

PEGGY ELIAS – Chairperson Court Reporter Member

HEIDI KONSTEN – Vice Chairperson Court Reporter Member

WILLIAM LABORDE – Board Member Court Reporter Member

LISA McGRANE – Board Member Public Member

KEVIN DIAMOND – Board Member *Attorney Member*

March 29, 2023

Email: NVCCRB@gmail.com

State of Nevada CERTIFIED COURT REPORTERS BOARD 5135 Camino Al Norte, Suite 270 North Las Vegas, Nevada 89031 Phone: 702-489-8787

Website: www.crptr.nv.gov

The Honorable Joe Lombardo Governor of the State of Nevada State Capitol Building 101 N. Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Dear Governor Lombardo,

The State of Nevada Certified Court Reporters Board ("Board") is the regulatory agency, duly empowered to license, supervise and regulate the conduct and practice of court reporting in the state of Nevada. The Board is governed by the Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 656 and the Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 656 and continues to advance in the practice of court reporting, encouraging proficiency and protecting the general welfare of the public interest.

On behalf of the State of Nevada Certified Court Reporters Board, I submit our response to Executive Order 2023-004.

EXECUTIVE ORDER 2023-004 – SECTION 2

Section 1 of the report shall include, at a minimum, all pertinent regulations, fees and other costs, examinations and any other requirement for entry into any occupation or profession regulated by the Board.

Fees and Other Costs:

- Certification Exam Fee for a Court Reporter: \$150.00
- Exam for a Designated Representative of a Court Reporting Firm: \$250.00
- Registration for a Court Reporter's Certificate: \$200.00
- Registration for a Court Reporting Firm: \$250.00

CERTIFICATION

NAC 656.100 Application for certificate; cancellation by applicant.

(NRS 656.130, 656.150, 656.170)

1. The Board will consider applications for certificates for the immediately succeeding examination. The Executive Secretary of the Board shall establish a deadline for submission of applications at least 30 days before the examination for certification is administered. If an application is postmarked after the deadline, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall return the application to the applicant and the applicant is ineligible to take the examination.

2. An application must be submitted to the Board in its original form. If an applicant submits an application that is photocopied, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall return the application to the applicant and the applicant is ineligible to take the examination.

3. All questions on the application must be completed. If an application is incomplete, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall return the application to the applicant. An applicant whose application is returned because it is incomplete may resubmit his or her application if the application that is resubmitted is postmarked on or before the date of the deadline.

4. All evidence required by <u>NRS 656.170</u> must be included with the application. The Board will not accept an application without the evidence unless the applicant receives approval from the Board before submitting his or her application.

5. An application must include a photocopy of a picture identification of the applicant.

6. The fee accompanying the application must be in the form of a money order, cashier's check or certified check which is payable to the Board. If the applicant does not submit the fee in a timely manner, the Executive Secretary of the Board may deny the applicant:

(a) Admission to the examination;

(b) The results of his or her examination; or

(c) A certificate.

7. An application must be signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury and include an acknowledgment by the applicant that a misrepresentation or omission in the application may constitute a ground for denial, suspension or revocation of a certificate pursuant to <u>NRS 656.240</u>. The signature of the applicant attests to the accuracy of all information provided by the applicant, including, but not limited to, the information contained in the application and all other evidence and information accompanying the application.

8. If the Board rejects an application, the Board will include a letter that explains the reason for the rejection.

9. If the Board approves an application, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall mail to the applicant a letter of admission to the examination.

10. An applicant may cancel his or her submission of an application and request a refund of the examination fee by submitting a written request to the Board on or before the deadline for submission of applications established by the Executive Secretary of the Board pursuant to subsection 1. If the request is submitted on or before the deadline for submission of applications, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall cancel the applicant's application and refund the examination fee to the applicant. The Executive Secretary of the Board shall not refund an examination fee if the request for a refund is submitted after the deadline for submission of applications.

