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Northern Nevada DU Task Force

P.O. Box 20497
Reno, NV 89515-0497
Tel: (775) 348-4664 Fax: (775) 852-7551

7 March 2003

Chairman Bernie Anderson and Members
of the Assembly Judiciary Committee

Nevada Legislature

Carson City, Nevada

Re: AB 34, Once A Felon

Attached please find copies of letters of support from the Washoe County District Attorney’s
office and Judge Sage, Sparks Municipal Court for the passage of AB 34.

We support this Bill and urge your passage of this legislation.

Respectfully,

sr/dj

Attachments: 2
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Washoe County District Attorney

RICHARD A. GAMMICK
DISTRICT ATTORNEY

MEMORANDUM

TO: JIM HOLMES, NORTHERN NEVADA DUI TASK FORCE
FROM: ROGER WHOMES
Deputy District Attorney
RE: "ONCE A FELON" DUI LEGISLATION
DATE: March 6, 2003

As we discussed this morning on the phone, the hypothetical
question has arisen about the "fairness"™ of DUI felony legislation.

In other words, members of the legislature are concerned about the
fairness of someone becoming a DUI felon (by either getting 3 DUIs
in a 7 year period or a DUI involving death or substantial bodily
harm), early in life, and then leading a clean lifestyle for years.

Then, at an advanced age, the hypothetical person receives another
DUI conviction, which would otherwise be a misdemeanor. Because of
the proposed "once a felon" legislation, that DUI would be handled
as a felony.

Under the "once a felon, always a felon" legislation, the question
arises if it is "fair" to make this very recent DUI a felony after
a long period of good citizenship.

In answer to that question, the law allows that a person can
petition a court to seal his or her records of a felony conviction
pursuant to the authority of NRS 179.245.

My reading of the statute is that a convicted DUI offender falls
into a category A or B felony (as the penalty for a 3rd time DUI is
up to six (6) years in prison, and death or substantial harm is up

to twenty (20) years).

Thus, a person could petition a court to seal his or her felony DUI
record after fifteen (15) years have passed. NRS 179.245(1) {(a).
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By applying for and having his or her records for a felony DUI
conviction sealed after 15 years, a person can lawfully escape the
"once a felon, always a felon" possible felony penalty for a
subsequent DUI conviction much later in life.

I hope this information is helpful. Please let me know if I can be
of further assistance. Thank you for your continued work on this
very important subject. '

Sincerely,

RICHARD A. GAMMICK
Distri ttorney

By

ROGER WHOMES
Deputy District Attorney

k- 3o(5



3 ’ .
iﬁé JUDGE LARBY G. 5AGE

{’Té’i - ,51" MUNICIPAL COURT DEPARTRIELIT 2
g"- i

éi@ﬁf&ﬁ

St

MEMORANDUM
TO: Whom It May Concern
FROM: Judge Larry G. Sage
Sparks Municipal Court

DATE: 6 Mar ‘03

RE: AB No. 34
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I support the passage and implementation of AB 34 providing that once a person has been
convicted of a felony for operating a vehicle or vessel under the influence of alcohol or a
controlled substance, any subsequent such violation is treated as a felony.

As I understand the bill, it does not affect current/existing legislation regarding the ability
for ex-felons to qualify for sealing of felony records. 1 also understand that any such
subsequent violation would be a category B felony, subject to the existing
felony/misdemeanor record sealing statutes. '

This seems fair and reasonable as the subsequent conviction, after felony, involves the same
weapon of choice (substances) as the original charge. A passage of time should not deter the
illegal-use of substances, whether the substance, itself, is legal or illegal. Deterrence is best
achieved by the use of the felony category enhancement. We do it for the use of weapons,
inherently dangerous, why not for the inherently dangerous use of substances (alcohol &
controlled substances) on a basis in excess of occasionally?

A majority of persons convicted of DUI are not driving under the influence for the first time.
It is simply the first time that they have been caught. This includes many of those with a
passage of time between their convictions.
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Also, if the progressive, existing series of minimum punishments in DUI sentencing, along
with their progressive mandated treatments, have failed to correct the conduct, it seems
ludicrous to start all over with the same, identical lower punishments and treatment
requirements that have failed in the past. Without this bill, that is exactly what I'm doing
today. Ihave convicted, 3" offense DUI defendants appear before me for sentencing on a
DUI conviction that has occurred subsequent to their release from prison for the felony DUI
sentence but after the passage of the current 7 year window for enhanced DUI sentencing.
They appear for a 4™ or 5™ DUI conviction within 8 or 9 years. The last one or two DUI
convictions, after the felony 3™, are charged and sentenced as misdemeanors. And, their
sentence must be exactly as the same sentence they received for DUI convictions numbers
one and two. I am sentencing them to the exact same sentence range as they got years earlier
and convictions later. How can I possibly address a substance abuse problem without any
ability to increase incarceration, treatment, or punishment? They’ve done prison; jail is not
going to give them any concern or fear; jail won’t get their attention, not after they've done
prison.. A repeated, lower sentence seems a judicial waste of time and resources, as it does
nothing to address the underlying substance abuse problem. Prison, however, has at least a
chance of getting someone’s attention or fear, to get them oriented towards successful
treatment, or to at least remove them from the public roadways, for the protection of the
public citizens.

Adding to the reasons to support this bill is the inherent, real inability of prosecutors to get
a hold of, and get into evidence, a certified copy of a constitutionally valid prior. This is
necessary to secure the enhancement of a DUI to a 2™ misdemeanor or a 3" felony charge.
Not only are the priors hard to secure, some that are secured are not constitutionally valid
priors (with written waivers of rights, etc.). I have witnessed an unbelievable percentage
of DUI filed cases get reduced to a lower charge by striking the prior enhancement
allegations. The prosecutors are not able to get valid, constitutional or any documents from
other courts, wherein the prior conviction entered. Without those documents, the prosecutors
are required to reduce the enhanced DUI charge. Current DUI offenders are not even being
held to the level of charges that they have allegedly committed or accrued. 1 have observed
3 FIRST TIME DUI convictions against a defendant in a period of months, as the priors
could never be produced or were found to be unconstitutional. This happens virtually ever
day in a special jurisdiction court in our State.
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