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The meeting was called to order by Chairman Prince at 4;00

p.m.

changes in employment agencies.
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Messrs Wittenberg and Henrikson gave examples of harrass-
ment by agencies to employees and employers.

Mr. Stan Jones, Nevada Labor Commissioner, read a resolu-
tion from AFL-CIO opposing AB 340 , stating that he wants to
keep fees down to prospective employees looking for work, as

"Nevadans are hard-working people", and he asked the Committee
to withold any action on this bill until a bill* comes out of
the Senate regarding the same matter. He presented this bill
presently in the bill drafter's office and it is attached
as Exhibit "D"..

Mr. Wittenberg asked Mr. Jones why labor is taking a posi-
tion against this bill; that no one forces a person to go to
an employment agency. Mr. Jones stated that he doesn't think
labor hires people from private employment agencies.

Dr. Robinson asked Mr. Jones if the Committee amended' the
bill by increasing fees from 25% t6~30% and added Mr. Henrik-
son's amendments, would this be acceptable to him. Mr. Jones

. stated that he felt applicants needed more protection than this
would allow and again asked that we wait for his bill to be
presented to the Senate.

Mr. Wittenberg asked what union dues amount to and if labor
is against this bill because they have their own union halls for
placing their members. Mr. Jones stated that dues for union -
members can vary from $2.50 per month to $25.00 a month and that
he is not at the meeting as a union advocate. Mr. Jones con-
tinued reading other aspects of his bill, including prohibition
of a registration fee, prohibition of fee-splitting with an em-
ployer or anyone else; limiting babysitting agencies to a 15%
fee. Mr. Henrikson acknowledged the problems Mr. Jones pre-
sented and approved cf his bill, excepting that portion which
regulatee the return of fees paid by the applicant.

Regarding AB 268, Chairman Prince asked if there were any
witnesses in favor:e6f ~the~bill.' 'There were.none. - »In opposition,
Mr. Ron Casshingham of the Department of Motor Vehicles and the
Nevada Highway Patrol stated that though he was not in complete
opposition to the bill, and that it had merit, he stated that
there would be considerable difficulty in that the statutes''pre-
sent definition of "motor vehicle" would include snowmobiles.
Therefore every law applicable to motor vehicles would also
apply to snowmobiles, including licensing provisions.

. Chairman Prince stated that this bill was a concurrent re-
ferral from the Environment and Public Resources Committee;

% 5.8. 535 (BDA 53749
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that they had recommended it be passed with amendments.

Mr. Cassingham continued reciting the motor vehicle laws
which would effect snowmobiles and conflict with this bill,
i.e., directions of traffic, use of roadways, equipment re-
guirements, registration laws, etc.

Dr. Robinson suggested that the statutes covering motor:
vehicles exclude snowmobiles. Mr. Cassingham stated that
there would still be some conflicts, but that it would defin-
itely help. Mr. Ciardella, also of the Motor Vehicle Depart-
ment agreed.

Mr. Flanders who distributes snowmobiles stated that they
are not made for driving on the road; that they are damaged
by such use and that in the four years he has worked with snow
mobiles at Hope Valley, there have been no problems with the
machines crossing the roads. He cited a case in Los Angeles
where a snowmobiler was cited for trespassing on private pro-
perty and the court dismissed the case on the grounds that
unless the property is posted, it is impossible for a snow-
mobiler to be able to tell when he is on private property.:
He stated that it is very difficult to tell when you are on
private property and that if snowmobilers know in advance that
a property owner does not want them trespassing, they stay
away from his property.

Mr. Noel A. Clark, Chairman of the Public Service Commi-
ssion stated that unless snowmobiles are excepted, they: "might
become common carriers, for-hire operators" and subject to
PSC regulations. Speaking as a private citizen, he agreed that
the act has much merit, but that there are more snowmobilers
who do not abuse property than those who do, but as a sports-
man who enjoys getting out in the air and away from the tele-
phone, he feels there are many provisions of the act that he
and other sportsmen cannot abide by. The provision on opera-
ting on private property is totally unenforceable and worse
than no law at all and that the requirements regarding..opera-
ting on snow depths of a certain height would require the use
of a ruler.

