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Effective July 5, 2002 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§1 and 3-25, NRS 679B.130; §2, NRS 679B.130 and 683A.251. 
 

 Section 1.  Chapter 683A of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set 

forth as sections 2 and 3 of this regulation. 

 Sec. 2.  1.  An applicant for a license as a resident producer of insurance must: 

 (a) Request a copy of a search concerning him conducted by the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation in its national criminal records, and of a search concerning him of the central 

repository for Nevada records of criminal history; 

 (b) Comply with the procedures for obtaining the information required in this subsection 

that are established by the Nevada highway patrol division of the department of public safety 

in NRS 179A.075 to 179A.160, inclusive, and pay the applicable fees established by the 

Nevada highway patrol division; and 

 (c) Request the Nevada highway patrol division to mail the information obtained pursuant 

to this subsection directly to the division. 

 2.  The commissioner may issue a license as a resident producer of insurance before the 

information obtained pursuant to subsection 1 is received if the applicant: 

 (a) Indicates and certifies on his application for a license that he has no criminal history; 

and 
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 (b) Provides evidence of the request for a copy of the searches required pursuant to 

subsection 1 by furnishing a copy of the receipt obtained from the Nevada highway patrol 

division or other documentation that shows proof of the request. 

 Sec. 3.  1.  If a licensee as a producer of insurance does not request renewal of his 

license or pay the fee for renewal required pursuant to subsection 5 of NRS 680B.010 and the 

fee of $15 for deposit in the insurance recovery account required pursuant to subsection 2 of 

NRS 683A.261 on or before the due date for renewal, the licensee will have a 30-day grace 

period after the due date for renewal to make such a request and pay the fees required 

pursuant to subsection 2 before the license will expire. 

 2.  A licensee who requests renewal of a license after the due date for renewal but within 

the 30-day grace period after the due date for renewal pursuant to subsection 1 must pay: 

 (a) The fee for renewal required pursuant to subsection 5 of NRS 680B.010; 

 (b) The fee of $15 for deposit in the insurance recovery account required pursuant to 

subsection 2 of NRS 683A.261; and 

 (c) The penalty fee of twice the renewal fee required pursuant to subsection 3 of NRS 

683A.261. 

 3.  If a licensee does not request renewal of a license or pay the fees required pursuant to 

subsection 2 before the expiration of the 30-day grace period after the due date for renewal, 

the license will expire. If the licensee requests renewal of such a license after the 30-day grace 

period, but within 12 months after the due date for renewal, the licensee must reapply for the 

same license and pay the penalty of twice the unpaid renewal fee required pursuant to 

subsection 3 of NRS 683A.261. 

 Sec. 4.  NAC 683A.170 is hereby amended to read as follows: 
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 683A.170  1.  NAC 683A.170 to 683A.261, inclusive, do not apply to: 

 (a) A person applying for a nonresident license. 

 (b) A person exempted from the requirement of taking the licensing examination by NRS 

[683A.180 and 683A.190.] 683A.291. 

 (c) A person who has been employed by an insurer for at least 10 years and has been actively 

involved in the underwriting of insurance or settling claims. 

 (d) A person with at least 10 years’ current experience as a licensed insurance [agent.] 

producer. For the purposes of this [subsection,] paragraph, “current” means active employment 

as [an agent] a producer of insurance within the last 15 years. 

 (e) A person who: 

  (1) Pursuant to NAC 683A.325, is subject to the provisions of NAC 683A.320 to 

683A.370, inclusive; and 

  (2) Successfully completes, within the 12 months immediately preceding his application 

for a license, 30 hours of continuing education in courses approved by the division pursuant to 

NAC 683A.320 to 683A.370, inclusive. 

 2.  A person claiming that he is exempt from the requirements of NAC 683A.170 to 

683A.261, inclusive, pursuant to: 

 (a) Paragraph (c) of subsection 1 must submit to the division: 

  (1) A written claim of exemption; and 

  (2) Documentation from the insurer by which he has been employed indicating that he has 

met the requirements of that paragraph. 

 (b) Paragraph (d) of subsection 1 must submit to the division: 

  (1) A written claim of exemption; and 
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  (2) Documentation from the entity by which he has been licensed indicating that he has 

met the requirements of that paragraph. 

 Sec. 5.  NAC 683A.180 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.180  In addition to the requirements of chapter 683A of NRS, an applicant for a 

license to act as [an insurance agent, broker or solicitor] a producer of insurance or an 

insurance consultant for: 

 1.  Life insurance, including annuities; 

 2.  Accident and health insurance; 

 3.  Property insurance; 

 4.  Casualty insurance; [or] 

 5.  Personal lines; or 

 6.  Any combination of those types of insurance, 

must complete, with a final grade of at least 70 percent, a course of instruction approved by the 

commissioner for the line of insurance for which he is applying for a license. The course must 

have been completed within the 2 years immediately preceding the date of his application for the 

license. 