11. An applicant may cancel his or her submission of an application and request that the Board apply the applicant's examination fee to the immediately succeeding examination by submitting a written request to the Board after the deadline for submission of applications established by the Executive Secretary of the Board pursuant to subsection 1 but before the date of the examination. If the request is submitted after the deadline for submission of applications, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall

cancel the applicant's application and apply the applicant's examination fee to the immediately succeeding examination.

12. An applicant who is unable to take the examination because of an emergency may submit a written request to the Board not later than 15 days after the date of the examination requesting that the Board apply the applicant's examination fee to the immediately succeeding examination. The request must include documented proof of the emergency. If the Board grants the applicant's request, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall apply the applicant's examination fee to the immediately succeeding examination.

13. As used in this section, "emergency" means a sudden or unforeseen circumstance that makes it impractical or impossible for the applicant to take the examination and includes, without limitation, an illness or injury to the applicant or an injury to or the illness or death of a family member of the applicant.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R075-10, 6-30-2010; R072-12, 4-5-2013)

NAC 656.110 Examination: Purpose. (NRS 656.130, 656.160)

The Board declares that the purpose for the examination that is required pursuant to <u>NRS 656.160</u> is to ensure that the persons whom the Board certifies as court reporters possess the standard of competence and integrity in the practice of court reporting that is required to protect the public interest.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98)

NAC 656.120 Examination: Administration. (NRS 656.130, 656.160)

1. The Executive Secretary of the Board shall assign a unique identification number to each application that is approved by the Board. An applicant must register on the day of the examination by presenting the original of the photo identification that accompanied his or her application and by signing the sheet for registration provided by a member of the staff of the Board. A member of the Board or a member of the staff of the Board will open the examination room on the day of the examination for registration. A member of the Board or a member of the staff of the Board will provide a seat for the applicant in the examination room according to the identification number that is assigned to his or her application.

2. A member of the Board or a member of the staff of the Board shall give oral instructions and remarks of introduction immediately before administering the examination. Unless special arrangements are made pursuant to subsection 8 or 9, all applicants must register and be present for the oral instructions and remarks of introduction.

3. Each applicant must be on time to take the examination. An applicant who arrives late to take the examination:

- (a) Will be denied admission to the examination;
- (b) Forfeits any fees paid to take the examination; and
- (c) Must reregister before taking a subsequent examination.

4. A member of the Board or a member of the staff of the Board will administer the examination. The name of the applicant or the applicant's identification number, or both, must not be written or otherwise appear on the examination provided by the Board.

5. The examination of an applicant and all other material relating to the examination must not be removed from the examination room during the administration of the examination. If an applicant removes the examination or material relating to the examination, the Board will fail the applicant for the purposes of the current application and will, if deemed appropriate by the Board, disqualify the applicant from participation in future examinations. After an applicant completes the examination, the applicant must return the examination and material to the registration desk.

6. An applicant shall not:

(a) Ask questions during the examination except for questions that are necessary for clarification of the examination; or

(b) Leave the room in which the examination is administered without permission from a person who is monitoring the examination or a member of the staff of the Board who is present at the registration desk.

7. An applicant must bring to the examination room a pen or pencil. The Board will not provide any equipment.

8. Upon the written request of an applicant with a disability at least 10 working days before the examination, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall make special arrangements for the administration of the examination to the applicant if those arrangements are:

(a) Feasible;

(b) Reasonable; and

(c) In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 to 12213, inclusive.

9. Upon the request of an applicant whose religious beliefs prevent the applicant from taking the examination on the date of the examination, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall make special arrangements for the administration of the examination to the applicant if the request is made before the date of the examination.

10. If an applicant cheats on the examination, a member of the Board or a member of the staff of the Board will expel the applicant from the examination room and fail the applicant.

