THE FOURTH DAY

CARSON CITY (Thursday), February 7, 2019

Assembly called to order at 11:41 a.m.

Mr. Speaker presiding.

Roll called.

All present.

Prayer by the Chaplain, Bishop Deborah Hutterer.

Eternal God, we lift up all who govern this state of Nevada, especially this legislative body. May those who hold power understand that it is a trust from You to be used, not for personal glory and profit but for the service of the people. Drive them from cynicism, selfishness, and corruption; grant in Your mercy that they may be just in purpose, wise in counsel, unwavering in duty. As they do this work to which You have called them, may they be deliberate in using their position to serve all in their care, including those who depend upon the care of others. In all their words and exchanges, may they uphold the honor of this state and secure the protection of all people for the common good.

AMEN.

Pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that further reading of the Journal be dispensed with and the Speaker and Chief Clerk be authorized to make the necessary corrections and additions.

Motion carried.

MOTIONS. RESOLUTIONS AND NOTICES

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that the persons as set forth on the Nevada Legislature's Press Accreditation List of February 7, 2019, be accepted as accredited press representatives, that they be assigned space at the press table in the Assembly Chamber, that they be allowed the use of appropriate broadcasting facilities, and the list be included in this day's Journal:

CARSON NOW: Kelsey Penrose; FLANZ WRITES: Annie Flanzraich; KOLO-TV: Michael Cooper, Terri Russell; KTVN-TV: Ryan Canaday, Brandon Fuhs; KVVU-TV: Gai Phanalasy; LAS VEGAS REVIEW-JOURNAL: Kevin Cannon, Rachel Crosby; LOTUS BROADCASTING: Chuck N. Baker; MSNBC NEWS: Robert Colvill, Steve Ligtelyn, Kem Stralka; NBC NEWS: John Boxley, Stefanie Cargill, Chris Jansing; NEVADA BROADCASTERS ASSN/GACOVINO & MORE – MPS, INC.: Richard Gacovino; RENO GAZETTE-JOURNAL: Andy Barron; SPARKS TRIBUNE/NEVADALABOR.COM: Andrew Barbano; TASMAN PACIFIC MEDIA GROUP: Peter Hutchinson; VEGAS VOICE, THE: Daniel Roberts.

Motion carried.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

SIGNING OF BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

There being no objections, the Speaker and Chief Clerk signed Assembly Concurrent Resolutions Nos. 1 and 2; Assembly Resolutions Nos. 1, 2, 3; Senate Bill No. 1.

REMARKS FROM THE FLOOR

Assemblywoman Titus requested that the following remarks be entered in the Journal.

Remarks by Assemblywoman Titus.

ASSEMBLYWOMAN TITUS:

Today, on my way to work here, I made a house call on one of my patients, which I commonly do. But this morning was a special morning because I was able to deliver to my patient and constituent a proclamation acknowledging his 100th birthday today. I will not read the whole proclamation because you can just imagine after 100 years how long that might be.

Theodore "Ted" Faber was born in Mason Valley on February 7, 1919. He was two months early and his mother had to keep him in a little shoebox to keep him warm. On his way to town—that little farmhouse that he was born in is about 20 miles away from the town of Yerington—he rode in a buckboard, and they would have to use straw and heated stones to keep warm. When he was just a young guy, he signed up for the Navy the day after Pearl Harbor and ended up in the Battle of Midway. Today, 100 years later, he is still at home with his wife of 70-plus years.

I just want to put into the journal that we acknowledge him and thank him for his service to the state of Nevada.

GUESTS EXTENDED PRIVILEGE OF ASSEMBLY FLOOR

On request of Assemblyman Kramer, the privilege of the floor of the Assembly Chamber for this day was extended to the students, teachers, and chaperones from Carson City Montessori School: Ryan Bacon, Eva Bell, Kathleen Brendel, Wyatt Freeman, Jael Graham, Zimri Greenwood, Luke Hawkins, Caedmon Hoffman, Kyda Krizenbeck, Trevor Locke, Brayden Marchal, Justin Gonzalez-Cruz, Heidi Nichols, Malcom Ortega, Bryce Rollings, Julie Salanoa, Shelby Taylor, Ruby Warren, Dylan Wynne, Kestin Young, Maeva Bayer-Boss, Reece Arrighi, Conor Bagley, Raveena Bommali, Gauge Butts, Addy Dewitt, Samantha Hart, Derick Hensley, Chloe Koppel, Keira Lopez, Isabelle Macedo, Arianna Martinez, Logan McKenna, Jillian Nelson, Addisyn Omohundro, Emjae Salanoa, Anaiah Silis, Will Urso, Lucas Valdez, Zachary Volkov, and Donaven Wikston.

Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson moved that the Assembly adjourn until Monday, February 11, 2019, at 11:30 a.m.

Motion carried

Assembly adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

Approved:

JASON FRIERSON
Speaker of the Assembly

Attest: SUSAN FURLONG

Chief Clerk of the Assembly