 Sec. 6.  NAC 683A.221 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.221  A course must consist of at least 5 hours of instruction in the classroom in the 

provisions of Title 57 of NRS and the regulations adopted pursuant to those provisions, at least 

one-half of which must cover the laws and regulations common to all lines of insurance, and: 

 1.  For a course in life insurance, at least 20 hours of instruction in the classroom or the 

equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, covering: 

 (a) Principles and concepts of insurance in general; 

FLUSH 



 

--5-- 
Adopted Regulation R172-01 

 (b) Basic principles and concepts of life insurance; 

 (c) The contract for life insurance and provisions of the policy; 

 (d) Classifications and types of life insurance; 

 (e) Annuities; 

 (f) The ethical responsibilities of the [agent;] producer; 

 (g) The organization of the business of life insurance; and 

 (h) Regulation by the government. 

 2.  For a course in accident and health insurance, at least 20 hours of instruction in the 

classroom or the equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, 

covering: 

 (a) Principles and concepts of insurance in general; 

 (b) Basic principles and concepts of accident and health insurance; 

 (c) The contract for accident and health insurance and provisions of the policy; 

 (d) Accident and health insurance offered by private companies; 

 (e) Accident and health insurance offered by a governmental entity; 

 (f) Types of policies and coverage for accident and health insurance; 

 (g) Group insurance and plans of special insurance; 

 (h) The ethical responsibilities of the [agent;] producer; and 

 (i) Regulation by the government. 

 3.  For a course in property insurance, at least 20 hours of instruction in the classroom or the 

equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, covering: 

 (a) Principles and concepts of insurance in general; 

 (b) Basic principles and concepts of property and casualty insurance; 
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 (c) The contract for property insurance and provisions of the policy; 

 (d) Types of policies and coverage for property insurance; 

 (e) The ethical responsibilities of the [agent;] producer; 

 (f) The organization of the business of property insurance; and 

 (g) Regulation by the government. 

 4.  For a course in casualty insurance, at least 20 hours of instruction in the classroom or the 

equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, covering: 

 (a) Principles and concepts of insurance in general; 

 (b) Basic principles and concepts of property and casualty insurance; 

 (c) The contract for casualty insurance and provisions of the policy; 

 (d) Insurance to protect against liability; 

 (e) Automobile insurance; 

 (f) Workers’ compensation and employers’ liability insurance; 

 (g) Fidelity insurance, surety bonds and other types of casualty insurance; 

 (h) The ethical responsibilities of the [agent;] producer; 

 (i) The organization of the business of casualty insurance; and 

 (j) Regulation by the government. 

 5.  For a course in a combination of life and health insurance or property and casualty 

insurance, at least 30 hours of instruction in the classroom or the equivalent in a self-study 

course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, covering all the subjects required for each of those 

separate lines of insurance. 
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 6.  For a course in all lines of insurance, at least 60 hours of instruction in the classroom or 

the equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, covering the 

subjects required for each separate line of insurance. 

 7.  For a course in personal lines insurance, at least 15 hours of instruction in the 

classroom or the equivalent in a self-study course approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211, 

covering the subjects of property and casualty dealing with personal lines insurance. 

 Sec. 7.  NAC 683A.270 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.270  An applicant for a license as [an agent, broker or solicitor] a producer of 

insurance or an insurance consultant must attain an adjusted score of 80 or more points on the 

appropriate licensing examination in order to pass the examination. 

 Sec. 8.  NAC 683A.275 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.275  1.  A person licensed as a short-term lessor of passenger vehicles pursuant to 

NRS 482.363 must be licensed as a limited [agent] producer pursuant to paragraph (k) of 

subsection 1 of NRS [683A.260] 683A.261 before engaging in the sale or solicitation of policies 

of insurance requested by short-term lessees of passenger vehicles. 

 2.  Each short-term lessor of passenger vehicles [licensed pursuant to NRS 683A.260] shall 

provide training for each employee who will solicit or sell policies of insurance to short-term 

lessees. The training must include instruction relating to: 

 (a) The policies of insurance that will be offered for sale to short-term lessees; 

 (b) Ethical practices concerning the sale of policies of insurance; and 

 (c) The sales materials and disclosures provided to short-term lessees. 

 3.  The manager of each location of a short-term lessor of passenger vehicles is responsible 

for the supervision of each employee who solicits or sells policies of insurance at that location. 
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 4.  A short-term lessor of passenger vehicles shall maintain the following records for at least 

5 years: 

 (a) A copy of the instructional materials used to train employees pursuant to subsection 2; 

 (b) A list that includes the name of each manager who is responsible for the supervision of 

employees pursuant to subsection 3; 

 (c) A list that includes the name of each employee who is authorized by the short-term lessor 

to solicit or sell policies of insurance to short-term lessees; and 

 (d) Proof that each such employee has completed the training required by subsection 2. 