He also discussed the prohibition of altering a machine,
stating that many alterations made by an owner are an improve-
ment over factory specifications and that the provisions:is
impractical and that the roadway use provisions could be
easily misinterpreted. : e

Mr. Vaun Bradley of the Nevada Off-Road Vehicles Asso-
ciation endorsed Mr. Clark's remarks and stated his opposi-
tion to parts of the bill, including roadway use, trespassing
provisions, adding that the property should be posted.
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Mr. Wittenberg asked Mr. Bradley if anybody posts his proper-
ty. Mr. Bradley stated that there are No Trespassing signs
posted in the Tahoe Meadows area, where he spends most of his
time.

Mr. Demers asked Mr. Cassingham if these provisions
would effect rescue operations? Mr. Cassingham stated
that law enforcement or peace officers were excluded but
Mr. Demers dlffered with him.

Dr. Roblnson suggested that the provisions regarding
trespassing be taken out of the bill. Mr. Bradley stated:
"This would be fine. We would all be very happy if it was
completely deleted".

Mr. Ed Hollingsworth of the Nevada Miners and Prospec-
tors presented a map to the Committee designating privately. .
owned land, railroad property and Federal property; he also
stated that there was very little fenced land; that many
other statutes prohibit trespassing on private property.
He felt that the provision permitting trespassing only if
an emergency is declared by a governmental agency very im-
practical. A general discussion followed regarding. the.
criminal penalties provided in the last section of the bill.
Mr. Hollingsworth adamantly opposed this section, stating
that there is no intent to commit a crime if snowmobilers
violate any of these provisions, and "don't give them a
criminal record".

Mr. Billy Don of Reno stated that snowmobiles were a
very important vehicle in his business of timbering and that
any restrictions on their use would be unconstitutional.

He completely opposes the bill.

~ Mr. Don Wilson, speaking on his own behalf feels that
legislation at this time is unnecessary and doesn't feel there
are enough problems with snowmobiles to require these laws.
There are existing laws governing situations covered in this
H1ll such as noise, smog and trespass and snowmobilers are a
self-policing group.

Mr. Wittenberg asked if many people are injured or killed
using snowmobiles. Mr. Wilson stated that the injury rate is
very low and that in four years of activity with snowmobiles
he knew of only one fatality caused by an avalanche; that there
are more problems with skiiers and stranded motorists.

Mr. Tom Newton felt that the bill would create more pro-
blems than it would solve; that snowmobiles are a unique piece
of equipment and that enforcement would be impossible unless
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an act took place right on the highway.

Mr. Garrison of the Nevada Miners and Prospecters stated
that he doesn't want the State saying that "no one can go on
his property; it's un-American and undemocratic and we don't
need it".

Mr. Bickerstaff mowved, Mr. Hafen seconded, a motion to
kill the bill. The vote was unanimous. Mr. Capurro and
Mr. Dini were absent for this vote.

The Committee agreed to discuss AB 340 at their next
meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

PHYLLIS BERKSON, Assembly Attache
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AGENDA FOR COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE

. bate_wWed., March 7 Time 4:00 p.mRoom 222
Bills or Resolutions Counsel
to he considered Subiject requested*
AB 340 Changes certain provisions relating to

employment agency fees;

AB 268 Regulates operation of snowmobiles;

*Please do not ask for counsel unless necessary.
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Proposed Amendments to A.B. 340:

611.260

Section

Delete P-2 Lines 14 through 18 and insert:

2.

5.

Where the applicant is employed and the
employment lasts less than (7) 30 days

by reason of the discharge of the appli-
cant, the employment agency shall charge

the applicant only that portion of the fee
owed by him to the employment agency. The
agency may charge one-thirtieth of the fee
for each day between employment and discharge
of the applicant. :

Applicants fees are due and payable, on the
one~thirtieth pro-rata basis, on the 1lst,
2nd, 3rd, and 4th payday, as applicable.

This act shall become effective on passagev
and approval.
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As of February 7, 1972, the following states restricted fees according
to the information available to us:

Massachusetts -~ 25% to 60% of the first month's salary

New York == 25% to 60% of the first month's salary

Louigiana «= a 8liding scale ranging from 307 of the first
month's salary to 12% of the first years's
salary :

Io&a --80 % of annual salary

South Dakota -- 25% to 50% of the first month's salary

Wisconsin -- 507 to 1é0% of the first month's salary

Kansas -— $2

Oklahoma —- 15% to 45% of the first month's salary up to
$499.99 per month

Texas -— 4% to 7% of the first year's salary up to $8,000.00
Alaska ~-- 10% to 25% of the first month's salary
Nevada -- 25% of the first month's salary

It is our belief, although we cannot be certain of this, that all of the
fee restrictions are by statute rather than by administrative authority.

