
 

--1-- 
Adopted Regulation R006-10 

ADOPTED REGULATION OF THE  

BOARD OF WILDLIFE COMMISSIONERS 

LCB File No. R006-10 

Effective June 30, 2010 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§1-5, NRS 501.105, 501.181 and 504.390. 
 

A REGULATION relating to wildlife; revising the date after which the Department of Wildlife 
will not process an application for the issuance or renewal of a master guide license; 
amending certain examination dates for a master guide license; amending the 
requirements concerning the amount of insurance a master guide must carry; 
authorizing the Department to deny, revoke or suspend a guide’s license for a 
conviction of a crime involving physical violence, theft or fraud; and providing other 
matters properly relating thereto. 

 

 Section 1.  NAC 504.600 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 504.600  1.  An applicant for a license as a master guide must: 

 (a) Be a competent person of good moral character. 

 (b) Be 21 years of age or older. 

 (c) Demonstrate knowledge of the wildlife laws and regulations of the State relevant to the 

license for which the applicant is applying by passing the examination required pursuant to NAC 

504.608. 

 (d) Submit proof with his application of current certification in: 

  (1) An American Red Cross course in standard first aid;  

  (2) An American Heart Association course in standard first aid; or 
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  (3) An equivalent course in standard first aid. The applicant must submit proof with his 

application that this course meets or exceeds the requirements of the American Red Cross or the 

American Heart Association. 

 (e) Provide proof of his United States Coast Guard license, if applicable. If a boat will be 

used to provide a service to a client and a United States Coast Guard license is not required, the 

applicant must provide proof that he has obtained a minimum score of 80 percent on the boating 

safety examination in Boat Nevada, a booklet which may be obtained free of charge from the 

Department of Wildlife, 1100 Valley Road, Reno, Nevada 89512. 

 (f) If applying for a license for hunting services, provide proof that the applicant successfully 

completed a course in the responsibilities of hunters approved by the Department. 

 2.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, in addition to the requirements of 

subsection 1, an applicant for a license as a master guide for hunting services or hunting and 

fishing services: 

 (a) Must submit: 

  (1) Proof that he: 

   (I) Possessed a valid subguide license, or held an equivalent position, in another state, 

Canadian province or foreign country for at least 2 of the 5 years immediately preceding the date 

of the application; and 

   (II) Successfully completed a licensed training program for hunting guides within the 5 

years immediately preceding the date of the application;  

  (2) Four letters of recommendation written by clients whom the applicant personally 

guided during the period described in sub-subparagraph (I) of subparagraph (1); and 

  (3) Either: 
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   (I) A letter of recommendation written by the master guide, registered guide, 

professional guide or outfitter who employed the applicant as a subguide, or an equivalent 

position, during the period described in sub-subparagraph (I) of subparagraph (1); or 

   (II) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, proof that he spent a minimum of 15 

days guiding clients in the field during the period described in sub-subparagraph (I) of 

subparagraph (1);  

 (b) Must submit: 

  (1) Proof that he possessed a valid subguide license, or held an equivalent position, in 

another state, Canadian province or foreign country for at least 3 of the 5 years immediately 

preceding the date of the application; 

  (2) Four letters of recommendation written by clients whom the applicant personally 

guided during the period described in subparagraph (1); and 

  (3) Either: 

   (I) A letter of recommendation written by the master guide, registered guide, 

professional guide or outfitter who employed the applicant as a subguide, or an equivalent 

position, during the period described in subparagraph (1); or 

   (II) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, proof that he spent a minimum of 15 

days guiding clients in the field during the period described in subparagraph (1); or 

 (c) Must submit proof that he held the position of, or was licensed in another state, Canadian 

province or foreign country as a master guide, registered guide, professional guide or outfitter 

and has at least 20 days of guiding experience for at least 2 of the 5 years immediately preceding 

the date of the application. 

 3.  An applicant for a license as a master guide who: 
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 (a) Applies on or before December 1, 2004; 

 (b) Possessed a valid subguide license issued by the Department between July 1, 2001, and 

November 30, 2004, and who is in good standing; and 

 (c) Otherwise meets the other requirements of subsection 2, 

 will receive 5 days of credit toward the requirements of sub-subparagraph (II) of subparagraph 

(3) of paragraph (a) of subsection 2 or sub-subparagraph (II) of subparagraph (3) of paragraph 

(b) of subsection 2 for each fiscal year that he was licensed. 

 4.  An application for the issuance or renewal of a master guide license received by the 

Department after [December 1] August 31 of the current calendar year will not be processed, and 

all fees will be returned. 

 5.  An applicant for a license as a subguide must: 

 (a) Satisfy the requirements outlined in paragraphs (a), (c), (d), (e) and (f) of subsection 1; 

and 

 (b) Be 18 years of age or older. 

 6.  An application for the renewal of a license as a master guide or subguide must include 

proof of current certification in standard first aid, as described in paragraph (d) of subsection 1. 