 5.  A short-term lessor of passenger vehicles shall make the records required by subsection 4 

available for examination by the commissioner or his designee upon request. 

 Sec. 9.  NAC 683A.310 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.310  Where the license and agency contract of the original writing [agent] producer 

are terminated, and a mutual agreement between the company and [agent] producer is made, the 

[agent] producer may collect and forward future installment premium payments to the company 

on a net basis. 

 Sec. 10.  NAC 683A.315 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.315  1.  A bank licensed by the commissioner to sell annuities shall disclose to its 

customers that the annuities sold by the bank: 

 (a) Are not insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; 

 (b) Are not obligations of the bank; 

 (c) Are not guaranteed by the bank; and 

 (d) Involve investment risks, including the possible loss of principal. 

 2.  The disclosure must be: 
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 (a) Printed on or attached to each policy or advertisement for the sale of an annuity which is 

provided by the bank to its customers; and 

 (b) Printed in at least 10-point type. 

 3.  A bank which fails to comply with the provisions of this section is subject to disciplinary 

action by the commissioner pursuant to NRS [683A.450 to 683A.490,] 683A.451 to 683A.490, 

inclusive. 

 Sec. 11.  NAC 683A.317 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.317  [The commissioner may require an insurer to submit the annual report required 

pursuant to NRS 683A.280 on a computer disk in a format specified by the commissioner.] 

 1.  Pursuant to subsection 4 of NRS 683A.321, an insurer shall annually renew each 

appointment of a producer of insurance who acts as his agent. An appointment as a producer 

expires on June 30 of each year beginning June 30, 2002. 

 2.  Before June 30, 2002, each insurer shall verify that the records of the insurer and 

those of the division are the same. Verification can be made: 

 (a) Electronically through a vendor that provides information concerning appointments of 

producers of insurance; or 

 (b) By written request to the division and payment of the appropriate fee. 

 3.  The division shall send an invoice to each insurer before July 1 of each year for all 

appointments that are active on the database of the division as of June 30. The insurer shall 

return the invoice to the division with full payment of the requested amount to renew the 

appointments. Any insurer who disputes the amount of the invoice must file a written 

complaint with the division that explains the reason why the insurer disagrees with the fee. 
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The division will not issue a refund, but the division may issue a credit, if a discrepancy is the 

result of an error made by the division. 

 Sec. 12.  NAC 683A.325 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.325  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the provisions of NAC 

683A.320 to 683A.370, inclusive, apply to a person who: 

 (a) Holds a license as [an agent, a broker or solicitor] a producer of insurance issued 

pursuant to chapter 683A of NRS [;] or an insurance consultant issued pursuant to chapter 

683C of NRS; and 

 (b) Engages in the business of insurance. 

 2.  The provisions of NAC 683A.320 to 683A.370, inclusive, do not apply to a person who 

holds: 

 (a) A limited license issued pursuant to NRS [683A.260;] 683A.261; or 

 (b) A license as a nonresident [agent or a nonresident broker.] producer of insurance or a 

nonresident insurance consultant. 

 Sec. 13.  NAC 683A.330 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.330  1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, to renew a license as [an agent, 

broker or solicitor,] a producer of insurance or an insurance consultant, each licensee must 

certify that he has successfully completed 30 hours of approved continuing education within the 

3-year period before the date of renewal . [of his oldest active license as an agent, broker or 

solicitor.] The hours of continuing education must be related to the line or lines of insurance for 

which the licensee holds such a license. 

 2.  The commissioner will exempt a licensee from the requirements for continuing education 

if the licensee certifies that: 
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 (a) He has earned and continues to maintain his designation as a chartered property casualty 

underwriter (CPCU), chartered life underwriter (CLU), certified insurance counselor (CIC), 

certified financial planner (CFP) or chartered financial consultant (ChFC); or 

 (b) He has 20 years of continuous experience and has earned his primary source of income in 

the business of insurance by selling, marketing, underwriting, adjusting, practicing law, 

managing or regulating, or engaging in any combination of these fields of insurance. 

 3.  The certification required by subsection 1 or 2 must be submitted to the commissioner in 

an affidavit approved by the commissioner. 

 Sec. 14.  NAC 683A.335 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.335  1.  Any person who requests approval for a course for continuing education shall 

furnish to the commissioner at least 60 days before the beginning of the course: 

 (a) An outline of the subject matter; 

 (b) The method of presentation; 

 (c) The qualifications of the instructor; 

 (d) The number of classroom hours or, if for a correspondence course or self-study course, 

the equivalent of classroom hours, and a written procedure for conducting a supervised final 

examination; and 

 (e) Any other information required by the commissioner. 

 2.  Submission of the information required by subsection 1 must be on an application 

approved by the commissioner. 

