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Testimony for AB34 “Once a Felon, Always a Felon”

For the record, my name is Laurel Stadler, Chapter Director for Mothers Against Drunk Driving - Lyon County. -
Thank you Chairman Anderson for the opportunity to speak today in support of AB34. I’d also like to thank
Senator Amodei and Assemblyman Conklin for introducing this very important piece of legislation.

How best can we address the chronic, high-BAC, repeat DUI offender? Popular approaches include vehicle
forfeiture or impoundment, lower BAC thresholds, interlock devises, registration suspensions, etc. We believe
that AB34 offers a unique approach to specifically address the public safety concerns that repeat offenders
present. In Nevada, after an offender reaches the felony DUI level, by being convicted of DUI for the third time
within 7 years, that offender has had every opportunity to change their behavior. They have been offered the
“Notice of Election” treatment program (which we spoke about yesterday with Judges Willis & Tatro),
mandatory treatment in some cases and other sanctions at the misdemeanor level, and intensive phase I treatment
in the prison system with ongoing treatment as part of the 305 program, if eligible. If DUI offenders do not
respond to this combination of treatment, educational programs and sanctions, times 3, we feel that our best and
only option is further incarceration for subsequent convictions. To put an offender back out on our streets and
highways as a misdemeanor offender after 4 or more convictions allows those offenders to laugh in the face of
the law. Additionally, an offender who reaches felony status by virtue of a crash causing death or substantial
bodily harm to another should never have the ability to revert to misdemeanor status as they do now.

The conjecture is made “what if after 20 or 30 years of no DUI convictions” and note the key word of
conviction. It doesn’t ensure that the felon has not driven drunk and endangered himself or the community.
What if they fall off the wagon at a wedding reception or other one-time event? The felons alcohol consumption
does not put him in jeopardy of being convicted under this statute, the felons drinking, then driving, then being
apprehended, then being convicted puts him under this law. This is a lesson that he should have learned as a
result of killing or injuring an innocent victim or by virtue of 3 DUI convictions within a 7-year period, no matter
how many years have elapsed. Also, the “threat” of additional prison time should act as a deterrent if prisons are
doing their job. As with every DUI law, we would much rather see the crime NOT committed than have to deal
with penalties and sanctions when it is.

Since 1991 and the inception of the 305, residential confinement program for felony DUI offenders, not only
have felony DUI offenders been afforded the best possible inpatient (in prison) alcohol and substance abuse
treatment program (aka phase 1), but the State of Nevada has realized an approximate $10 million savings in
hard bed incarceration costs because of the 1,070 felony offenders who successfully completed the program
when averaging about a year savings in prison costs. Also, because this model 305 program served as the pattern
for the subsequent 317 residential confinement program, even more state dollars, correction dollars have been
saved.

Now, it is time to directly address the chronic repeat, often high-BAC offender with the specific sanction of more
prison time. As Majority Leader Buckley so properly stated last session regarding this offender, “When a person
committed a felony DUI, even as a kid, such an experience should be a wake-up call and that offender should
never drink and drive again. Perhaps it is time to send such a message.” It was time two years ago and it is time
today to take a stand against the repeat DUI offender. They need to know that once they achieve felony DUIT
status, if they choose to commit DUT again, it will be treated, charged and sentenced as a felony. Please pass
this public safety legislation.
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March 5, 2003
Judy Jacobonj

705 Schaad Lane
Dayton, NV 89403

Chairman Bernie Anderson
Assembly J udiciary Cornmittee
Re: Assembly Bill 34

Dear Chairman Anderson:

Although I cannot be present at the hearing for AB 34, I would appreciate it if you would include
my letter in the record and distribute it to the committee,

Although the offender who killed my daughter was sentenced to 20 years, she expired her
sentence and was released from prison in June of 2001, She served 11 years and 2 months. In
the meantime 7 years had gone by and the DU that killed my daughter dropped off the record.

The DUI behavior did not change and by October of that year there was another arrest for DUI
right here in Carson City.



The Nevada Resort Association has testified before this committee many times, stating that
chronic, repeat offenders are at the core of our states DUI problems.

Please act today to protect innocent, sober drivers by treating felony DUI drivers like the felons
they are each time they offend.

Please vote in favor of AB 34, an important step toward making Nevada safe.

Thank You
Judy Jacoboni
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