11. Questions concerning the administration, procedure or content of the examination must be submitted in writing to the Board.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R029-07, 10-31-2007; R030-09, 10-27-2009; R005-11, 12-30-2011; R072-12, 4-5-2013; R099-16, 6-21-2017; R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.130 Examination: Administration and contents; use of materials prohibited. (NRS 656.130, 656.160)

1. After the presentation of the oral instructions and remarks of introduction by a member of the Board, the Board will provide for the administration of the examination. Unless special arrangements are made pursuant to subsection 8 of <u>NAC 656.120</u>, the Board will give an applicant 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete and submit the examination to the Board or a member of the staff of the Board. A grade of at least 70 percent is required to pass the examination.

2. The examination consists of not less than 150 and not more than 200 questions that test the knowledge of the applicant in:

- (a) Vocabulary;
- (b) Punctuation;
- (c) Grammar;
- (d) Spelling;
- (e) Medical terminology;
- (f) Legal terminology;

(g) The applicable laws, regulations, and court and procedural rules governing the practice of court reporting in this State; and

(h) Any other subject relating to the duties of a court reporter specified by the Board.

 \hat{E} The Executive Secretary of the Board shall include material to prepare for the examination in the letter of admittance to the examination mailed to the applicant.

3. An applicant shall not refer to or otherwise use books, papers or other material during the examination. All books, papers and other such material must be placed on the floor during the examination.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R030-09, 10-27-2009; R005-11, 12-30-2011; R072-12, 4-5-2013; R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.150 Certification and notice of results of examination; submission of application for certificate by successful applicant. (NRS 656.130, 656.155, 656.160, 656.180)

1. Not more than 8 weeks after the administration of the examination, the Board will, at a public meeting held for that purpose, certify the score of each applicant who took the examination. As soon as practicable after conducting the public meeting, the Board will provide official written notice to each applicant of the results of the examination of the applicant. The results of an examination must not be given to an applicant by telephone.

2. After the Board provides official notice of the results of the examination, a successful applicant may submit an application for a certificate on a form provided by the Board. The application must include:

(a) The fee required by <u>NAC 656.200</u> for the original issuance of a certificate;

- (b) The residential address and telephone number of the applicant;
- (c) The business address and telephone number, if any, of the applicant;
- (d) The date on which the applicant successfully passed the examination;

(e) In accordance with <u>NRS 656.155</u>, the statement prescribed by the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services of the Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to <u>NRS 425.520</u>; and

(f) Complete answers to the questions contained on the form.

 \hat{E} Upon receipt of a complete application, the Board will process an application for a certificate.

3. A successful applicant shall not practice court reporting in this State until he or she receives a certificate from the Board.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R005-11, 12-30-2011; R072-12, 4-5-2013; R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.160 Failure and retaking of examination; submission of application for certificate within 2 years after date of passage. (NRS 656.130, 656.150, 656.160, 656.180)

1. If an applicant fails the examination, the applicant is ineligible for a certificate. Such an applicant may retake the examination if he or she submits an application and the fee required for examination to the Board.

2. An applicant who passes the examination must submit an application to the Board for a certificate within 2 years after the date on which the applicant passed the examination.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R029-07, 10-31-2007; R005-11, 12-30-2011; R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.200 Fees for issuance or renewal of certificate. (<u>NRS 656.130, 656.220</u>) The following fees must be paid:

1. For the original issuance of a certificate......\$200

2. For the annual renewal of a certificate......\$200

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd., eff. 11-6-95; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R029-07, 10-31-2007)

PRACTICE BY FIRM

NAC 656.250 Application for and issuance of license; filing of amended application upon certain changes. (NRS 656.130, 656.185)

1. Each firm that conducts business as a court reporting firm in this State must complete an application for a license provided by the Board and file the application with the Executive Secretary of the Board. The form for application for the license must include:

- (a) The business address of the firm in this State;
- (b) The tax identification number of the firm;
- (c) The residential address of each owner of the firm;
- (d) If applicable, a copy of each certificate filed pursuant to chapter 602 of NRS to do business under an

assumed or fictitious name;

(e) Copies of all business licenses issued to the firm by a local government in this State;

(f) All other documents, reports and other information required by the Board; and

(g) The name of the designated representative of the court reporting firm, as well as a copy of his or her certificate as a certified court reporter or a certificate of completion which demonstrates satisfactory completion of the examination required pursuant to subsection 2 of <u>NRS 656.186</u> and <u>NAC 656.261</u>.