 3.  The course must be designed to increase the knowledge and understanding of the licensee 

of: 

 (a) Principles and coverage of insurance; 
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 (b) Applicable laws, rules and regulations concerning insurance; 

 (c) Recent changes in coverages; and 

 (d) The duties, ethics and responsibilities of the licensee. 

 4.  The commissioner will not approve a course that: 

 (a) Is provided by [an insurance agent] a producer of insurance or an agency licensed to sell 

insurance in this state unless the producer of insurance [agent] or agency is a trade association of 

the insurance industry; or 

 (b) Teaches: 

  (1) Prelicensing training; 

  (2) Motivation or psychology; 

  (3) Marketing; 

  (4) Prospecting; 

  (5) Recruiting; 

  (6) Sales; 

  (7) Computer applications that are unrelated to insurance; 

  (8) Skills for communication; or 

  (9) The management of personnel or of an office. 

The provisions of this subsection do not limit the authority of the commissioner to refuse to 

approve a course for noncompliance with any other provision of NAC 683A.320 to 683A.370, 

inclusive. 

 5.  The commissioner will not approve a course if the total number of classroom hours is less 

than [2 hours or more than 30 hours.] 1 hour. One hour of credit will be awarded for each 50 

minutes of instruction, or the equivalent in self-study approved pursuant to NAC 683A.211. 

FLUSH 
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 6.  The commissioner will grant or deny approval of each course in writing within 60 days 

after he receives the information required pursuant to subsection 1. 

 7.  Any material change in the content of a course approved by the commissioner must be 

submitted for approval before presentation of the course. 

 8.  A course that has been approved by the commissioner is not required to be approved for 

any subsequent presentation of the course, except that the provider of the course shall submit a 

notice to the commissioner, not later than 30 days before the course is offered, that includes the 

following information: 

 (a) The name and number of the course; 

 (b) The name of the instructor of the course; 

 (c) The place where the course will be offered; and 

 (d) The date and time when the course will be offered. 

 Sec. 15.  NAC 683A.370 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.370  1.  The division will not: 

 (a) Renew the license of a licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of NAC 

683A.320 to 683A.370, inclusive; or 

 (b) Issue any license to a licensee until he complies with the requirements of NAC 683A.320 

to 683A.370, inclusive. 

 2.  Any person who submits a false or fraudulent affidavit that certifies his compliance with 

the requirements of NAC 683A.320 to 683A.370, inclusive, shall be deemed to have: 

 (a) Violated a regulation for the purposes of [paragraph (b) of] subsection 1 of NRS 

[683A.450;] 683A.451; 
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 (b) Made a material misrepresentation in application for a license for the purposes of 

[paragraph (c) of] subsection 1 or 3 of NRS [683A.450;] 683A.451; and 

 (c) Proven himself untrustworthy for the purposes of [paragraph (g) of subsection 1] 

subsection 8 of NRS [683A.450.] 683A.451. 

 Sec. 16.  NAC 683A.390 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.390  As used in NAC 683A.390 to 683A.440, inclusive, “licensee” includes any 

person licensed by the commissioner, including [agents, brokers, solicitors,] producers of 

insurance, surplus lines brokers, motor club agents, bail bondsmen and administrators. 

 Sec. 17.  NAC 683A.420 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.420  The commissioner will use the following formula to determine the status of a 

fiduciary account: 

 1.  From the total of the gross accounts receivable from insureds the commissioner will 

deduct any uncollected commissions remaining in the accounts receivable then add the total of 

the deposits in all accounts identified as trust accounts. The commissioner will use the average 

rate for commissions to determine the uncollected commissions. 

 2.  The commissioner will add the net accounts payable to [insurers, agents, and brokers] 

producers of insurance to the sum of all accounts receivable which are more than 90 days old. 

 3.  If the total in subsection 2 is greater than the total in subsection 1, the account has a 

deficit. 

 Sec. 18.  NAC 683A.430 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.430  1.  Any person having a deficit in his fiduciary account, as measured pursuant to 

NAC 683A.420, must cure the deficiency within 5 days after receiving notice of the deficiency 

from the commissioner by: 
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 (a) Depositing an amount equal to the deficiency in his trust account; and 

 (b) Sending a written explanation for the deficiency to the commissioner. 

 2.  The commissioner will consider any person who fails to cure a deficiency in the fiduciary 

account pursuant to subsection 1, to be financially irresponsible pursuant to subsection [1] 8 of 

NRS [683A.450.] 683A.451. 

 Sec. 19.  NAC 683A.440 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.440  The commissioner will consider any person who fails to remit a return premium 

to the person to whom it is owed within 30 days after receiving the return premium: 

 1.  To have violated the provisions of NRS 683A.400; and 

 2.  To be financially irresponsible pursuant to subsection [1] 4 of NRS [683A.450.] 

683A.451. 

