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The meeting was called to order at 5:05 p.m. Mr. Price
was in the Chair.

AB 259 Authorizes issuance of restricted
drivers’ licenses to permit cer-
tain minors to drive for handi-
capped members of household.

Assemblyman Joseph E. Dini, District 38, testified in
support of this measure. He uncovered a problem that existed in
Nevada when a constituent of his became handicapped through an
automobile accident and could no longer drive. She has a son who
is 14% years old and capable of driving with a learner's permit
but there is no provision in the law for licensing him to drive,
even to take her to the hospital for therapy.

Mr. Dini stated that he had done research on this and
had found that there are 1l states (including Nevada) that have
provisions for licensing individuals 14 years and over under ex-
tenuating circumstances. His research is attached as Exhibit I.

Sharon Alcamo, Drivers' License Division, Department of
Motor Vehicles, testified on this measure. She submitted for the
committee's review, amendments which her department felt would
prevent any abuse of such a provision. Attached as Exhibit II.

Mr. Prengaman felt that (b) of item #1 tended to defeat the intent
of the bill. For example, if there is a husband, wife and 14 year
old child; the wife is handicapped and the husband works, the pur-
pose of this measure would be to allow the child to drive for
the mother. According to the proposed amendment, he would not be
able to do so because the father, who would be at work most of the
time, was a licensed driver.

Mr. Mello concurred saying that he felt this would create
so much governmental red tape that it was very likely that no one
would ever qualify for a special license.
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Mr. Price asked how many special permits had been issued
for driving to school only.

Ms. Alcamo responded that approximately 100 had been but
felt that there had been a great deal of abuse in that area.

Kathy Olson, Executive Director, Governor's Committee for
Employing the Handicapped, testified in support of this measure.
She stated that transportation is one of the biggest problems in
Nevada for the disabled, particularly in the rural areas.

Mr. Richard R. Garrod, Legislative Field Representative
for Farmer's Insurance Group, stated that they would support the
measure provided it was amended as proposed by Ms. Alcamo. He
also had a further concern as to who would certify the disability.

Following a brief discussion, Mr. Price requested that
Assemblyman Dini and Ms. Alcamo draft an amendment which would
prohibit abuse yet not be so restrictive as to prevent the issuance
of a license.

No action was taken at this time.
AB 239 Provides money for drivers' education

and makes certain other changes rela-
ting to drivers' licenses.

G. P. Etcheverry, Nevada League of Cities, wished to go
on record as being opposed to this measure.

Chuck Neeley, Clark County School District, testified in
opposition to this measure. He did not feel it was appropriate to
ask the counties and cities for their funds to support driver's
education. He informed the committee that there was a bill in
the Senate (SB 315 Relaxes restrictions on school districts in
financing of automobile driver education programs) which would
increase the lab fee from $35 to $44 to cover the costs of the
program.

Patrick Pine, representing Clark County, stated that they
were opposed to this bill. It was their estimate that the fiscal
impact of diverting 1/6 of traffic fines into driver's education
would be approximately $94,000. Since the fines and forfeitures
are primary sources of revenue for the county general fund, which
in turn is a source of financing for the metropolitan police depart-
ment and the court system, he felt it might be logically argued that
this diverts support of public safety and justice programs to a
school operated program.
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Mr. Pine further commented that the current discussion of
the tax programs seem to have one essential common element: all the
programs propose maintaining support of schools and actually relieving
certain pressures imposed on schools by the spending caps.

Joe Cathcart, representing the City of North Las Vegas,
concurred with Mr. Pine's comments. It was his estimate that this
would cost the City of North Las Vegas approximately $105,000.

Bryce Wilson, Nevada Association of Counties, also wished
to go on record as being opposed to this measure. He was in con-
currance with previous comments made.

Sharon Alcamo, Drivers' License Division, Department of
Motor Vehicles, stated that this bill would increase the minimum
age from 16 to 18 unless the individual passed a course in drivers'
education. She called the Department of Education to find out how
many people had passed driver's education last year and was told
it was in excess of 5,000 students. At the present time, there
are almost 21,000 licensed drivers between the ages of 16 and 18.
Therefore, the courses offered and the staff necessary would have
to be greatly increased if such a program were made mandatory.

Ms. Alcamo also questioned the effectiveness of driver's
education courses; does it actually reduce accident and citation
rates. She stated that she had called several states but found
that no studies had been done in this regard.

She also expressed concern over the portion of the bill
requiring placement of the fact that an individual has taken driver's
education on their driver's license. She stated that the department
receives requests continually for putting blood type, handicapped
designation, donor programs, etc. on the license. However, they
would like to have the driver's license contain only the information
that identifies the driver and any restrictions for driving.

