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Mission Statement

To research, develop, and recommend more effective methods to prevent
teenage motor vehicle crashes.

Objectives

|. Research the facts and problems contributing to teenage motor vehicle
accidents.

[I. Examine current programs that address teenage driver preparation.

A. Nevada's Programs
B. Programs in other states

Ill, Brainstorm more effective solutions.

The Issues

+ Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death for Nevada
teens.

+16 and 17-year-olds comprise 1.9 percent of Nevada drivers, but are
involved in 7.2 percent of fatal crashes.

+3/4 of teen passengers killed in crashes in Nevada were in cars driven by
other teens.

¢ Teen crashes also kill drivers and passengers in other vehicles.

+Government funded studies show teens are particularly distracted by other
teen passengers, not aduit passengers.

+Teen passengers increase the risk of a fatal crash by 30 percent. Each
additional teen passenger amplifies the risk.
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Executive Summary

The 72™ Session of the Nevada Legislative will consider many bills
dealing with operating a motor vehicle. Among these, will be bills pertaining
to new teen drivers, While the Nevada Legislature is sometimes reluctant to
pass laws that further restrict personal freedom, this year policy makers are
more likely than ever to hear from constituents on the dangers facing both
teen drivers and those with whom they share the road.

The number of vehicle-related deaths hit an all-time high in 2002, with
371 Nevadans losing their lives. This represents a 17.2 percent increase
over 2001, according to Nevada's Office of Traffic Safety. The previous
record was 361 in 1998.

In 2002, some horrific fatal crashes involving teens attracted intense
media attention, particularly in Clark County. These crashes moved the
community to take action to lower the teen crash rate. Unfortunately, the
actions that need to be taken are not clearly outlined. The age-old belief that
driver education a/one will solve the problem has been proven time and again
not to be successful.

Other action must be taken, along with assuring that driver education is
provided in the best, most helpful way possible. The Teenage Driver Public

Forum Committee discussed a number of options, which are presented in
this report. :

The Committee agreed, in general, that issues surrounding teen driving
can be broken into the following four areas:

+ Education
+Training
+Legislation

+Law Enforcement
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Facts About Teen Drivers

¢ According to the National Transportation Safety Board, Nevada is one of
11 states voted as having the weakest graduated driver licensing
program in the nation.

+Nevada ranks as one of the worst states in the nation with regard to its
driver education programs. In Clark County there are 31 high schools and
only 6 offer driver education classes. None offer a “behind the wheel”
program and there are no future plans to establish such a program or
even bring driver education classes back into the schools.

+Nevada is the fastest growing state in the nation with Clark County seeing
the largest growth. Approximately 16,000 teens reach the age of 16
annually and many of these students are unprepared to drive on our
streets and freeways.

¢ Southern Nevada has some of the worst driving hazards in the United
States.

¢ There is not enough public funding allocated for “behind the wheel”
training or for driver education programs.

+Driver education courses are not required for teenagers living in counties
with populations less than 50,000 or cities with less than 25,000 people.
tn addition, if the public school they are enrolled in does not offer driver’s
education they are not required to take it.

¢ The crash rate per mile for drivers between the ages of 15 and 20 is four
times that of adult drivers.

¢ Research into fatal teen crashes during the 1990s found that the greatest
danger times are after school, and at the beginning and end of each

school year.

+ Teenagers think they are invincible.

¢ Young drivers who drink are involved in fatal crashes at twice the rate of
drivers who are 21 and aover.
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¢Nevada law requires that new teen drivers receive 30 hours of classroom
education in an approved driving course. If the course is offered via the
Internet, television or some other means, the course must have a specific
state license to assure the students are meeting driver education
requirements.

+ A bill being introduced by Senator Barbara Cegavske seeks to revise the
current provision that states one hour of “behind the wheel” training
is equal to three hours of classroom time.

¢+ The Committee believes that television and Internet-based programs are
not as successful as the classroom format for imparting the necessary
information. While the Committee felt that driver education programs
cannot reduce the teen crash rate alone, it provides an important
foundation from which to build driving experience and practice.

+The 2001 Legislature took action to allow 15-year-olds to take a driver
education course, regardless of their year in school, which has been one
positive change.

¢ Behind the wheel training with professional Driving Instructors materially
enhances the reduction in teen crash rates, but few Nevada teens are
receiving professional training. Most programs have [imited time and
resources to offer new drivers what they need to know in preparation for
the dangers of the road. Private driving school and training programs are
available and provide a valuable service in mediating this huge problem.
The state has not clearly recognized the importance of this component in
preparing new drivers.

+ Currently, teens are required to complete a minimum of 50 hours of
“behind the wheel” experience with a driver that is at least 21 years old
and has been driving for at least one year. The teen’s parent or guardian
must sign an affidavit to this effect; however, the Committee felt this is
too often submitted falsely.
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Committee’s Recommendations:

1. Support and strengthen our graduated driver licensing program.
2. Strengthen current driver education requirements.
3. Require mandatory “behind the wheel” training.

4, The Teenage Driver Public Forum Committee should meet with the
Clark County School Board to discuss increased involvement in driver
education and training programs.

5. Encourage parents to start a “layaway savings plan” for their child's
driver education. Driving is a privilege --- not a right.

6. Request that insurance companies create a fund for driver education
training.

7. Obtain more government grants to support feen driver education
programs.

8. Require more adverse consequences or penalties for teens that are
convicted of either drug or alcohol offenses or for traffic violations. These
consequences could include community service or assignment to treatment
programs. This would serve as an incentive to acquire safe driving practices.

9. Gross misdemeanor and felony convictions should not be reduced to
misdemeanors by the judicial system. There is currently too much leniency.

10. Return the minimum age requirement to 16 to obtain a drivers license.

11. Teens must maintain a learners permit for 6 months prior to obtaining a
drivers license.

12. Make it mandatory that a teenage drivers education 30-hour course be
completed prior to a teen obtaining a one-year instruction permit.

13. The DMV affidavit is a legal document that parents of teens must sign. It
should be formulated into a form/checklist log, whereby, the licensed driver
certifies under penalty of perjury that the hours logged are accurate. It
would include: the start/stop time, the conditions such as day or night, wet
or dry road surface, freeway vs. surface street, light traffic/heavy traffic,

etc. The parent does not have to be the actual behind the whee/ trainer.
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Related Recommendations

1.) Implement mandatory, primary seat belt laws in 2003,

2.) Lower the blood alcchol ievel from .10 to .08.
3.) Pass a mandatory annual vehicle safety inspections law.
4.} Post bulletin boards in all high schools with driver education information.

5.) Suggest all high schools have an “Annual Driver Safety Awareness”
program taught by law enforcement agencies for teenagers 15-17 years old.

6.) Review/update standardization of the DMV's “Behind The Wheel” road
test.

7.) Traffic awareness and general public safety should be taught in grades K-
12. Jaywalking and riding bicycles on the wrong side of the road are prime
examples. Respect for the rules of the road should be established long

before the initiation of driver training as 15 years of age is to late to start the
process.

Conclusion

Teenagers operating motor vehicles have become a way of life.
Nevada’s current rules and requirements for teen drivers do not adequately
address the unique concerns associated with teens obtaining a drivers
license. The Teenage Driver Public Forum Committee’s proposal addresses
the areas of education, training, legislation and law enforcement. The
Committee’s recommendations simplifies procedures, facilitates,
understanding and provides police with a viable tool for enforcement. The
proposals are cost-effective and address current procedure shortfalls through
a combination of driver education and training. The Committee respectfully
submits these recommendations for consideration, review and

implementation as soon as possible by respective agencies affected.
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