 Sec. 20.  NAC 683A.450 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.450  As used in NAC 683A.450 to 683A.560, inclusive, unless the context otherwise 

requires: 

 1.  “Actuary” means a person who is a member in good standing of the American Academy 

of Actuaries. 

 2.  “Insurer” means a person who holds a certificate of authority in this state pursuant to 

NRS 680A.060. 

 3.  “Managing general agent”: 

 (a) Means a person who adjusts or pays claims in excess of an amount prescribed by the 

commissioner or negotiates the sale of reinsurance on behalf of the insurer [and:] or: 

  (1) Manages all or part of the business of an insurer, including a division, department or 

underwriting office; 
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  (2) Acts as an agent for the insurer regardless of his title; and 

  (3) Produces and underwrites direct written premiums equal to 5 percent or more of the 

surplus of the insurer for any [one] 1 year or quarter reported in the last annual statement filed by 

the insurer pursuant to the provisions of NRS 680A.270. 

 (b) Does not include a person: 

  (1) Who is an employee of the insurer; 

  (2) Who is a manager located in the United States of a branch located in the United States 

of an alien insurer; or 

  (3) Whose compensation is based on a criteria other than the volume of premiums written 

and who has underwriting authority, manages all of the insurance and is an affiliate of the 

insurer. As used in this subparagraph, “affiliate” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 

692C.030. 

 4.  “Underwrite” means the authority to assume or reject risks on behalf of the insurer. 

 Sec. 21.  NAC 683A.460 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.460   A managing general agent: 

 1.  Shall not represent an insurer in this state unless he holds a license issued by this state as 

[: 

 (a) An agent; 

 (b) A nonresident agent; 

 (c) A broker; or 

 (d) A nonresident broker.] a producer of insurance. 

 2.  Shall maintain a bond for $50,000 and may maintain a policy that covers any errors and 

omissions of the managing general agent. 
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 Sec. 22.  NAC 683A.530 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.530  A managing general agent shall not: 

 1.  Commit the insurer to participate in an insurance or reinsurance syndicate. 

 2.  Appoint [an agent] a producer of insurance who is not licensed by this state as [an agent] 

a producer for the type of insurance for which he is appointed. 

 3.  Without the prior approval of the insurer: 

 (a) Pay or commit the insurer to pay a claim over an amount specified by the insurer, net of 

reinsurance, which exceeds 1 percent of the policyholder’s surplus of the insurer on December 

31 of the prior calendar year. 

 (b) Collect a payment from a reinsurer or commit the insurer to a claim settlement with a 

reinsurer without the prior approval of the insurer. If the approval is given by the insurer, the 

managing general agent shall promptly submit a report of the transaction to the insurer. 

 4.  Allow a person who is an agent of the managing general agent to serve on the board of 

directors of the managing general agent. 

 5.  Employ a person who is an employee of the insurer. 

 6.  Delegate any duty imposed on him by the provisions of NAC 683A.470 to 683A.530, 

inclusive. 

 7.  Bind reinsurance or retrocessions on behalf of the insurer. The managing general agent 

may bind facultative reinsurance contracts under obligatory facultative agreements if his contract 

with the insurer contains reinsurance underwriting guidelines including, for both reinsurance 

assumed and ceded: 

 (a) A list of reinsurers with which such automatic agreements are in effect; 

 (b) The coverages and amounts or percentages that may be reinsured; and 
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 (c) Schedules for commissions. 

 Sec. 23.  NAC 683A.540 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 683A.540  1.  The insurer shall file with the division, in a form approved by the 

commissioner, an independent financial examination of each managing general agent with which 

it has done business. 

 2.  If a managing general agent establishes loss reserves, the insurer shall obtain annually the 

opinion of an actuary attesting to the adequacy of the loss reserves established for losses incurred 

and on the outstanding business produced by the managing general agent. This opinion must be 

made separately from any other required loss reserve certification. 

 3.  The insurer shall, at least once every 6 months, conduct an on-site review of the 

operations of the managing general agent for underwriting and processing claims. 

 4.  An officer of the insurer, who is not affiliated with the managing general agent, must 

have binding authority for all reinsurance contracts or for the insurer’s participation in insurance 

or reinsurance syndicates. 

 5.  Within 30 days after appointing or terminating the contract of a managing general agent, 

the insurer shall provide written notice to the commissioner. Notices of appointment of a 

managing general agent must include a statement of the duties that he will perform for the 

insurer, the lines of insurance for which he is to be authorized to act, and any other information 

requested by the commissioner. 

 6.  At least once every 3 months, an insurer shall review its books and records to determine 

if any [agent or broker] producer of insurance has become a managing general agent. If the 

insurer determines that the person has become a managing general agent, the insurer shall 

promptly notify that person and the commissioner of the determination. The insurer and the 
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person must comply with the provisions of NAC 683A.470 to 683A.550, inclusive, within 30 

days after such a determination by the insurer. 

