L CB File No. R0O50-02

PROPOSED REGULATION OF THEHEALTH DIVISION
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

(Replaces Initial Draft posted on 4/09/02)
NOTICE OF PUBLIC WORKSHOPS
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the State Health Division will hold public hearing and act on

amendments to Nevada Adminigtrative Code (NAC) 449. There will be two workshops held on the
following dates, times, and locations:

April 24, 2002
LASVEGASNEVADA

April 25, 2002
RENO NEVADA

Clark County District Health Department Washoe County District Health Department

625 Shadow Lane 1001 E. 9" Street
Clemens Room South Auditorium
LasVegas, Nevada Reno, Nevada

Time: 8:30am.—10:00 am.

Medical and Other Related Facilities
Fees

Facilitiesfor Refractive Laser Surgery
Administrative Sanctions

Facilitiesfor Treatment with Narcotics

Time: 1:30 p.m.—3:00 p.m.

Medical and Other Related Facilities
Fees

Facilitiesfor Refractive Laser Surgery
Administrative Sanctions

Facilitiesfor Treatment with Narcotics

The regulations will be presented at the June 14, 2002, Board of Health meeting. It will be held
at the Washoe County District Health Department, 1001 East 9" Street, South Auditorium, Reno,
Nevadaat 9:00 am.

FEES
The purpose of the proposed revised regulations for fees, Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)
449.013, NAC 449.016 and NAC 449.0168 is to amend existing regulations governing the
amount of initial and annual renewal fees charged to certain medical facilities licensed pursuant
to NRS 449.0151, facilities for the dependent licensed pursuant to NRS 440.0045, regulation of
other facilities licensed pursuant to NRS 449.038, businesses that provide referrals to residential
facilities for groups licensed pursuant to NRS 449.0305 and homes for individual residential care
licensed pursuant to NRS 449.249. The proposed revised regulation also adds initial and annual
renewal fees charged to mobile units and a facility for refractive laser surgery. The need for the
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proposed revision to NAC 449.013, NAC 449.016 and NAC 449.0168 is directly related to the
legidlatively budgeted cost of the State agency to perform current state licensure activities in
State Fiscal Year 03 (July 1, 2002 — June 30, 2003) pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS)
Chapter 449. The proposed fee increase is calculated to generate revenue sufficient to cover
existing personnel and operating costs, without adding new staff or activities. Without the
adoption of the proposed fee increases, the State Agency will collect approximately 556
thousand dollars less than the budgeted cost of conducting state licensure activities. Since State
Fiscal Year 1994 (July 1, 1993- June 30, 1994) state licensure activities have been funded
exclusively through licensure fees contained in NAC 449.013, NAC 449.016 and NAC
449.0168. The adverse economic effect identified as resulting from the proposed regulation
changes is that the annual cost to obtain/renew a license to operate facilities will increase as

identified in the table below:

FACILITY TYPE Current Initial Proposed Initial | Current Annual | Proposed
Fee/Per Bed Fee | Fee/Per Bed Fee | Renewal Annual Renewal
Charged for to be Charged Fee/Per Bed Fee | Fee/ Per Bed
State Licensure | for State Charged for Feeto be
Licensure State Licensure | Charged for
State Licensure
Facility for Skilled Nursing | $1,200 /$75 $2,200 $90 $1,100 /$75 $1,100/ $45
Hospital $5,000 /$77 $10,000 /$90 $1,100/$77 $5,000/ $45
Rural Hospital $750 /$45 $ 1,500/$90 $ 750/$45 $ 750/ $45
Intermediate Care Facility $ 750 /$50 $1,300/$80 $ 600/$35 $ 650/ $40
for Persons with Mental
Retardation or
Developmental Disabilities
Intermediate Care Facility $1,200/$75 $1,200/$90 $600/$75 $600/ $45
A Residential Facility for $ 500/ $50 $2,130/$260 $ 300/$35 $1,065/$130
Groups
A Facility for the Treatment | $500/ $50 $ 500/ $50 $ 300/$35 $300/$35
of Abuse of Alcohol or
Drugs
A Facility for Hospice Care | $1,200/ $50 $1,540/ $100 $ 600/$35 $ 770/$50
A Home for Individual $ 100 /$50 $ 840/ $320 $ 100/$35 $ 420/$160
Residential Care
A Facility for Modified $500/$50 $ 680/ $90 $300/$35 $ 340/ $45
Medical Detoxification
Ambulatory Surgery Center | $1,200 $1,580 $ 600 $790
Facility for the Treatment of | $1,200 $1,650 $ 600 $825
Irreversible Renal Disease
Home Health Agency (or $1,200 $2,170 $ 600 $1,085
Subunit of a Home Health
Agency)
Branch Office of aHome $500 $1,240 $ 100 $ 620
Health Agency
A rural clinic $1,200 $1,710 $ 600 $ 855
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An Obstetric Center $1,200 $1,200 $600 $ 600
A Program of Hospice Care | $1,200 $1,540 $ 600 $ 770
An Independent Center for $1,200 $1,420 $600 $ 710
Emergency Medical Care

