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Nevada Network Against Domestic Violence

March 10, 2002

Chairman Bernie Anderson
Assembly Judiciary Committee
Nevada State Assembly
Legislative Building

Carson City, NV 89710

Chairman Anderson and Members of the Committee;

My name is Susan Meuschke. I am the Executive Director of the Nevada
Network Against Domestic Violence (NNADV), the statewide coalition of domestic
violence programs in Nevada. I am here today to speak in respectful opposition to AB
97.

Over the last 20 years the Nevada State Legislature has considered and passed a
number of statutes that deal with domestic violence. Beginning in 1985, with the passage
of statutes creating warrantless arrests and orders for protection against domestic
violence, this Legislature has sought to enact legislation to move forward Nevada’s
efforts to stop domestic violence. Today, you have a bill that could move us backwards
in those efforts.

Before I get into the specific concerns that we have with the bill, T would like to
emphasize that there are two key concepts when considering the criminal justice system’s
response to domestic violence. They are: victim safety and offender accountability.
Research, experience and common sense concur that we must work to make victims of
domestic violence safe, and we must work equally to ensure that abusers are held

accountable for their battering behavior.
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There are three areas of concern in this proposed legislation: (1) the definition of
protected parties; (2) mandatory sentencing provisions; and (3) prosecutorial discretion.

Section 1 of AB 97 proposes to eliminate an entire category of people from the
list of those who are eligible for protection against domestic violence in NRS 33.018.
(Sections 2 and 3 of the bill have the same corresponding change.) The bill proposes to
remove individuals who are living together (“a person with whom he is or was actually
residing”). Eliminating this group of relationships from the statute will result in abuse
victims being unprotected. Examples include: caretakers of elderly and disabled
individuals who are not dating, gay and lesbian partners who choose not to reveal their
relationships, and immigrant families who live in the same household but are not all
related by blood or marriage. Removing this group of relationships from the domestic
violence statute also means that many domestic violence offenders will not be held
accountable for their abusive and violent behavior.

The definition of protected parties in NRS 33.018 was passed almost 20 years
ago (in 1985) and included the language currently suggested for removal. The only
change to the definition has been to add “dating relationships” in 1995. When this
definition has been in place and successfully protecting victims for so long, we see no
good reason to change it now.

We also see this change as an opportunity for abusers to say, “oh no, we’re just
roommates” and evade appropriate punishments. The question becomes, do we change
the definition and exclude whole classes of individuals who should be covered by this
statute or do we maintain the definition and ask Judges (if we believe Prosecutors don’t
have that discretion) to use their discretion in those cases in which they believe that the
intent of the statute does not apply?

Section 4 of the bill proposes two changes to the mandatory sentencing provisions
that apply when a person is convicted of domestic battery. The first proposed change
would remove the requirement for jail time — currently 2 days for the first offense — and
allow the judge to order community service in lien of jail time. Jail time is a vital part of
holding abusers accountable for their battering behavior, and we believe it is important to
maintain the current statutory requirements that a person convicted of the crime of

domestic battery must spend two days in jail. We will leave to your judgment whether
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the additional penalty of performing at least 48 hours of community service becomes too

onerous a provision,

The second proposed change to the mandatory sentencing provisions would raise

the fine (from $500 to $750) and allow the court to order community service in lieu of the
fine on a second conviction. While we generally support the imposition of a fine upon
conviction, we also recognize that some offenders are indigent and may be unable to pay
it. Thus, we have no objection to either the increase in the fine or the proposal to allow
community service in lieu of the fine.

Lastly, Section 4 also proposes to remove crucial language concerning
prosecution of domestic battery cases. Part of the reason this change is being proposed is
that prosecutors believe that they have no discretion in bringing domestic battery cases --
that they are forced to proceed with cases that involve parties who are not in a “true”
domestic violence relationship. We respectfully disagree.

The law currently provides (at Section 4, subsec. 7 of the bill) that “[i]f a person is
charged with committing a battery that constitutes domestic violence pursuant to NRS
33.018, a prosecuting attorney shall not dismiss such a charge in exchange for a plea of
guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere to a lesser charge or for any other reason
unless he knows, or it is obvious, that the charge is not supported by probable cause or
cannot be proved at the time of trial,” NRS 200.485(7) (emphasis added).

Under the express terms of this existing law, a prosecutor retains discretion not to
charge in the first place. Furthermore, even after a prosecutor brings charges, the
prosecutor has the discretion and ability to dismiss or reduce the charges if the prosecutor
learns that they cannot be proved at trial. So if that is true, what discretion do
prosecutors need? The discretion to dismiss or plea bargain a case that they have charged
correctly and can prove? Iknow the answer is much more complicated than that question
implies. I also know that this statute was enacted because prosecutors, in the past, would
routinely plead or dismiss domestic battery cases that were correctly charged and
provable.

Our knowledge about prosecutorial discretion is only anecdotal, because there is
currently no statistical or other data recorded about the dispositions in domestic violence

cases, including explanations of the outcomes. We can teil you how many reports were
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made to Law Enforcement, we can tell you how many arrests were made and we can tell
you the reasons why arrest didn’t happen. But we can’t tell you on a statewide basis what
occurs after the arrest. We believe that this Committee should not make any decisions to
change the definition of protected parties, the mandatory sentencing requirements, or the
provisions regarding proceeding with prosecution without more empirical data. If
statistics support the position of those who would eliminate certain relationships from the
domestic violence statutes and add more prosecutorial discretion, then we would certainly
consider supporting legislation to address those concems.

In short, the laws in this proposed legislation do not need to be amended. This
piece of legislation would undo much of the progress that Nevada has made over the past
decades in domestic violence prevention and intervention efforts, and we encourage you
to reject it.

Thank you for listening to these concerns. I am available to answer any questions

that you may have.
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