 7.  An insurer shall not appoint to its board of directors an officer, director, employee or 

controlling shareholder of its managing general agents. This subsection does not apply to 

relationships governed by chapter 692C of NRS. 

 Sec. 24.  NAC 692A.030 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 692A.030  1.  A written application for a title agent’s or escrow officer’s license must be 

filed with the commissioner by the person applying for the license, accompanied by the 

applicable fee. The application must include the following: 

 (a) The name of the person applying for a license. 

 (b) Evidence that he is a bona fide resident of this state or resides not more than 50 miles 

from the border of this state. 

 (c) The name and address of each of his employers for at least 2 years immediately preceding 

the application. 

 [(c)] (d) A description of his experience relating to title insurance or escrow and evidence of 

his knowledge of the laws of this state pertaining to insurance. 

 [(d)] (e) A statement whether: 

  (1) The person is or was previously licensed to transact the business of insurance or to 

handle escrows, settlements or closings, and if so, where he was licensed and whether that 

license was ever suspended or revoked or the renewal of continuance of it refused; 

  (2) The person has even been denied such a license; and 

  (3) The person has ever had a contract as an agent or escrow officer canceled and, if so, 

the reasons for that cancellation. 
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 [(e)] (f) Any other information reasonably required by the commissioner to determine the 

person’s qualifications for the license. 

 2.  The application must be verified by the person applying for the license. 

 Sec. 25.  NAC 616B.605, 683A.084, 683A.372, 683A.374, 683A.376, 683A.378, 

683A.380, 683A.382, 683A.384, 683A.386, 683A.388 and 683C.130 are hereby repealed. 

 

 

 

TEXT OF REPEALED SECTIONS 

 

 

 

 616B.605  Solicitor’s permit:  Course in industrial insurance required.  A person who 

has been issued a solicitor’s permit pursuant to NRS 616B.377 shall not advertise or offer for 

sale in this state any policies or memberships or solicit or receive any money, subscriptions, 

applications, premiums, assessments, memberships or any other fee or charge in connection with 

a proposed association of self-insured public or private employers unless he has completed a 

course in industrial insurance that satisfies the requirements of NAC 683A.380 to 683A.386, 

inclusive. 

 683A.084  “Bank holding company” defined. 

 1.  “Bank holding company” means: 

 (a) Any company: 
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  (1) Which directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds at least 25 percent of the voting 

stock of each of two or more banks; 

  (2) Which controls the election of a majority of the directors of each of two or more 

banks; or 

  (3) Which holds by one or more trustees, for its own benefit or the benefit of its 

stockholders, at least 25 percent of the voting stock of each of two or more banks; or 

 (b) Any bank: 

  (1) Which directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds at least 25 percent of the voting 

stock of one or more banks other than itself; or 

  (2) Which controls the election of a majority of the directors of one or more banks other 

than itself. 

 2.  A bank is not a bank holding company if its ownership or control of stock is in a fiduciary 

capacity unless the stock is held for the benefit of the bank or its officers or directors. 

 3.  The term bank holding company is limited to one which controls a bank authorized in this 

state to accept demand deposits. 

 683A.372  “Industrial insurance” defined.  As used in NAC 683A.372 to 683A.388, 

inclusive, unless the context otherwise requires, “industrial insurance” means insurance which 

provides the compensation required by chapters 616A to 617, inclusive, of NRS and employer’s 

liability insurance incidental to and provided in connection with that insurance. 

 683A.374  Applicability of provisions.  NAC 683A.372 to 683A.388, inclusive, do not 

apply to an agent, broker or solicitor who is a resident of another state if the other state where the 

agent, broker or solicitor resides does not require an agent, broker or solicitor of this state to 
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complete a course in industrial insurance before the agent, broker or solicitor of this state may 

transact industrial insurance in that state. 

 683A.376  Requirements to transact industrial insurance.  Except as otherwise provided 

in NAC 683A.374, before an agent, broker or solicitor may transact industrial insurance in this 

state, the agent, broker or solicitor must: 

 1.  Be licensed to transact casualty insurance in this state; and 

 2.  Complete a course in industrial insurance approved by the commissioner. 

 683A.378  Certificate of completion required. 

 1.  Before transacting industrial insurance in this state for an insurer or an agent, an agent, 

broker or solicitor must furnish to that insurer or agent a copy of the original certificate of 

completion issued pursuant to NAC 683A.382 for the course in industrial insurance approved by 

the commissioner that the agent, broker or solicitor successfully completed. 

 2.  The agent, broker or solicitor shall retain the original certificate of completion furnished 

pursuant to subsection 1. 