A Nursing Pool $ 750 $1,540 $ 600 $ 770
A Facility for Treatment $750 $1,340 $600 $670
with Narcotics

A Medication Unit $500 $ 500 $ 100 $ 100
A Referral Agency $ 750 $1,420 $ 600 $710
A Halfway House for $500 $1,320 $300 $ 660
Recovering Alcohol and

Drug Abusers

A Facility for Refractive $3,545 $3,000
Laser Surgery

A MobileUnit $1,500 $ 750

The proposed fees will have a beneficial economic effect on the facilities in that collection of the
fee will allow the State Agency the ability to continue to perform state licensure activities in a
timely manner. State licensure is a condition of federal participation in a hospital, rural hospital,
skilled nursing and nursing facilities, a nursing pool, an intermediate care facility for persons
with mental retardation or persons with developmental disabilities, ambulatory surgery centers,
facilities for the treatment of irreversible renal disease, hospice and home health agencies, (the
ability to be reimbursed for servicing Medicare and Medicaid clients) payment. Increased fees
will ensure that facilities will be able to be reimbursed for serving Medicare and Medicaid clients
in addition to being reimbursed for serving private pay patients and private insurance covered
patients. Adverse and beneficial effects on the public, both immediate and long term: none
identified. The proposed fee will have a beneficial economic effect on the public in that
collection of the fee will allow the State Agency the ability to continue to perform state licensure
activities in a timely manner and the quality of patient care being provided by facilities will
continue to be monitored and complaints investigated.  Additionally, with state licensure
functions being performed, new facilities will be able to be licensed thereby increasing the public
care options. The proposed amendments to the regulation will increase some of the facilities
annual renewa fees to address the projected cost of completing NRS mandated surveys and
priority one and priority two level complaints. There is no duplication or overlap of other state or
local government agency’s regulations. Additionally, there is no overlap or duplication of a
federal agency’ sregulations.

FACILITIESFOR REFRACTIVE LASER SURGERY
Senate Bill 483, passed by the 2001 legidlative session, requires the State Board of Health to
adopt regulations for the licensure of facilities for refractive laser surgery. The bill also requires
that these facilities file a surety bond to provide indemnification to certain patients. The
proposed regulations were developed to meet the requirements of the bill and to set standards for
the regulation of LASIK facilities. The proposed regulations include, in addition to the
requirements for the surety bond, requirements for the administration of the facility, staff
requirements, provisions for patient records, policies and procedures, quality improvement, and
patient services. The proposed regulations also include regulations that govern patient rights,
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safety requirements for equipment and lasers, and regulations for the maintenance of the physical
environment. It is anticipated that there will be a beneficial effect on the businesses covered by
these regulations. Facilities that provide quality service will have the added benefit of licensure
to attest to their compliance with a set standard. Facilities that fall below this standard will be
required to bring their services up to a community standard. The anticipated cost to the facilities
will be the cost of the licensure fees. A small business impact statement is being prepared and
will be distributed at local workshops. There will be an economic impact on Bureau of
Licensure and Certification based on the need for provider education, administrative time for
license application, surveyor time for licensure surveys and complaint investigations. The
proposed regulations do not duplicate the regulations of any other state or federal agency.

ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS

The regulations for Administrative Sanctions have had no revisions since their adoption in 1991.
The revised regulation is needed to improve the enforcement mechanisms in place for medical
facilities and facilities for the dependent. These regulations will alow for improved efficiency in
implementing administrative sanctions and tracking those sanctions. The revised regulations will: i)
Eliminate the mandatory imposition of sanctions for widespread deficiencies that are a potential
harm to arecipient and allow imposition of such to be at the discretion of the agency. ii) Modify the
terms and conditions for monitoring sanctions, alowing for monitoring to take place but not
requiring the specific appointment of a monitor. iii) Add language to clarify sample size for current
recipients, reduce the size of a sample during follow-up surveys, and allow for a sample of one for
complaint investigations while limiting the scope score to alevel of one. iv) Increase the amount of
per-instance monetary penalties. v) Change from four different levels of scope to three levels of
scope when assessing the number of recipients affected by a deficient practice. vi) Change
language to reflect name changes from the federal Health Care Financing Administration to the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and the state Welfare Division to the Division
for Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP). It is anticipated that affected businesses will see a
long-term impact from this modification. Beneficia effects will include a reduction in the numbers
of sanctions issued for deficient practices that are widespread potential for harm. Adverse effects
would be experienced by facilities that do not comply with regulations, particularly causing actual
harm to recipients, who could be subject to higher monetary sanction penalties. Long-term effects
are anticipated for the public through streamlining of agency resources alowing better
implementation of administrative sanctions that will impact on quality of care provided by licensed
providers. The agency does not anticipate an increased cost to implement the proposed regulation
changes. The Bureau of Licensure and Certification has been implementing these regulations for
the past nine years. Adoption of the proposed modifications will improve the agency’s ability to
streamline the imposition of sanctions. These regulations do not overlap other state or loca
regulations. These regulations overlap the regulations of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services that govern enforcement remedies in nursing homes. The existing regulations contain
provisions to impose sanctions that limit occupancy or ban admissions of any recipient. This
regulation is more stringent then the corresponding regulations found in the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services federal enforcement regulations for nursing homes. The federal regulations
provide for the imposition of a ban on payment for new admissions or all admissions for Medicare
or Medicaid recipients. The proposed regulation does not create any new fees. It does establish an
increase in the amount of monetary penalties imposed on a one-time basis.
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FACILITIESFOR TREATMENT WITH NARCOTICS; MEDICATION UNITS

On January 17, 2001, the Federal oversight of Narcotic Treatment Centers was moved from the
Food and Drug Administration to the Substance Abuse and Menta Heath Services
Administration (SAMHSA). The Code of Federa Regulations (CFR) 21, Part 291 was repealed
and replaced by 42 CFR Part 8. This change requires that all Facilities for Treatment with
Narcotics must be certified by the Centers for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) of SAMHSA
in order to provide treatment. The Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 449 regulations
for Facilities for Treatment with Narcotics currently references the repealed section of the Code
of Federal Regulations. The proposed changes to NAC Chapter 449 will change the references to
the repealed CFR and add the newly adopted Code of Federal Regulations. There will be no
economic impact on the Bureau of Licensure and Certification due to the fact that surveys are
already being conducted in these facilities and licensing fees are already in place. There will be
no increase to licensing fees due to the adoption of these proposed changes. The proposed
regulations reference the regulations of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration of Federal government but do not duplicate these regulations. A small business
impact statement is being prepared and will be distributed at public workshops.

Member s of the public may make oral comments at this meeting. Personswishing to submit
written testimony or documentary evidencein excess of two typed, 8-1/2” x 11" pages must submit
thematerial to Shirley A. Rains, Administrative Assistant 1V, no later than April 12, 2002, at the
following address:

Bureau of Licensure and Certification
1550 E. College Parkway, Suite #158
Carson City, Nevada 89706

Members of the public who are disabled and require special accommodations or assistance at the
workshop are to notify Shirley A. Rains, Administrative Assistant 1V, in writing at the Bureau of
Licensure and Certification, 1550 E. College Parkway, Suite 158, Carson City, Nevada 89706, no
later than April 12, 2002.

