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Traffic Safety and Children: Booster Seats
By Melissa A. Savage

The leading cause of death, in America, for those berween the ages of 6 and 33 is motor vehicle
crashes. Every 13 minutes, someone in America dies from 2 traffic crash, and every 10 seconds
someone is injured, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
On average, crashes cause about 41,000 deaths each year, which cost $17 billion in medical care
and $107 billion in lost productivity and property loss. Every American shares that burden at
about $580 per person per year, NHTSA says.

Children are one of the age groups affected most by traffic crashes. In fact, U.S. motor vehicle
crashes are the leading cause of fatal, unintentional injuries for children between the ages of 4 and

leading cawse of | 14, In 2001, 2,658 children under 16 died in car crashes—slightly lower than 2000 when 2,811
ﬁ’f“[' wningen- | children died. The rate has dropped by nearly 50 percent over the past 25 years or so. The best
mj;f:;f;i:i way to ensure the safery of child passengers is to buckle them in an appropriate child safety seat or
berween the ages seat belr.
of 4 and 14, . .
Booster seats are designed for children between 4 and 8 years and between 40 and 80 pounds.
Many children outgrow safety seats when they reach 40 pounds, after which booster seats can be
used. Some traffic safety advocates believe children should ride in booster seats until they weigh at
least 80 pounds.
All 50 states have some form of child restraint law, and all are primary enforcement laws. One
exception is Colorado—where the new booster seat law for children, 4 to 5, allows for secondary
enforcement, The other is Nebraska—where the law is secondary only for children who may use
seat belts, and standard or primary for those who must be secured in a child safety seat. Most
states require the use of restraint systems for specific age groups.
Theres a gap in Gaps in Coverage. Some safery advocacy groups argue that there are gaps in coverage in some
safety for children | states. In some cases, laws fail to cover children in all seating positions or the law provides an
who are roo big exemption for out-of-state visitors. One noticeable gap identified by safety advocates is children
for childsafety | ho are oo big for child safety seats, but too small to be safely secured by an adult-sized lap belr.
seats, bur 100 | p 1 mn Alexander Skeen and her 4-year-old son Anton were both buckled up using standard lap/
small ;:;:f shoulder belts in 1996, while visiting family in Yakima, Wash. When Autumn became distracted
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and lost control of her sport utility vehicle, Anron slipped out from under the seat belt and was
thrown from the vehicle. He died instantly. Skeen made a common mistake in thinking that Anton
was big enough to fit in the vehicle seat without a child safety seat. During the 2000 legislative
session, the Washingron Legislature passed Anton’s Law, which requires children berween 4 and 5
and between 40 and GO pounds to ride secured in a booster sear.

ASSEMBLY TRANSPORTATION
DATE: Y

SUBMITTED BY: D2ani s N olew

RooM: 34} EXHIBIT H |-&

Denver

FE00 Easr First Plrce
Deneer, Colornedo 80230
Phaue (303) 364-7700

www nosl oy

Washington, D.C.

44 Nortly Capitol Streer, NV Suiee 513
Washirgron, D.C. 20001

Phone (202) 6245400

Wl o oL



State Action
State legislatures consider hundreds of bills each year designed to strengthen existing child passen-
ger protection laws. Thirteen states now have some type of booster seat law, although safecy
organizations argue that some laws are not strong enough. In a few staces, for example, the law
covers children up to only 40 pounds.

Arkansas, California and Washington were the first states to enact booster seat laws. California
and Arkansas require children 5 years and younger or less than 60 pounds to ride in booster seats.
Eighteen states considered bills that would have established similar provisions during the 2001
legislative sessions. Six states—Florida, Hawaii, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island and South
Carolina-—passed laws. The laws in Florida and Hawaii were vetoed. Florida Governor Jeb Bush

vetoed the bill citing, among other reasons, that requiring purchase of booster seats presented a
financial hardship for needy families.

At least 15 states considered similar legislation during the 2002 legislative sessions. Six states—
Colorado, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Nebraska and Virginia—passed some form of booster seat
law. In Nebraska, a new law requires children under 5 to be seated in an appropriate child safety
seat. Under a new law in Maine, children between 40 and 80 pounds and under 8 must ride in a
safety system that elevates the child so that an adult seatbelt fits properly. Since these laws are
relatively new, studies are currently under way to determine the effectiveness of booster seats.

Federal Action
Several safety organizations have started publicizing the need for older children to ride secured in
booster seats. NHTSA recommends that all children 12 years old and under ride in the back seat,
properly buckled into age-appropriate safety seats. A study recently conducted by NHTSA showed
that only a little more than 6 percent of children who should be in a booster seat—according to age
and weight guidelines—actually are. Because of this, NHTSA created a public education cam-
paign—"Boost ‘Em Before You Buckle ‘Em"—-to instruct people about booster seats and their use.

“All children who have outgrown child safety seats should be properly restrained in booster seats
until they are at least 8 years old, unless they exceed 4’9" in height,” says Dr. Jeffrey Runge,
NHTSA administrator. Whether the determination is based on height or weight, NHTSA firmly
believes that children who are too big for traditional car seats are too small to be seated directly in
the seat of the car using an adult shoulder/lap belt.
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