 3.  An insurer or agent shall not accept an application for industrial insurance from an agent, 

broker or solicitor unless the insurer or agent has verified, by examining a copy of the certificate 

of completion, that the agent, broker or solicitor has successfully completed a course in industrial 

insurance approved by the commissioner. The insurer or agent shall retain a copy of the 

certificate of completion.  

 4.  The failure of an agent, broker or solicitor to provide verification of credits for a course in 

industrial insurance approved by the commissioner is evidence that the agent, broker or solicitor 

did not complete the required course. 
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 683A.380  Requirements and application for course; approval of course; changes in 

content. 

 1.  A person who requests approval for a course in industrial insurance shall furnish to the 

commissioner at least 60 days before the beginning of the course: 

 (a) An outline of the subject matter; 

 (b) The method of presentation; 

 (c) The qualifications of the instructor; 

 (d) The number of classroom hours; and 

 (e) Any other information required by the commissioner. 

 2.  The information required pursuant to subsection 1 must be submitted on an application 

approved by the commissioner. 

 3.  The course must be designed to increase the knowledge and understanding of the student 

of: 

 (a) Principles and coverage of industrial insurance; 

 (b) Applicable laws, rules and regulations concerning industrial insurance; 

 (c) Recent changes in coverages; and 

 (d) The duties, ethics and responsibilities of the student concerning industrial insurance. 

 4.  The commissioner will not approve a course unless: 

 (a) The total number of classroom hours consists of at least 6 hours, or if the course is a 

self-study course, at least 6 hours of study is required; 

 (b) The course meets the requirements of subsection 3; and  

 (c) The students enrolled in the course are required to pass a final examination with a score of 

not less than 70 percent. 
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The provisions of this subsection do not limit the authority of the commissioner to refuse to 

approve a course for noncompliance with any other provision of NAC 683A.372 to 683A.388, 

inclusive. 

 5.  The commissioner will grant or deny approval of each course in writing within 60 days 

after he receives the information required pursuant to subsection 1. 

 6.  Any material change in the content of a course approved by the commissioner must be 

submitted for the approval of the commissioner before presentation of the course. 

 683A.382  Issuance of certificate of completion; maintenance of records.  A person who 

provides a course in industrial insurance approved by the commissioner shall: 

 1.  Issue an original certificate of completion to each person who successfully completes the 

course. The certificate must be on a form approved by the commissioner. 

 2.  Maintain records of attendance or, if the course is a self-study course, records of 

enrollment, and examination scores for 4 years. 

 3.  Make the records and scores available to the commissioner upon request. 

 683A.384  Advertisement of course. 

 1.  A course in industrial insurance must not be advertised as an approved course unless the 

commissioner has approved the course in writing. 

 2.  If a course in industrial insurance is advertised: 

 (a) After an application for approval of the course has been submitted to the commissioner; 

and 

 (b) Before the commissioner has approved the course in writing, 

FLUSH FLUSH 
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the advertisement must contain a statement indicating that an application has been submitted for 

approval of the course, and that submission of the application does not guarantee that the course 

will be approved for credit. 

 3.  An advertisement of an approved course in industrial insurance must contain: 

 (a) The title of the course; 

 (b) The name and address of the person approved to provide the course; 

 (c) The number of hours of credit for continuing education and industrial insurance for which 

the course has been approved; and 

 (d) A brief summary or outline of the contents of the course. 

 683A.386  Suspension or revocation of approval of course; audit; reinstatement. 

 1.  The commissioner may suspend or revoke his approval of a course if he determines that: 

 (a) The content of the course has been changed materially without the approval of the 

commissioner and the change affects the number of hours of credit assigned to the course; 

 (b) A certificate of completion has been issued and hours have been credited to a person who 

has not completed the course; 

 (c) A certificate of completion has not been issued and hours have not been credited when 

requested to a person who has successfully completed the course; 

 (d) The quality of instruction is inadequate; 

 (e) The content of the course does not meet the objectives of subsection 3 of NAC 683A.380; 

or 

 (f) The provider has not maintained the records required by subsection 2 of NAC 683A.382. 

 2.  The division or its designated representative may audit a course to ensure that the content 

or instructor meets the requirements of NAC 683A.380. 

FLUSH 
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 3.  If approval of a course is suspended or revoked by the commissioner, approval may be 

reinstated at the discretion of the commissioner and after the commissioner receives proof that 

the conditions giving rise to the suspension or revocation have been corrected. 

 683A.388  Application of credit to hours required for continuing education.  An agent, 

broker or solicitor may apply the number of hours of credit earned in a course in industrial 

insurance approved by the commissioner to the hours of continuing education required by NAC 

683A.330. 

 683C.130  Course in industrial insurance required for certain activities. 

 1.  An insurance consultant shall not offer his advice, counsel, opinion or service with 

respect to the benefits, advantages or disadvantages promised pursuant to a policy of industrial 

insurance unless he has completed a course in industrial insurance that satisfies the requirements 

of NAC 683A.380 to 683A.386, inclusive. 

