### MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE FUNCTIONS COMMITTEE JANUARY 18, 1977

Members Present: Chairman Glover Ms. Brookman Mr. Bennett Mr. Bremner Mr. Murphy

Members Absent: Mr. Coulter Ms. Wagner (attending Republican caucus)

Chairman Glover called the meeting to order at 11:35 a.m. A motion was made by Mr. Bremner, seconded by Mr. Bennett, to adopt the attached rules. The committee unanimously agreed.

BDR 445: Amends Assembly Resolution No. 33 of the 58th session of the legislature to designate certain members of the assembly as regular members of the legislative commission in the legislative counsel bureau. Chairman Glover outlined the changes as follows: Delete Keith Ashworth, insert Eileen B. Brookman; delete Virgil M. Getto, add Robert L. Weise; delete first and second alternates. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve as amended, seconded by Mr. Bremner, and unanimously approved by the committee. (see attached)

Assembly Resolution #4: Directs special committee of the assembly to study promotion of tourism and economic development. Ms. Brookman made the motion for a Do Pass, seconded by Mr. Bennett and passed unanimously by the committee.

Chairman Glover informed the committee he was not in favor of interim studies unless necessary for the good of the State. He then reminded the committee of the meeting tomorrow, January 19, 1977, at 3:00 p.m. in Room 222.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

VldmserA

40

Respectfully submitted,

Johna Hatch

Patricia Hatch, Assembly Attache

## MINUTES

CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE JANUARY 17, 1977 12:13 p.m.

Members Present: Chairman Glover Mrs. Brookman Mrs. Wagner Mr. Bremner Mr. Chaney Mr. Murphy

The Special Credentials Committee met in the Public Assembly Lounge Monday, January 17, 1977, at 12:13 p.m.

Mrs. Brookman moved to accept the credentials of Assembly members. Mr. Murphy seconded and the motion was passed unanimously. Mrs. Brookman moved to accept the credentials of the press. Mr. Bremner seconded the motion and the committee passed it unanimously.

Chairman Glover moved to adjourn at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Namit Mr. Karauf

Harriet M. Knauff, Assembly Attache

Assembly

14

45

,		<u>59th NEV</u>	ADA LEGI	SLATURE				
,	LEG	ISLATIVE LEGIS	FUNCTION LATION A		TEE			
Jan	uary 18, 19	77						
SUBJECT	BDR 445- 7	 Amends Ass	embly Re	solution	No. 33	of the 58th se	ession	
	BDR 445- Amends Assembly Resolution No. 33 of the 58th session to designate certain members of the assembly as regular members of the legislative council bureau.							
				bureau.				
MOTION:	To approve as amended							
Do Pass _	X Amend Indefinitely Postpone Reconsider							
Moved By	Mr. Murphy Seconded By Mr. Bremner							
AMENDMENT:								
Moved By	Seconded By							
AMENDMENT:								
· · ·								
	<del>#10 <u>6</u>7.000</del> **********************************							
Moved BY				<u> </u>	Dat			
MOVED BI				Seconded	. by			
	MOTION			AMEND		AME	AMEND	
VOTE:	Yes	No		Yes	No	Yes	<u>%0</u>	
BROOKMAN								
BENNETT BREMNER			-					
COULTER MURPHY						-		
WAGNER GLOVER								
TALLY:		$\bigvee$						
	CARRIED UN	ANIMOUSLY						
ORIGINAI	L MOTION:	Passed _	X	Defeate	·	Withdrawn		
AMENDED	& PASSED			AMENDED & DEFFATED				
AMENDED	NDED & PASSED				AMENDED & DEFEATED			
Attached	l to Minutc	January	7 18, 197	7			41	

,

# 59th NEVADA LEGISLATURE

## LEGISLATIVE FUNCTIONS COMMITTEE LEGISLATION ACTION

SUBJECT AR #4 - Directs special committee of the assembly to study promotion of tourism and economic development.								
initely Postpone	Reconsider							
Seconded By Mr.	Bennett							
Seconded By								
Seconded By								
AMEND	AMEND							
Yes No	Yes No							
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·							
	······································							
eren eta eren eren eren eren eren eren eren ere	••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••							
	AMENDED & DEFEATED							
	initely Postpone Seconded By Seconded By Seconded By <u>AMEND</u> <u>Yes No</u>  Defeate   Defeate							

#### ADOPTED RULES

## LEGISLATIVE FUNCTIONS COMMITTEE

- A quorum consists of at least four (4) committee members.
  It will require at least a quorum to hear a bill.
- 3. It will require a simple majority of the entire committee to pass or reject a bill.
- 4. It will require a two-thirds majority of <u>all</u> committee members to reconsider an action on a bill.
- 5. The committee shall address the chair at all times for permission to be heard.
- 6. There will be no committee action on bills during a hearing.
- 7. The names of movers and seconds and the vote tally shall be entered on a "Legislative Action" form.
- 8. The chairman will vote on all issues stated at committee meetings.
- 9. In the absence of the chairman the vice chairman of the committee has and exercises the powers, responsibilities, functions and duties of the chairman.
- 10. The name of anyone casting a "no" vote on an issue will be recorded in the minutes or on the "Legislative Action" form.

43

SUMMARY--Amends Assembly Resolution No. 33 of the 58th session. (BDR 455)

ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION--Amending Assembly Resolution No. 33 of the 58th session of the legislature to designate certain members of the assembly as regular members of the legislative commission in the legislative counsel bureau.

RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, That Assembly Resolution No. 33 of the 58th session of the legislature is hereby amended to read as follows:

RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, That pursuant to the provisions of NRS 218.660 and the joint rules of the legislature, Assemblymen [Keith Ashworth,] <u>Eileen B. Brookman</u>, Joseph E. Dini, Jr., Lawrence E. Jacobsen, Paul W. May, Donald R. Mello and Sue Wagner are designated as the regular assembly members; [Assemblymen Virgil M. Getto and] <u>Assemblyman</u> Robert L. Weise [are] <u>is</u> designated as [first and second alternate members, respectively,] <u>the alternate member</u> for Assemblymen Lawrence E. Jacobsen and Sue Wagner; and Assemblymen [Eileen B. Brookman, Albert M. Wittenberg,] Darrell H. Dreyer and Alan Glover are designated as first [,] <u>and</u> second [, third and fourth] alternate members, respectively, for the other members, to serve until their successors are appointed.

-44