A copy of this notice and the proposed regulation amendments are on file for inspection at the
following locations during normal business hours:

Bureau of Licensure and Certification, 1550 E. College Pkwy, Suite 158, Carson City, Nevada
(775) 687-4475.

Bureau of Licensure and Certification, 4220 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 810, Las Vegas, Nevada
(702) 486-6515.

Emergency Medical Services, 850 EIm Street, Elko, Nevada (775) 753-1154.

Emergency Medica Services, 100 Frankie, Tonopah, Nevada (775) 482-3722.
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Copies may be obtained in person, by mail, or by calling (775) 687-4475. Copiesare also available
for review at al physical locations of program offices (see above) or the following main public
libraries in each county:

Carson City Library, 900 North Roop St. Carson City, NV 89701

Churchill County Library, 533 S. Main St. Fallon, NV 89406

Clark County Library, 4020 Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas, NV 89119

Douglas County Library, 1625 Library Lane, (PO Box 337) Minden, NV 89423

Elko County Library, 720 Court St. Elko, NV 89801

Goldfield Public Library (Esmeralda Co), Corner of Crook and Ramsey, (PO Box 430) Goldfield, NV
Eureka Branch Library, 10190 Monroe St., Eureka, NV 89316

Humboldt County Library, 85 East 5th St., Winnemucca, NV 89445

Battle Mountain Branch Library (Lander Co.), 6255 Broad St., Battle Mountain, NV 89820
Lincoln County Library, 63 Maine &., (PO Box 330) Pioche, NV 89043

Lyon County Library, 20 Nevin Way, Y erington, NV 89447

Minerad County Library, 125 A ., (PO Box 1390) Hawthorne, NV 89415

Pershing County Library, 125 Central, (PO Box 781) Lovelock, NV 89419

Storey County Library, 95 South R St., (PO Box 14) Virginia City, NV 89440

Tonopah Public Library (Nye Co.), 171 Centra, (PO Box 449) Tonopah, NV 89049
Washoe County Library, 301 South Center St., (PO Box 2151) Reno, NV 89505

White Pine County Library, 950 Campton S., Ely, NV 89301

Per NRS 233B.064(2), upon adoption of any regulations, the agency, if requested to do so by an
interested person, either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, shal issue a concise
statement of the principal reasons for and against its adoption, and incorporate therein its reason for
overruling the consideration urged againgt its adoption.
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PROPOSED REGULATION OF THEHEALTH DIVISION
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

These amendments were brought before the public during workshopsin Las Vegas on April 24,
and Reno on April 25, 2002. Additional workshops are planned for July 22, 2002. It is planned
that they will come before the State Board of Health at its August 16, 2002, meeting.

EXPLANATION — Matter italicized is new; matter in brackets fomitted-material} is material to
be omitted.

AUTHORITY: 881 and 2, NRS 439.150 and 449.037.
Section 1. NAC 449.013 is hereby amended to read as follows:

NAC 449.013 License and renewal feesto operate ambulatory surgical center, facility for
treatment of irreversible renal disease, home office or subunit agency of home health
agency, branch office of home health agency, rural clinic, obstetric center, program of
hospice care, independent center for emergency medical care, nursing pool, facility for
treatment with nar cotics, medication unit and referral agency; expiration of application for
license. (NRS 439.150, 449.0305, 449.037, 449.038, 449.050, 449.150)

1. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 449.0168, an applicant for a license to operate any
of the following medical facilities, programs of hospice care or agencies must pay to the health

division the following nonrefundabl e fees:

(8) Anambulatory SUrgiCal CENLEN.........ueiiieiecese e $1200
(b) A facility for the treatment of irreversible renal disease..........ccoceeeveiiriennne 3200} 1530
(c) A home office or subunit agency of a home health agency..........c.cccceuenee. 4200} 1980
(d) A branch office of ahome health agency...........cccoceevveeiicie e, 500} 1040
(E) A TUFAl ClINIC...uiiii ettt e e 5200} 1590
(T) AN OBDSLEIITC CENTEN ...ttt sb e 1,200
(g) A program Of NOSPICE CAre.........cvveveiiesiee e 4200} 1450
(h) An independent center for emergency medical care..........cccceveevveciecierieennene, 4200} 1330
(1) A NUISING POOI ...ttt e eesreesaeeneesneenreas 56} 1440
(J) A facility for treatment With NArCOLICS........couririreieeresee e #5061} 1270
(O TR AN 1.07=: [ o= o] T 11 S 500
7.
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(1) A referral AQBNCY ......cooeiieeee et 56} 1340

(m) A hafway house for recovering alcohol and drug abusers ...........ccceeerereeennens [506} 1160
(n) A facility for refractive |aser SUFQENY......oocveiie e 3545
(0) A MODITE UNIT...ieieeee bbbttt b et nesnenre s 1500

2. Anapplicant for the renewal of such alicense must pay to the health division the
following nonrefundable fees:

(@) Anambulatory SUrgiCal CENLEN........c.cveieiiereeieeie s esee s e ee e ste et eee e e naeenneas $600
(b) A facility for the treatment of irreversible renal disease..........cccooeevvvevveciecneenee. [600} 765
(c) A home office or subunit agency of a home health agency..........ccccocvneiininncns [600} 990
(d) A branch office of ahomehealth.............coooiiiii e, }206} 520
(E) A TUFAl ClINIC..cuieiieie ettt e esreesne e e eneenreenes [600} 795
I AY 0] 0= = oo = o1 S 600
(9) A program Of NOSPICE CAre ......cc.eeeiieeieeeeeeeee e e [600} 725
(h) Anindependent center for emergency medical Care..........ccooovvrererieieneseneneens [6006} 665
(2N 0 = T o oo o S [6006} 720
(j) A facility for treatment With NArCOLICS........ccvieeiieieceecece e [600} 635
(K) A MEAICALION UNIT.....cueiieiieitieie ettt b et be s et esreenbe et e s neenae e 100
() A TEFEITAl BOBNCY ....cveeeiierie ettt e e nenre s }606} 670
(m) A halfway house for recovering alcohol and drug abusers...........ccccoeverereneee 366} 580
(n) A facility for refractive laser surgery 3000
(o) A mobile unit 750

3. An application for alicense is valid for 1 year after the date on which the application is
submitted. If an applicant does not meet the requirements for licensure imposed by chapter 449
of NRS or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto within 1 year after the date on which he
submits his application, he must submit a new application and pay the required fee to be
considered for licensure.

Section 2. NAC 449.016 is hereby amended to read as follows:

449.016 1. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 449.0168, an applicant for a license to
operate any of the following facilities must pay to the health division the following
nonrefundable fees:
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Fee Fee per

per bed in the
facility facility
(@) A skilled nursing faCility..........coveeierierenieeee e $[4,200} 2,200  $[75} 90
(b) A hospital, other than arural hospital.............ccccoevvvvneeenn e f5;006} 10,000 774 90
(C) A rural hOSPItal........ccceieeieceesee e #5601 1500 {45} 90
(d) An intermediate care facility for the mentally
retarded or persons with developmental disabilities...........ccocovvevieeiinenen e 50} 1250 56} 80