 2.  As used in this section, “industrial insurance” means insurance which provides the 

compensation required by chapters 616A to 617, inclusive, of NRS and employer’s liability 

insurance incidental to and provided in connection with that insurance. 
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF PROPOSED REGULATION 
LCB File No. R172-01 

 
 
 The Commissioner of Insurance adopted regulations assigned LCB File No. R172-01 which 
pertain to licensing of insurance producers, title agents and escrow officers chapters 616B, 683A, 
683C and 692A of the Nevada Administrative Code on May 23, 2002. 
 
Notice date:  11/14/2001 Date of adoption by agency:  5/23/2002 
Hearing date:  12/13/2001 Filing date:  July 5, 2002 
 
 

INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT 
 
 

 A public workshop and a public hearing were held on December 13, 2001, in Carson 
City, Nevada, and by videoteleconference to Las Vegas, Nevada, regarding the adoption of the 
proposed regulation regarding procedures for obtaining criminal history reports for resident 
producer licensing, annual renewal of appointments, grace period for producer license renewals, 
and personal lines prelicensing and continuing education requirements. It also repeals the 
mandatory workers’ compensation education requirement and reinstates a residency requirement 
for title agents and escrow officers with a provision allowing licensure if the person resides 
within 50 miles of the border of the state. 
 
 Public comment was solicited by posting notice of the hearing in the following public 
locations: Division of Insurance in Carson City, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Capitol Building 
Lobby, Blasdel Building, Carson City Courthouse, State Library, Clark County Library, Capitol 
Press Room and the Division’s Las Vegas Office. 
 
 In addition, the Department of Business and Industry, Division of Insurance (Division), 
maintains a list of interested parties, comprised mainly of insurance companies, agencies and 
other persons regulated by the Division. These persons were notified of the hearing and that 
copies of the regulation could be obtained from or examined at the office of the Division in 
Carson City. 
 
 The workshop and hearing were attended by 32 people. Testimony was provided by one 
representative of the Division. No written comments were received and one person testified from 
Las Vegas regarding the appointment fees, which were approved by the 2001 Nevada 
Legislature. Copies of any comments received by the Division can be obtained from the Division 
at 788 Fairview Drive, Suite 300, Carson City, Nevada 89701-5491, (775) 687-4270. 
 
 In consideration of the comments by those attending the hearing, the Commissioner has 
issued an order adopting the regulation, as amended, as a permanent regulation of the Division. 
 
 The economic impact of the regulation is as follows: 
 
 (a) On the business it is to regulate:  None 
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 (b) On the public:  The regulation should have no economic impact on the public.  
 
 The regulation will have no economic impact on small businesses. The regulation does 
not duplicate or overlap any other regulation. 
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STATE OF NEVADA 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY 

DIVISION OF INSURANCE 
 
 

IN THE MATTER OF THE CAUSE NO. 01.754 
REGULATION CONCERNING LCB FILE NO. R172-01 
 
LICENSING OF INSURANCE PRODUCERS, SUMMARY OF 
TITLE AGENTS AND ESCROWS OFFICERS. PROCEEDINGS AND ORDER 
__________________________________________/ 
 

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS 

 

 A public workshop, as required by NRS 233B.061, and a public hearing on the proposed 

regulation relating to the licensing of insurance producers, title agents and escrow officers were 

held before Alice A. Molasky-Arman, Commissioner of Insurance, on December 13, 2001, in 

Carson City, Nevada. 

 The Department of Business and Industry, Division of Insurance (Division) received no 

written comments from representatives of industry or the public. The workshop and the hearing 

were attended by 32 people, plus representatives of the Division. Debbie Thurner, representing 

the Division, presented the regulation to the Hearing Officer. 

 Ms. Thurner testified that the regulation establishes procedures for obtaining criminal 

history reports for the licensing of resident producers, annual renewal of appointments, grace 

period for producer license renewals, and personal lines prelicensing and continuing education 

requirements. It also repeals the mandatory workers’ compensation education requirement, and 

reinstates a residency requirement for title agents and escrow officers with a provision allowing 

licensure, if the person resides within 50 miles of the border of the state. The regulation also 

amends the minimum requirement for approval of a continuing education course from two hours, 
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based on a 60 minute hour, to one hour, based on a 50 minute hour. It also removes the limit on 

the maximum number of hours that will be awarded. 

 

ORDER OF THE COMMISSIONER 

 Based on the information presented at the hearing, it is hereby ordered that the proposed 

regulation concerning the licensing of insurance producers, title agents and escrow officers, LCB 

File No. R172-01, be adopted, as amended, as a permanent regulation of the Division. 

 SO ORDERED this 23rd day of May, 2002. 

 

                    /S/                                . 

  ALICE A. MOLASKY-ARMAN 

  Commissioner of Insurance 

 