LY
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. AB 340 - Example: Based upon $400.00 Salary per Month
If person is sent to job Present Schedule Proposed Schedule
and hired and stays on job for: @ 25% Fee @ 407 Fee
3 Days Amount owed to agency $16.00
~ 7 Days " $100.00 37.31
14 Days " 100.00 74.62
21 Days " 100.00 111.92
25 Days " 100.00 133.25
30 Days " . 100.00 160.00

The proposed bill AB 340 would thus halt the present practice of sending persoms to a job
they are not qualified to handle. It would require those employment agencies not doing
so now, to implement testing and personal screening procedures to insure that someone
sent to a job is reasonably certain to remain there or the agency would collect a much
reduced fee. The increase of the fee charged is necessary in order for agencies to
implement these procedures which would undoubtedly require an increase in their own

personnel as will as increasing the time spent with each client.

As illustrated above ~ this bill would also halt the practice of some employment agencies
who harass a person - demanding their full fee - after only his first week on the job.
The newly employed person would only DWE (in this example) the agency $37.31 out of

his first weeks pay. NOT $100.00.
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' FREE PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT OFFICES

611.010 FREE PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT OFFICES: ESTABLISHMENT AND MAINTENANCE. The
executive director of the employment security department shall establish and maintain

free public employment offices as provided in chapter 612 of NRS.

PRIVATE EMPLOYMENT AGENCIES

611.02b DEFINITIONS. As used in NRS 611.020 to 611.340, inclusive:

1. '"Employment agency" means and includes the business of conducting, as owner,
agent, manazer, contractor, subcontractor, or in aay other capacity, an intelligence
office, domestic and commercial employment agency, general employment bursau, hotel,’
or any other agency for the purpose of procuring or attempting to procure help or

. employnant for persons seeking employment, or for the registraﬁion of persons seceking
such employmant or help, or for giving information as to where and of whom such help
or employment may be secured, where a fee or other valuable consideration is exacted
or attempted to be collected for such services.

2. M"Labor commissioner” means the labor commissioner of the State of Nevada.

3. "Person" means and includes any individual, firm, company, corporation,

assoclation, manager, contractor, subcontractor, or their agents or employees.

611.030 LICENSE: PROCUREMENT FROM LABOR COMMISSIONER; POSTING; PENALTY FOVR‘DOING

BUSINESS WITHOUT LICENSE.
1. . No person shall open, keep, oprrate or maintain an employment agency in this

state without first obtaining a license thevefor as providad in NRS 611.020 to 340

‘, inclusive, from the labor commissioner. No employment agency shall Jo business unless

it zhall have ficrst obtained a license from the labor commissionar wha shall issue

such license or a renewal thereof upon finding after investigation that ths premises

in which the business will be conducted are suitabla for use as an emplovhmont asency

and that the applicant is of good moral character and has complied with or is willino

and able to conform to the provisions of this act and the requiroements, rules, and

regulations thereunder, and upon the payment of a fee of $100.00 by the employment

a"ﬂencz .

2. Any persoa who shall open, keep, operate or maintain an empToyment agency

without first procuriang a licensaz shall be guilty of a misdemeanor,

611,040 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE,.

t. M written application for a liconse shall be made to the labor commizsfonar. T
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application for a license shall coantain such information and be in such form as ths

labor cormissionar mav by regulation prescribe, and shall state:

(a) The name and address of the applicant.

(b) The street and number of the buflding or place where the business is to be
conducted.

{c¢) The business or occupation engaged in by the applicant for at least 2 years
immediately preceding the date of the application.

Each license issu2d hereunder shall be valid only as to the person and place or places

naned therein. Such license shall be effective from the date snecified therein and

shall remain in effect for one year from such date unless suspended or ravoked., In

accordance with such procedure as the labor commissioner may by regulation prescribe,

an employment agency shall make arnnal anplication for the renewal of its license.

Such application must be filed with and received by the labor commissioner not less

than 15 days prior to the expiration date. Pending administrative action on an

application for the renewal of the license, such license may be continued in effect

for a period not to exceed 60 days beyond the expiration date of the license.