2. Upon receipt of a completed application for a license and the payment of the fees required pursuant to <u>NRS 656.220</u>, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall issue a license to the firm.

3. If a change in the ownership of a firm occurs or other change pursuant to <u>NRS 656.260</u> occurs, the firm shall file an amended application for a license with the Executive Secretary of the Board not more than 30 days after the change occurs.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R101-03, 2-18-2004; R029-07, 10-31-2007; R030-09, 10-27-2009; R072-12, 4-5-2013)

NAC 656.261 Examination of designated representative: Prerequisite to service; schedule for administration; fee. (NRS 656.130, 656.186, 656.220)

1. Before a person who is not a certified court reporter may serve as a designated representative of a court reporting firm, the person must pass an examination administered by the Board.

2. The Executive Secretary of the Board shall prepare a schedule for the administration of examinations to applicants to become a designated representative of a court reporting firm.

3. The fee for an examination is \$250.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R029-07, eff. 10-31-2007; A by R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.265 Examination of designated representative: Content; procedure; notice of results; application for and restrictions on retaking. (NRS 656.130, 656.186)

1. Each examination administered pursuant to <u>NAC 656.261</u> will consist of 125 multiple-choice questions that test the knowledge of the applicant in:

(a) The applicable laws, regulations, and court and procedural rules governing the practice of court reporting in this State;

(b) Technical advances in the practice of court reporting;

(c) Ethics and professionalism in the practice of court reporting;

(d) Management of the business and economics of court reporting; and

(e) Any other subject relating to court reporting that the Board determines appropriate for inclusion in the examination.

2. Each applicant will have 90 minutes to complete the examination. During the examination, the applicant must not refer to or otherwise use any book, paper or other material.

3. Not later than 7 days after an examination, the Board will mail the results of the examination to each applicant. If the applicant passed the examination, the Board will include with the results of the examination a certificate of completion. If the applicant failed the examination, the Board will include with the results of the examination a statement that the applicant failed the examination and is not eligible for a certificate of completion.

4. An applicant may not take more than four examinations during any period of 12 consecutive months. To apply for a subsequent examination, an applicant must submit a written request to the Board and pay the fee required pursuant to <u>NAC 656.261</u>.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R029-07, eff. 10-31-2007; A by R072-12, 4-5-2013; R112-17, 2-27-2018)

NAC 656.280 Standards of practice. (NRS 656.130)

1. Each firm must have at least one owner who is a court reporter or a designated representative of the court reporting firm to whom a certificate of completion has been issued pursuant to <u>NAC 656.265</u>.

2. Each firm must provide the service of court reporting by court reporters only.

3. If a court reporter whose certificate is suspended or revoked provides service as a court reporter for a firm in which he or she is a shareholder, the income attributable to the court reporter must not be paid or otherwise accounted to the court reporter.

(Added to NAC by Cert. Court Reporters' Bd. by R120-97, eff. 4-13-98; A by R029-07, 10-31-2007)

Section 2 of the report shall include, at a minimum, the Board's justification for the regulations, fees and other costs, examinations and other requirements set forth in Section 1 of the report. Section 2 shall also include an analysis of the number of states that currently license each profession or occupation by the Board.

Pursuant to NRS 656.020, the Board's declaration is to encourage proficiency in the practice of court reporting as a profession; promote efficiency in court and general reporting and extend to the courts and public the protection afforded by a standardized profession by establishing a standard of competency for those engaged in it. The practice of court reporting is declared to affect the public health, safety, and general welfare and is subject to regulation and control in the public interest.

Pursuant to NAC 656.110, the purpose of the examinations is to ensure that the persons whom the Board certifies as court reporters possess the standard of competence and integrity in the practice of court reporting that is required to protect the public interest.