 7.  An applicant for a license as a master guide is not required to comply with the provisions 

of subsection 2 if he: 

 (a) Is applying only to provide fishing services; or 

 (b) Submitted his application on or before December 1, 2004, and he: 

  (1) Possessed a valid subguide license for hunting services issued by the Department 

during the previous 3 years; and 

  (2) Did not have his subguide license suspended or revoked. 
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 8.  As used in subsection 2, “proof” means: 

 (a) Copies of records maintained by a state agency or board that issues a license to act as a 

guide or outfitter; 

 (b) Reports: 

  (1) Required by a federal land management agency that issues special use permits; and 

  (2) Signed by the master guide, registered guide, professional guide or outfitter who 

employed the applicant during the period described in sub-subparagraph (I) of subparagraph (1) 

of paragraph (a) of subsection 2 or subparagraph (1) of paragraph (b) of subsection 2; or 

 (c) An affidavit verifying the applicant’s guiding experience submitted by the master guide, 

registered guide, professional guide or outfitter who employed the applicant. 

 Sec. 2.  NAC 504.608 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 504.608  1.  Before submitting an application for a license as a master guide or subguide 

for: 

 (a) Any hunting service, a person must pass an examination related to hunting established by 

the Department with a minimum score of 80 percent. 

 (b) Any fishing service, a person must pass an examination related to fishing established by 

the Department with a minimum score of 80 percent. 

 (c) Hunting and fishing services, a person must pass the examinations described in 

paragraphs (a) and (b) with minimum scores of 80 percent. 

 2.  A master guide licensed by the Department who desires to add a fishing or hunting 

service to his license must pass an examination established by the Department with a minimum 

score of 80 percent. 
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 3.  A person who fails to renew his master guide or subguide license for 3 consecutive years 

must pass the applicable examination required pursuant to subsection 1 before the Department 

will reissue his license. 

 4.  The Department shall administer the examinations required pursuant to this section by 

appointment at its regional offices located in Las Vegas, Reno and Elko from: 

 (a) [April] January 1 to [November 30] August 31 of each year for: 

  (1) Applicants for the issuance or reissuance of a master guide license; or 

  (2) A master guide who wishes to add a fishing or hunting service to his license; and 

 (b) January 1 to December 31 of each year for applicants for the issuance or reissuance of a 

subguide license. 

 5.  A person may only take the examinations required pursuant to this section twice in a 

calendar year. 

 Sec. 3.  NAC 504.661 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 504.661  1.  The Department will make such additional investigation of an applicant for a 

license as a master guide and his qualifications as it deems necessary. A preliminary decision of 

the Department: 

 (a) Upon an application for renewal of an existing license, will be made not later than 60 days 

after the date of receipt of the complete application; and 

 (b) Upon an initial application for a license, will be made not later than 90 days after the date 

of receipt of the complete application. 

 A licensee who is in good standing and whose application for renewal is received on or before 

[December 1] August 31 is entitled to a new license for the ensuing license year upon complying 

with the provisions of NAC 504.590 to 504.711, inclusive. If a licensee submits his application 
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for renewal on or before [December 1,] August 31, the current license issued by the Department 

will remain in effect until the Department issues a new license or notifies the licensee in writing 

that it has denied the application for renewal. 

 2.  If an applicant fails to include proof of certification in first aid or proof of the successful 

completion of a course in the responsibilities of hunters with his application as required in NAC 

504.600 or has failed to submit timely client reports pursuant to NAC 504.688, the Department 

will notify the applicant, in writing or electronically, of the deficiency. The applicant must 

submit the required documents to the Department within 30 days after he receives the 

notification. If the Department does not receive the requisite documentation within the 30-day 

period, the Department will consider the application to be incomplete, will return the application 

to the applicant and will take no further action on the application. 

 3.  If an application is denied for a reason listed in NAC 504.671, the Department will notify 

the applicant, in writing or electronically, of the reasons for denial. The applicant may appeal 

such a denial to the Commission. 

 4.  The Department will only accept applications for licenses as a master guide beginning on 

[October] July 1 and ending on [December 1] August 31 of each year. 

 Sec. 4.  NAC 504.663 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 504.663  1.  If the Department approves an application for a license to be a master guide 

pursuant to NAC 504.661, the applicant must provide proof to the Department within 30 days 

after the notification that he carries liability insurance for a Nevada guiding business or a self-

insurance bond in the following amounts: 

 (a) At least $100,000 for each person with a claim. 

 (b) At least $300,000 for each occurrence. 
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 (c) At least [$5,000] $25,000 for [each person with a medical claim.] damage to property. 

 2.  The Department shall issue a master guide license to the applicant upon receiving proof 

of liability insurance or proof of the self-insurance bond required pursuant to subsection 1. 

 3.  The policy for liability insurance or the bond must remain in effect during the entire time 

the master guide is licensed to guide. 

 4.  A master guide must submit proof to the Department that he continues to carry the 

liability insurance or self-insurance bond required pursuant to subsection 1 when he renews his 

insurance policy or bond. 