2. The application shall be accompanied by affidavits of at least two reputable
residents of the city to the effect that the apnlicant is a persnn of good moral

character,

611..050 POWER OF LABOR COMMISSIONER TO REFUSE LICENSE, The labor commissioner mav,

upon reasonable notice and opportunity to be heard, deny, suspend, or revoke the license

of an employment agency after finding that ‘there has been a failure to comply with

any provision of this act or any rule, regulation, or order issued theréunder.

611.060 FEES FOR LICENSES AND RENEWALS. Every person licensed under the provistions
§f NRS 6£11.020 to 611.340, inclusive, to carry on the business of an employment agency
shall pay to the labor commissioﬁer a fee of $100.00 before the license is issued, and

thereafter he shall pay an annval fee of $100.00 on or before the lst da§ of each

coleadar year.

611.070 BOND: DEPOSIT WITH LABOR COMMISSIONER; NOTICE OF CANCELLATION, Before a
license is issued, the applicant shall deposit with fhe labor commissioner a bond in
the penal sum of $1,000 with two or more sureties or a duly authorized surety company
as surety, which bond shall be first appfoved by the labor commissioner. A notice of
30 days shall be given to the labor commissioner before cancellation of such bond. The,

bond shall be further conditioned that the suspension, revocationl,surrender. or.
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sxpiration of a licanse to operats an employment agency shall not affect the coveraza

of sicth bond as to a claim arising ouvt of acts which occurred prior to the date of,

such suspension, revocation, surrender, or expiration. The labor commissioner may at

any time notify the licensece to file a new or supplementary bond, in a form and amount

to conform with the provisions of this section, wherevaer the labor commissioner shall,

deam the surety of such bond to he unsatisfactory, or the amount of such bond to have

becove insufficient to saticfv all claims accrued or contingent azainst the licensce.

In the event the boad is secured by cash, the cash shall not be released for a period

of 90 days followinz the date of suspension, revocation, surrender, or eypiration of

the license.

Any person suffering loss or dnmage by reason of failure of an employment ageuncy to

coirply with any provision of this act or any rule, regulation, or order issued thereunder,

shall be entitled to an action on such bond for the recovery of the anount of such losL

or damage. Action on such hond may be maintained in the name of the State of Nevada \

. . . \wﬁ’l —
and in any court of competent jurisdiction by any one or more persons suffering such

loss nr damaze for and on bzhalf of himself or themselves or by an agent desisnated by

such person or persons, or hy the labor commissioner for the use of such person or

persons; provided that suit be covmenced witkin 90 days 2fter the cause of action

arises. The jurisdiction of the eourt shall not be limited by the amount of the bond.

611.080 BOND: PAYABLE TO WHOM; CONDITIONS. The bond shall be payable to the

people of the State of Nevada.

611.090 BOND: TFAILURE TO FILE NEW BOND AFTER DEMAND; REVOCATION OF LICENSE. If
at any time the sureties or any of them shall become irresponsible, the licenseze shall,
upoﬁ receipt of notice from the labor commissioner, give a new bond, subject to the
?rovisions of NRS 611.080. Tha failure to give a new hond within 10 days after‘such
notice shall operate as a revocation of the license. The iicense shall théreupon be

returned to the labor commissioner, who shall destroy the sane.

611.100 LICENSE FEES DEPOSITED IN STATE'S GENERAL FUND. At the end of each month
the labor commissioner shall make an itemized account of all moneys received by him as
licensa fees uander the provisions of NRS 611.020 to'611,340, inclusive, and shall pay

the moneys to the state treasurer. Such moneys shall accrue to the general fund in the

state treasury.

611.110 CONTENTS OF LICENSE, FEach license shall contain:

1. The name of the licensee.
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2. A desiznation of the city, street and number of the location in which tha
L e
licensese is avthorized to carry on the employment agency.

3. The number and date of issuance of the license.

611.120 PERSONS AND PLACES PROTECTED. No license shall protect any other than the

person to whom it is issued nor any places other than those designated in the license.

611.130 POSTING OF LICENSE AND LAW IN EMPLOYMENT AGENCY. The license and a copy
of NS 611.020 to 611.340, inclusive, shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the

employment agency.