Mr. DuBois felt that prohibiting issuance of a driver's
license until the age of 18 unless a course in driver's education
was taken would discriminate against those who could not afford a
$35 lab fee.

Gene Durbin, Driver's Education Instructor, Reno High
School and former president of the Nevada Traffic Safety Educational
Association, testified in support of this measure. He agreed with
the counties' and cities' concern over loss of funding and suggested
a surcharge of 1/6th over and above the present fines. This would
provide continuous funding so that school districts could plan
continuity in their programs.
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Mr. Durbin stated that the purpose of driver's education
was to provide educational proficiency, knowledge and skills before
permitting a person to obtain a license. It also helps to provide
the proper attitude. Ninety to ninety-five percent of all moving
violation convictions and accidents are attitude related; not a
lack of knowledge or skill.

He also supported placing information on the driver's
license which indicated that courses had been taken. He felt this
would enable the Department of Motor Vehicles to evaluate the

effectiveness of the programs.

In Section 4, Mr. Durbin suggested adding on lines
45 through 49 "purchase of simulators or developing multiple car
driving ranges would be permitted." The purchase of a simulator
would reduce the yearly cost of laboratory instruction by 1/3 and
according to state law, 12 hours of simulation may be substituted
for 3 hours of actual driving time.

With regard to Section 6, he would like this to become
effective January 1982 as it would permit an assessment to be made
of available money for driver's education programs based on 3 and
6 month intervals.

Pursuant to Section 11, Mr. Durbin suggested this become
effective January 1983 in that it would give the school districts
an opportunity to prepare for the large number of students that
would be enrolling. Approximately 1/2 of all students take driver's
education now so this measure would double the present program.

Mr. Price observed that there was a general objection by
the school districts to programs mandated by the legislature. He
suggested that perhaps this could be made optional.

In response to Mr. Durbin's comments regarding attitude,
Mr. Polish felt that perhaps classroom instruction could be made
mandatory, thus eliminating the major cost of the program.

There was a brief discussion by the committee but no
action was taken at this time.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheri Kinsley, ‘Secretary
Assembly Transportation Zommittee
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ALASKA

ARKANSAS

IDAHO

KANSAS

MICHIGAN

MONTANA

NEBRASKA

NEVADA

OREGON

Learner's permit issued for 2 years, minimum age
of 14 years.

Restricted license issues to persons 14 to 16
with the provision that a licensed adult be present.

Drivers 14 to 15 have license with restriction of
daylight hours only.

Restricted licenses are provided between the ages of
14 and 16 years.

Restricted license may be issued between the ages of

14 and 18, who have not had driver's education, when
there is a special need. All requests are investigated
by the Department of State.

License provided to 14% years with driver's education.

Special permit for 14 years and older if living at
least 1% miles from school, with no other transportation
available. Valid only during school hours.

Restricted licenses to 14 years and older for driving
between home and school only.

Permit for driving to school for 14 years and older.
Also individuals 14 years may obtain an emergency
driver's permit when the Division of Motor Vehicles
is satisfied that an emergency exists. This permit
is valid only for specific routes and purvoses.

SOUTH DAKOTA

Restrict licenses for persons between the age of 14 and 15
for operation of a vehicle between the hours of 6 a.m. and
7 p.m.

"y
EXHIBIT I A




TEXAS

WYOMING

Minimum of 15 years with establishment of "hardship
conditions."

Restricted license to 14 year old with affidavit

from parent or guardian attesting to situation of
extreme hardship.
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DRIVER'S LICENSE DIVISION

§§SEMBLY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS
SHARON P. ALCAMO, DRIVER'S LICENSE DIVISION

AB259

March 16, 1981

It is suggested the wording contained in AB259, Page 1, Lines 3-16, be amended as

follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 483 of NRS is hereby amended by adding thereto a
new section which shall read as follows:

1.

Ib
L]

The department may issue a restricted license to any person between
the ages of 14 and 16 years which entitles him to drive a motor :
vehicle upon a highway when all the following conditions exist:

(a) A member of his household has a medical condition which
prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle.

(b) There is no other licensed driver in the household.

¢c) An extreme hardship exists.

An application for a restricted license under this section must:

(a) Be made upon a form provided by the department.

(b) Contain statements indicating the medically disabled person
lives in the same household with the applicant and explaining
the need for the applicant to drive.

(c) Be signed and verified as provided in NRS 483.300.

(d) Contain such other information as may be required by the
department.

Any restricted license issued pursuant to this section shall:

(a) Be effective only for the period of time specified by the

department.

(b) Authorize the licensee to drive a motor vehicle on a street
or_highway only under the terms and conditions specified by
the department.

(c) Contain such other restrictions as the department may deem
necessary and proper.

No license may be issued under this section until the department is
satisfied fully as to the applicant's competency and fitness to
drive a motor vehicle.

EXHIBIT II