 Sec. 5.  NAC 504.671 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 504.671  The Department may deny an application for or revoke or suspend a guide’s license 

for any of the following: 

 1.  Fraud or deception in procuring a license. 

 2.  Fraudulent, untruthful or misleading advertising. 

 3.  A conviction of any [felony.] : 

 (a) Felony; or 

 (b) Crime involving physical violence, theft or fraud. 

 4.  A conviction of having violated a regulation of a federal land management agency. 

 5.  Immoral, unethical or dishonorable conduct in the licensee’s relation to his guest, client, 

patron or a member of the public while providing guide services. 

 6.  A conviction of having violated a provision of: 

 (a) Chapter 488 or title 45 of NRS, or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto, or for a 

conviction of having violated an equivalent provision in the law or regulations of any other state 

or the Federal Government; or 
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 (b) NRS 444.630 or 445A.465, or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto, relating to the 

conduct of the guide while providing guide services. 

 For the purposes of this subsection, the term “conviction” means a final conviction. A 

forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure a defendant’s appearance or a plea of nolo 

contendere is equivalent to a conviction. 

 7.  A guide’s substantial breach of any contract with any person utilizing his services, as 

determined by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

 8.  Operation by a guide in an area other than that for which he is licensed or specifically 

authorized by the Department or the federal land management agency having jurisdiction. 

 9.  The employment or use of an unlicensed subguide by a master guide. 

 10.  Two or more convictions of any provision of [chapter 484] chapters 484A to 484E, 

inclusive, or chapter 488 of NRS or an equivalent provision of law of any other state or the 

Federal Government relating to driving a motor vehicle or operating a boat while under the 

influence of an intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance within the 7 years immediately 

preceding the application for a license to be a guide. 

 11.  A conviction of any provision of chapter 453 of NRS or an equivalent provision of law 

of any other state or the Federal Government relating to controlled substances within the 5 years 

immediately preceding the application for a license to be a guide. 

 12.  Failing to report to the Division of Law Enforcement [Bureau] of the Department, 

without undue delay, any violation of the wildlife laws or regulations of which the guide has 

knowledge. 

 13.  Shooting, killing or taking a client’s wildlife. 

 14.  Failing to comply with any provision of NAC 504.663, 504.685 or 504.688. 



 

--10-- 
Adopted Regulation R006-10 

 15.  Providing guide services relating to hunting or fishing on public land or public waters 

without having the necessary special use permit issued by the federal land management agency 

having jurisdiction within the wildlife management area or unit. 

 16.  Providing guide services relating to hunting or fishing on private land in violation of 

NRS 503.240. 

 17.  Intimidating, threatening or intentionally interfering with a person who is lawfully 

hunting or fishing, or who is attempting to do so. 

 18.  Revocation of a hunting or fishing license of the guide in any state. 

 19.  An outstanding warrant for the arrest of the applicant or guide issued in any state. 
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STATE OF NEVADA 
BOARD OF WILDLIFE COMMISSIONERS 

LCB File No. R006-10 
 

INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT 
 
Informational statement relating to Commission General Regulation No. 378 (LCB File No. 

(R006-10) - as required by Chapter 233B.066. 
 
1. Description of how public comment was solicited, a summary of public response, and an 

explanation how other interested persons may obtain a copy of the summary. 
 The proposed regulation was noticed and posted on an agenda according to the Open 

Meeting Law; distributed to the Board of Wildlife Commissioners, 17 county advisory 
boards to manage wildlife, and other interested persons; presented at a public workshop and 
at the board of Wildlife Commissioners’ public meeting.  

 
2. The number of persons who: 
 (a)  Attended each hearing:   24  Workshop/   25 Hearing ____                
 (b)  Testified at each hearing:   2 Workshop/ 1 Hearing       
 (c)  Submitted to the agency written statements:  ___0__             
 
3.  A description of how comment was solicited from affected businesses, a summary of 

their response, and an explanation how other interested persons may obtain a copy of 
the summary: A summary is available by contacting the Department of Wildlife. No 
business was specifically affected. Copies can be obtained from the Nevada Department of 
Wildlife.  

 
4. If the regulation was adopted without changing any part of the proposed regulation, a 

summary of the reasons for adopting the regulation without change: N/A 
 
5. The estimated economic effect of the regulations on the businesses they are to regulate 

and on the public. N/A 
 
 (a) Estimated economic effect on the businesses which they are to regulate. 
  (1) Adverse – None 
  (2) Beneficial – None 
  (3) Immediate – None 
  (4) Long term – None 
 
 (b) Estimated economic effect on the public which they are to regulate. 
  (1) Adverse –  None 
  (2) Beneficial – None 
  (3) Immediate – None 
  (4) Long term – None 
 
6. The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation: N/A 
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7. A description of any regulations of other state or government agencies which the 

proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and a statement explaining why the 
duplication or overlapping is necessary:  

 
If the regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal regulation, the name of the regulating 

federal agency:  
 
8. If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent than a federal regulation 

which regulates the same activity, a summary of such provisions: N/A 
 
9. If the regulation provides a new fee or increases an existing fee, the total annual amount 

the agency expects to collect and the manner in which the money will be used: N/A 
  
 
 