611,140 ACTIONS AGAINST LICENSEES: WHERE AND IN WHOSE NAME BROUGHT; ASSIGNMENT;
JURISDICTION. All claims or suits brought in any court against any licensee may be
brought in the aname of the person damaged upon the bond deposited with the lahor
commissioner by the licensee, and may be assigned as other claims for damages in
civil suits. The amount of damages claimed by the plaintiff, and not the penalty
namaed in the bond, shall determine the jurisdiction of the court im which the action

is brought.

611.150 ACTIONS AGAINST LICEMSEES: SERVICE OF SUMMONS. When a licensee has
departed from the state with intent to defraud his creditors or with intent to avoid
a surmons in an action brought under NRS 611.140, service shall be made upon the surety
as prescribed in the Wevada Justices' Courts Rules of Civil Procedure or the Nevada
Rules of Civil Procedure. A copy of the summons shall be mailed to the last-known
post office address or the residence of the licensee and also to the place where he

conducted the employment agency as shown by the records of the labor commissioner.
" Service shall be deemed to be made when not less than such number of days shall have

intervened between the dates of service and the return of the same as provided by the

rules of the particular court in which suit is brought.

611.160 RECORDS: ENTRIES; FALSE ENTRIES.

1. Every licensee shall keep a register in which shall be entered:

(a) The date of each application for employment7

(5) The name and address of the’applicant to whom employment is promised or offered,
or to whom information or assistance is given in respect to such employment.

(c) The amount of the fee received.

(d) Whenever possible, the names and addresses of former employers or persons to

whom such applicant is known.

2 The licensee shall also enter in the same or in a separate register:

Lo
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(a) The name and address of every applicant for help.
(b) The date of the application.

(c) The kind of help requested,

(d) The conditions of employment.

(e) The hours of labor required.

(£) The rate of wages to be paid.

3. No licensee shall make any false entry in such registers.

611.170 BOOKS, RECORDS OPEN TO INSPECTION; FURNISHING COPIES; REPORTS.
1. All registers, books, records and other papers kept by the licensee pursuant
to NRS 611.020 to 611.340, inclusive, shall be open at all reasonable hours to the inspec-
Sty ———
tion of the labor commissioner.
2. Every licensee shall furnish to the labor commissioner on request a true copy
of such registers, books, records and papers, or any portion thereof, and shall make

such reports as the labor commissioner may prescribe.

611.180 RECEIPT TO BE GIVEN TO APPLICANT FOR EMPLOYMENT: CONTENTS., Every licensee
shall give to every applicant for employment from whom a fee shall be received a
receipt in which shall be stated:

1. The name and address of the employment agency.

2. The name and ad&ress of the person to whom the applicant is sent for employment.

3. The name of the applicant.

4, The date,

5. The amount of the fee.

6. The kind of work or service to be performed.

7. The general conditions of employment, including, among other things, the hours
of service, the rate of wages or compensation,vwhether or not board or lodging‘is to be
furnished, the cost of transﬁortation and whether or not it is to’be paid by the employer,
the time of such service if definite and if indefinite to be so stated; and the name of

the person authorizing the hiring of such applicant.

611.190 RECEIPT: STATEMENT AS TO LICENSING OF AGENCY, There shall be printéd on
the face of the receipt in prominent type the following: 'This Agency Is Licensed by

the Labor Commissioner of Nevada,"

611.200 RECEIPTS: NUMBERING, SIGNING AND DISPOSITION OF COPIES, All receipts shall

be made and numbered in original and duplicate. The original shall be given to the
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applicant payiag the fee and the duplicate shall be kept on file at the employment 17:S

agency.

611.210 RECEIPTS, RECORDS AND REPORTS: LABOR COMMISSIONER TO PRESCRIBE FORM. The
labor commissioner shall prescribe the form of receipts to be issued, records to be
kept and reports to be made. Each licensee shall provide the necessary blanks and other

i
supplies at his own expense.

611.220 EMPLOYMENT FEES: LIMITATION. No person licensed pursuant to the terms
of NRS 611.020 to 611.340, inclusive, shall charge, accept or collect from any applicant
for employment as a fee for securing such employment any sum or sums of mon2y in excess

of 30 percent of the first month's gross cash wage received or paid for such employment

excont babysitting placements and then the fee shall not be in excess of 15 parcent of

the gross cash wage received or paid for such employment.

1. The fee is not due in full until the last dav of the first month of empnlovment

following the applicants referral by the agency.

