 authorizes the imposition of a fee on rental cars to finance a 
minor league baseball stadium in a county whose population is 100,000 or more, 
but less than 400,000.  The Board of County Commissioners in such a county is 
authorized to impose by ordinance a fee of not more than 2 percent of the rental 
costs for all rental cars other than those rented as replacement vehicles.  The bill 
also increases the recovery surcharge that a lessee may charge a rental car 
lessor from 3.5 percent to 4 percent of the total amount for which the car was 
leased.  The recovery surcharge is to reimburse the lessor for the costs of 
vehicle licensing fees and taxes paid by the lessor. 

63



 

64


	TABLE OF CONTENTS
	Tax Policy
	Background
	Legislation
	State Revenue Bills
	Technical & Administrative Bills
	Exemption, Abatement & Postponement Bills
	Local Government Tax & Revenue Bills