Pursuant to NAC 656.205, each court reporter and designated representative of a court reporting firm shall possess a basic understanding and knowledge of the applicable laws, regulations, and court and procedural rules governing the practice of court reporting in this State safeguarding the public. These regulations provide oversight and ensure public safety.

The fees detailed in Section 1 are nominal and are necessary to self-fund the Board in order for it to carry out its duties to protect the general welfare of the public interest.

List of States Requiring Certification:

*26 states require national certification or state level certification for court reporters. States that require national certification are Alabama, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah and Washington. Arizona, Hawaii and Iowa must also pass a state-level written exam. States that require a state-level certification include Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas.

The remaining 24 states have voluntary or no certification requirements for court reporters. Florida, Indiana, Nebraska, New York, South Carolina and Virginia offer voluntary certification programs. Alaska, Colorado, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming have no certification requirements.

*Reference: The Nest

https://woman.thenest.com/list-states-requiring-court-reporter-certifications-21765.html "List of States Requiring Court Reporter Certifications" 2023 By Lindsey Thompson

Section 3 of the report shall provide, at a minimum, any recommended revisions to the current regulatory construct that would expedite licensure for new workers.

Before 2018, the Board required court reporting applicants to take both a skills test and a written knowledge test for licensure and/or certification. In 2018, we streamlined our testing procedure through SB406 wherein we began utilizing a national certification provided by the National Court Reporters Association and the National Verbatim Reporters Association. The Board no longer requires an applicant to take a skills portion of the examination, and they are now required to take only a written knowledge test on current Nevada laws that a court reporter must comply with when engaging in the practice of court reporting in the state of Nevada. We have streamlined the process for applicants to become certified/licensed while still providing protection to members of the public who use their services. As a result, we have seen an increased number of applicants pass our test and become working reporters in our state in a very highly specialized field of practice.

In response to Executive Order 2023-003, the Board has undertaken a comprehensive review of NAC Chapter 656 and will be submitting its report regarding streamlining and reducing regulations by May 1, 2023. If these amendments are approved, it would provide more flexibility in offering the examination in alternative formats, making it accessible to out of state applicants.

Section 4 of the report shall identify state compacts or any other pathways to professional licensure reciprocity that exists regionally, nationally or internationally. Section 4 shall also include a summary of states currently providing reciprocity for each profession or occupation regulated by the board to include those states that do not license the profession or occupation, and therefore, do not require reciprocity. To the extent Nevada does not currently participate in any identified reciprocity opportunity, the Board's report shall provide a justification as to why Nevada does not currently participate and shall set forth an action plan should the state decide it should participate in such a reciprocity program.

Our Board does not participate in a state compact due to the varying competency and skill-level requirements of each state. NRS 622.530 allows the Board to adopt regulations to provide a certificate by endorsement to a natural person seeking licensure. In accordance with Executive Order 2023-004, this matter is on hold until the suspension to create new regulations has concluded.

SB406 took effect on January 1, 2018; revising the certification exam to a written exam only. The Board utilizes the national certification provided by the National Court Reporters Association and the National Verbatim Reporters Association that replaced the skills portion of the exam. By adopting the NCRA and NVRA national certifications for the skills portion of the Nevada examination, the Board has already made obtaining a court reporting license in Nevada much easier for prospective licensees while at the same time ensuring the competency and skill level necessary to protect the public continue to be met. Since 2018, the pass rate has increased substantially. The pass rate has been 100% on numerous examinations.

*There are 24 states that have voluntary or no certification requirements for court reporters. Florida, Indiana, Nebraska, New York, South Carolina and Virginia offer voluntary certification programs. Alaska, Colorado, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming have no certification requirements.

*Reference:

https://woman.thenest.com/list-states-requiring-court-reporter-certifications-21765.html "List of States Requiring Court Reporter Certifications" 2023 By Lindsey Thompson

Respectfully submitted,

The Nest

Debbie Uehara Executive Secretary

cc: Brenda Erdoes Director of the Legislative Counsel Bureau