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.08 MAKES CENTS (AND DOLLARS) FOR NEVADA

MONETARY LOSSES FROM DRUNK DRIVERS.
1. Drunk drivers cost the State of Nevada 1.1 billion dollars per year

a. $500,000,000 in monetary losses (i.e. medical costs, loss of work, rehab etc).
b. $600,000,000 in quality of life (i.e. pain and suffering, inability to function in society).

¢. Of the 1.1 billion dollars, $4'00.,000,000 is paid by the drunk driver (primarily through
insurance) and 700,000,000 is paid by other persons.

2. The average DUI death in Nevada costs 3.7 million dollars (1.2 million in monetary
loss and 2.5 million in quality of life).

3. The cost to each survivor is $109,000 ($55,000 in monetary loss and $54,000 in quality
of life).

.08 ACCIDENT REDUCTIONS

4 Studies have shown that a .08 law, when coupled with other drunken driving laws,'can
reduce the fatality by 7 to 16%.

a. This means that if a 7% reduction will save Nevada 77 million dollars, a 10% reduction
will save 110 million and a 16% will save 176 million.

b. In total, a .08 law will save every person in Nevada approximately $45.
STUDIES

1. An initial study in California found a 12% drop in fatalities and a four year study found
a 9-12% drop in fatalities

2 A study by Boston University found a 16% drop in fatalities

3. A study by the General Accounting Office was critical of other studies but it is
important to note: ' '

a. The GOA study, while it found thaf .08 by itself does not appear to reduce fatalities,
.08 when combined with other DUI legislation can be effective

b. The GOA study was critical of the above CA studies because the GOA found that it
was not possible to tell whether the drop in fatalities in CA was due to the .08 alone or
the .08 when combined with license revocation. Nevada already has a license revocation
statute in place so, assuming the CA reduction arose from both the license revocation and
.08, a similar reduction should occur in Nevada.
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THE BOTTOM LINE

.08, even if it results in only a 7% reductions in fatalities will save the State of Nevada
enormous sums of money. In this era of shrinking budgets and skyrocketing hospital
costs, such savings can have a substantial favorable impact on the budget for the state of
Nevada and every Nevada citizen.

Note: the above information is taken from the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration 2000 report of Impaired Driving in Nevada.
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