611.230 POSTiNG OF NOTICE OF LIMITATION OF E@LOYMENT FEES. Every employment agency
shall keep posted in a conspicuous place in its office or place of business a card or
cards, furnished by the labor commissioner, upon which shall be printed in large
blackfaced type the following: '"No fee shall be chérged an applicant for employment

which shall exceed 30 percent of the first month's salary or compensation.”

611.240 BONA FIDE ORDER FOR EMPLOYMENT: REQUIREMENT, No licensee shall accept
a fee from any applicant for employment or send out any applicant for employment without

having obtained orally or in writing a bona fide order therefor.

611.250 REPAYMENT OF FEE. 1If the applicant paying a fee fails to obtain employment,
the employment agency shall repay the amount of the fee to the applicadé upon demand

being made therefor.

611.260 REIMBURSEMENT OF APPLICANT'S EXPENSES; RETURN OF FEE WHERE EMPLOYMENT.
LASTS LESS THAN Q_Q.DAYS.

‘1. In cases where the applicant paying a fee is sent beyond the limits of the city
in which the employment agency is located, the employment agency shall, in addition
to repaying any fee paid, reimburse the applicant for any actual expenses incurred in
going to and returning from any place where the applicant has been sent.

2. Where the applicant is employed and the employment lasts less than zg_days by
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reason of the discharge of th2 applicant, the employment agency shall vatura to the, . .
BN

applicant the fe2 paid by him to the employment agency within 3 davys,

3. Whava, due to no fault of such applicant or because the ermployment is othar

than as representaed by the employment agency, an applicant for ewployment who has paid

a fee fails to sacure or refuses to accept employment, such fae shall be returned in

cash within threas (3) days after demand.

611.270 PUBLICATION OF FALSE, FRAUDULENT OR MISLFADING INFORMATION; ADVERTISEMENTS.

1. No employment agency.shall publish or cause to be published any false, fraudulent
or misleading information, representation, notice or advertisenment.

2. All advertisemeats of an employment agency, by means of cards, circulars, signs,
or in newspapers and other publications, and all letterheads, receipts, and blanks shall
be printed and contain the licensed name and address of the employment agency.

3. No licensee shall give any false information or make ary false promiss or
false representation concerning an engagement or employment to any applicant who

shall register or apply for employment or help.

611.280 CHILDREN: ACCEPTING APPLICATION BY, OR PLACING OR ASSISTING IN PLACING,
IN VIOLATION OF LAW, No employment agency shall accept any application for employment
made by or in behalf of any child, or shall place or assist in placing any such child

in any employmant whatever, in violation of the provisions of chapter 609 of NRS,

611.290 PROHIBITED ACTS. No employment agency licensad under this act shall:

1. Impose any fees for the registration of applicants for employees or emmloyment

or any fee except for furnishing emnloyees or employment obtained directly through the

efforts of such agency.

2. Charge a fee greater than that stated in section 611.220 of this act.

3. Engage or attempt to engage in the splittinz or sharing of fees with an émplover,

an agent or other employee of an employer, or othar person to whom employment service

has been furnished, or any other person not authorized to charge a fee under this act.

4, Make, give, or cause to be made or given to anv anvplicant for employees or

employmant any false promise, misrepresentation, or inaccurate or misleading statement

or information if such agzency had knowledge or should have had knowledge of such

falsity, misrepresentation, or inaccurate ov misleading statement or information.

5. Procure or attempt to procure tha discharge of any person from his employment.

6., Unduly influence an employee to quit his employment for the purpose of obtaining

othar employment through such agency.
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icapts [or emploveas or employment to subscribe to any publication

or ‘reidantal service or conlbribute to the cost of advertising,

€. TNefer any nerson to employment delctevinus to health or morals if the agency

Fad soovladee or should have had knowledwe of such conditions,

9. Refer any employee or applicant Ffor employment to a place where & strike or

lockour exists without furnishing such employee or applicant with a written statemant

as to the existence of such strike or Jockout, if the agency had knowledge or should

have had knowlaedge of such facts or conditiorns, a conv of which statement sinned by the,

emplovee or apnlicant ghall be kept on file for one year after the date thereof,

10, Make any rveferral to an emnloymant or occupation prohibited by law.

11. Refer any anplicant for emnloyment except upon order therefor and except upon

furnishing such applicaat with such statement in respect to the employment as the

labor commissionar may by rule or regulation prescribe,

12, Operate directly or indirectly in conjunction with the employment azency any

lodgirg house, restaurant, small loan company, or any place where intoxicatine liquors

or beverages are sold or dispensed.

