THE TWENTY-FOURTH DAY

CARSON CITY (Wednesday), February 27, 2019

Assembly called to order at 11:58 a.m.

Mr. Speaker presiding.

Roll called.

All present except Assemblyman Hambrick, who was excused.

Prayer by the Chaplain, Dr. Ken Haskins.

Our heavenly Father, the psalmist David declared, "Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord." What is true of the nation is true of the state. We invoke Your presence and ask that Your blessings would be upon these legislators and their work, so that their work might benefit all Nevadans in their pursuit of peaceful, productive, and prosperous lives. I pray in Name of the Lord Jesus.

AMEN.

Pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that further reading of the Journal be dispensed with and the Speaker and Chief Clerk be authorized to make the necessary corrections and additions.

Motion carried.

MOTIONS, RESOLUTIONS AND NOTICES

NOTICE OF EXEMPTION

February 25, 2019

The Fiscal Analysis Division, pursuant to Joint Standing Rule 14.6, has determined the exemption of: Assembly Bills Nos. 46, 84, 104, 106, 191, 196 and 209.

Also, the Fiscal Analysis Division, pursuant to Joint Standing Rule 14.6, has determined the eligibility for exemption of: Assembly Bills Nos. 20, 44, 47, 76, 97, 111, 176, 208, 211, 214, 218, 223 and 224.

CINDY JONES
Fiscal Analysis Division

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that the persons set forth on the Nevada Legislature's Press Accreditation List of February 27, 2019, be accepted as accredited press representatives, that they be assigned space at the press table in the Assembly Chamber, that they be allowed the use of appropriate broadcasting facilities, and the list be included in this day's Journal:

COUNTY LINE MAGAZINE/HEALTHCARE NEWS MAGAZINE: Joshua MacEachen; LAS VEGAS SUN: John Sadler; THENVINDY.COM: John L. Smith.

Motion carried.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING AND REFERENCE

By the Committee on Health and Human Services:

Assembly Bill No. 228—AN ACT relating to services to aging and disabled persons; expanding the jurisdiction of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman

to perform certain actions to protect the health, safety, welfare and civil rights of certain persons receiving services from certain entities other than long-term care facilities; revising the duties of the Ombudsman; requiring certain such facilities and providers of services to post information relating to the procedure for making a complaint to the Ombudsman; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Assemblyman Sprinkle moved that the bill be referred to the Committee on Health and Human Services.

Motion carried.

By Assemblymen Swank, Carlton, Cohen, Ellison, Fumo, Peters and Titus: Assembly Bill No. 229—AN ACT relating to historic preservation; requiring the Administrator of the Office of Historic Preservation of the State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to establish and administer a technical advisory program for the protection and preservation of certain buildings and structures; making an appropriation; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Assemblywoman Swank moved that the bill be referred to the Committee on Natural Resources, Agriculture, and Mining.

Motion carried.

By Assemblywoman Swank:

Assembly Bill No. 230—AN ACT relating to historic preservation; providing a procedure for the governing body of a county or city to designate a historic neighborhood; clarifying the authority of the Office of Historic Preservation of the State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to include landmarks in its list of historic places that are eligible for listing in the State Register of Historic Places; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Assemblywoman Swank moved that the bill be referred to the Committee on Government Affairs.

Motion carried.

By Assemblymen Carrillo and Daly:

Assembly Bill No. 231—AN ACT relating to air pollution; requiring that wireless testing devices be used to conduct emissions tests; requiring a station licensed to conduct emissions tests to provide certain information to the owner concerning the safety of his or her motor vehicle; requiring that wireless testing devices used to conduct emissions tests comply with certain standards; providing that emissions tests are required only on motor vehicles built during or after 1996; establishing the maximum number of stations that are licensed to conduct emissions tests in this State; providing an exception to the requirement for emissions testing for certain transfers of used motor vehicles; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Assemblyman Carrillo moved that the bill be referred to the Committee on Growth and Infrastructure.

Motion carried.

GUESTS EXTENDED PRIVILEGE OF ASSEMBLY FLOOR

On request of Assemblyman Carrillo, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to James Harmer.

On request of Assemblyman Edwards, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Annie Black.

On request of Assemblywoman Hansen, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Carrie Buck.

On request of Assemblyman Leavitt, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Randy Kirner.

On request of Assemblywoman Peters, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Rhonda Turnipseed, Tamra Hopkins, and Terry Fowler.

On request of Assemblyman Thompson, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Bianca Garcia.

On request of Assemblywoman Tolles, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to Pat Hickey.

On request of Assemblyman Wheeler, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to the following students, teachers, and chaperones from Faith Christian Academy: Ashlee Anderson, Suzy Berger, Mateo Esquivel, Kayla McGhee, Paul Mueller, Ryker Rivinius, Hannah Straub, Liam Wall, Angelica Wilhelm, Diane Wilson, Jensen Benigno, Kiarra Depaz, Kailey Fitzpatrick, Wyatt Gillaspie, Christine Kennedy, Riley McHenry, Jordan Prather, and Wyatt Prather.

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that the Assembly adjourn until Friday, March 1, 2019, at 11:30 a.m.

Motion carried.

Assembly adjourned at 12:13 p.m.

Approved:

JASON FRIERSON
Speaker of the Assembly

Attest: SUSAN FURLONG

Chief Clerk of the Assembly