(e) Anintermediate care facility, other than an
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded or

persons with developmental disabilities...................coo oo 0. 1,200 175190

(f) A residentia facility fOr roUPS........ ..o [500} 800 {56} 190
(g) A facility for the treatment of abuse of alcohol or drugs..........cccceeevveenennn. 500 50
(h) A facility for NOSPICE Care........cvevveecieieee e e e [4:200} 1450 {56} 90
(i) A home for individual residential Care.............ccceoveveeveiieeniciesieie e o0} 710 {56} 70
() A facility for modified medical detoxification...........cccccevereeneeinnnen. {5001 660 {56} 90
2. An applicant for the renewal of such alicense must pay to the health division the following
nonrefundable fees:
Fee Fee per
per bed in the
facility facility
(@ A skilled NUrSING faCility........ccoceveeiieeeecec e e, $1,100 $E751 45
(b) A hospital , other than arura hospital...........ccccccevevvvvvcencee e enn .. ...5,000 FA45
(C) A rural hoSPItal..........cccueiieiiecece e e 750 45

(d) An intermediate care facility for the mentally

retarded or persons with developmental disabilities............cc.ccecveeeen........}606} 625 {35} 40
(e) Anintermediate care facility, other than an

intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded or

persons with developmental disabilities.........ccccceeiiiiiccic e ....600 - 751 45
(f) A residential facility fOr QroupsS..........ccceovererenerenineeeeee e e {366} 400 {35} 95
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(9) A facility for the treatment of abuse of alcohol or drugs..........cccceveeeeennnnnn. 300 35

(h) A facility for NOSPICE CaAr€........ccveeeeeeie et [eoe} 725 |35} 45
(i) A home for individual residential Care...........ccccevveevercereereesece e 06} 355 35} 135
() A facility for modified medical detoxification..............ccceeveveeiieieenen, 1300} 330 [35} 45

3. An application for alicense is valid for 1 year after the date on which the application is
submitted. If an applicant does not meet the requirements for licensure imposed by chapter 449
of NRS or the regulations adopted pursuant thereto within 1 year after the date on which he
submits his application, he must submit a new application and pay the required fee to be
considered for licensure.

Section 3. NAC 449.0168 is hereby amended to read as follows:

449.0168 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a holder of alicense to operate a
medical facility, facility for the dependent, program of hospice care, fer} referral agency, or
mobile unit who wishes or is required pursuant to NAC 449.190, 449.307, 449.7473 or 449.758
to modify hislicense to reflect:

(a) A change in the name of the facility, program or agency;

(b) A change of the administrator of the facility, program or agency;

(c) A change in the number of bedsin the facility;

(d) A changein the type of facility licensed or the addition of another type of facility to be
licensed; or

(e) A changein the category of residents who may reside at the facility, or

(f) A changein the designation of a staging area for a mobile unit or, if the mobile unit is
operated by an independent facility, a change in the address of the independent facility,
must submit an application for anew license to the health division and pay to the health division
afee of ${260} 200.

2. An applicant who applies for alicense pursuant to paragraph (c) of subsection 1 because of
an increase in the number of bedsin the facility must pay to the health division:

(a) A fee of ${466} 200; and

(b) A feefor each additional bed in the facility of:

(1) If thefacility isan intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded
or persons with developmental disabilities $F56} 80
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(2) If thefacility isaresidential facility for groups 56} 190

(3) If thefacility isafacility for the treatment of abuse of alcohol or drugs 50
(4) If thefacility isafacility for hospice care 56} 90
(5) If thefacility is ahome for individual residential care or {56} 270
(6) If thefacility isafacility for modified medical detoxification 561 90
(F2}7) If thefacility iIS@NOSPITAL........ccoeiieeeieee e e F4 90
(F318) If the facility isarural hospital..........ccceeeeieeieiiereccee e e e F45} 90

(4) If the facility isa skilled nursing facility or an intermediate care facility,

other than an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded or persons with
developmental diSaIITIES........coiiiee e 51 90

3. If the address of the home office of a home health agency has not changed, a holder of a
license to operate a subunit agency or branch office of the home health agency who wishesor is
required pursuant to NAC 449.758 to modify his license to reflect a change in the address of the
subunit agency or branch office of the home health agency must:

(a) Submit an application for a new license to the health division; and

(b) Pay to the health division afee of ${160} 200.

4. A fee paid pursuant to this section is nonrefundable.

5. Asused in this section, “administrator” means the person who is responsible for the daily

management of a medical facility, facility for the dependent or program of hospice care.
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