13. Except with the written consent of the labor commissioner, conduct aan emplovment

agency business in a room or rooms used for eating, sleeping, or other living purposes,

14, Make or cause tn be made or use any name, sign, or advertising deavice bearing

a name which mav he similar to or reasonably be confused with the name of a2 government

agency or previously licensed agency.

15. Receive or require any vperson to execute anv paver or document relatine to tha

liahility of anvy anplicant for employment except on such forms as shall have been

approved by the labor commissioner; and every such document made or executed contrary

to the provisions of this act shall be void and unznforceable both in law and in equity.

15. Use aay contract form or other forms except as tha lahor commissioner may by rule

or reaqulation prescribe or approve.

611.300  RYLES AND REGULATIONS, The labor commissioner shall make rules and regulatiops

to the exteant necessary tn effoctuate the purnoses of this act aund the provisions thereof.

611.319 OTHER POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER. The labor commissioner

shall nmake or cause to be made all nacessary inspecﬁions and do all other things nacessary

to the proper effectuation and enforcement of this act. 1In the parformance of such

duties, the labor commissiorer or his authorized representative may enter and imspect

iy

any premises where an emplovment agency carries on its business, and shall havas access

to, and the right to copy, information pertinent to the enforcement of this act, from
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all recovds, documents, or other papers relating to the business of such agency and

nall have the power to require by subpoeaa the production of all such documentary,

W

evidznce relating to any matter under investigation. The labor commissionar is

avthorized to take an assigament of a claim arising under this act against any employ-

ment acency. Tha labor commissionsr shall keep an account of all monsys coming into

his possession by virtue of this act. Moneys or funds received, or recovared bv the

‘labor commissioner for the use of any claimant under this act shall be kept separately,

subjoct to disbuvsement to such claimant, may be deposited iv a separate account in the

nane of the labor commissioner. All other moneys shall be naid into the State treasury

as nrovided by law,

611.320 HEARTNG; SUBPOENA; TESTIMONY; APPEAL; AND REVTEY,

1. 1In the administration of this act, the labor cormmissioner or his authorized

reprasantative may hold hearings without being bound by techaical rules of evidence,

prescribe rules of procedure therein, administer oaths, take depositions of witnesses,

and issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of papers,

books, accounts, payrolls, documents, records, and testimony. In the cose of failure

of anv narson to cowply with anv order of the labor commissionar or anv subnoena

lawfully issuad, or on the refusal of any witness to produce evidence ov to testify as

to any matter regarding which he may be lawfully interrogated, it shall be the duty of

any district court, or the judge therzof, upon application of the labor commissioner

or his authorized reprvesentative, to compel ohedience by proceadings for coantempt, as

in the case of disohadience of a subpoena issued for such court or a vefusal to testify

therein,
it ddd A,

2. Within 30 days after the effective date of a denial, suspension, or revocation

of a license of any employment acency, such agency may commence an action in any district

con=t of the State of Nevada azainst the labor commissionar as dafendant for rdview of

such order. The lahor commissioner shall keep and upon notice of such action file with

such court a full record of the testimony, evidence, and proceedings upon which the ovder

complained of was based. The review of the court shall be limited to quastions of law

and the findinzs of fact of the labor cormissioner shall be conclusive if supported by

substantial evidence. Appeal from the decision of such court may be taken to the

Nevada Supreme Court as provided by law for civil action.

611.330 PENALTIES: SEPARABILITY; REPEAL.

1. Any person failing to comply with any provision of this act or with any rule,

regulation, or order issued thereunder, or interfering with, impeding, or obstructiag

in anv manner the labor commissioner or his authorized reprasantative in the performance
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'gf rhair official dutics under this act shall be puilty of a misdameanor,

2, 1If any provision of this act, or the application of such provisioa to any person

or circumstances, shall be held invalid, the remainder of this act, or the application

of such provision to persons or circumstances other thaa those as to which it is held

invalid, swuall not be affected thareby.

611.340 ENFORCEMENT BY LABOR COMISSIONER, The labor commissioner shall enforce
NRS 611.020 to 611.340, inclusive, and when informed of any violations thereof he
b —————.
shall report the fact to the district attorney of the couaty in which such violation

occurred. The district attorney shall prosecute the violator in accordance with law.





