PROPOSED REGULATION
OF THE
NEVADA STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
L CB File No. R094-01

August 28, 2001

EXPLANATION — Matter in italicsis new; matter in brackets femitted-material} is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: 81, NRS 628.120 and 628.380; 82, section 2 of chapter 93, Statutes of Nevada
2001; 883 and 4, NRS 628.120 and section 1 of chapter 93, Statutes of Nevada
2001; 85, NRS 628.120 and 628.386; 86 NRS 628.120 and 628.160; 87, NRS
628.120.

Section 1. NAC 628.110 is hereby amended to read as follows:

628.110 1. The certificate of acertified public accountant or the registration of a public
accountant who holds a live permit and isin good standing may, upon application to the board
by the holder thereof, be placed by the board fi} on retired or inactive status.

2. A certified public accountant or a registered public accountant whose certificate or
registration is placed on retired status pursuant to subsection 1 must, if he thereafter includes
any reference to his certification or registration on a business card, letterhead or similar
document or device, include theword “retired” immediately following each such reference.

3. Any employment related to the financial functions of business or government, including,
without limitation, the supervision of such functions, will be considered as active involvement in
the accounting profession, and the holder of the certificate or registrant does not qualify for
inactive status.

3} 4. A former holder of acertificate or aformer registrant may be reinstated into the

practice of public accounting from retired or inactive status by submitting an application to the
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board accompanied by the fee prescribed in NAC 628.120. The applicant must show that he has
completed at least 40 hours of continuing education during the 12 months immediately preceding
his application.
4} 5. A former holder of a certificate whose certificate has been voluntarily surrendered to
the board must submit:
(& A new application for licensing accompanied by:
(1) The application fee;
(2) Thefeefor annual renewal of the permit for any year the fee was not paid before he
surrendered the certificate; and
(3) The penalty for late filing for any year fees were not paid before he surrendered the
certificate as prescribed in paragraph (e) of subsection 3 of NAC 628.120; and
(b) Proof that he has completed at least 40 hours of continuing education during the 12
months immediately preceding his application.
5} 6. A former holder of acertificate whose certificate has been revoked for nonpayment
of fees must submit:
(& A new application for licensing accompanied by:
(1) The application fee;
(2) Thefeefor annual renewal of the permit for any year that the fee was not paid before
his certificate was revoked; and
(3) The penalty for late filing prescribed in paragraph (€) of subsection 3 of NAC 628.120
for any year that afee was not paid before his certificate was revoked; and
(b) Proof that he has completed at least 80 hours of continuing education programs approved

by the board during the 12 months immediately preceding the filing of the new application.
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[6:} 7. For the purposes of this section:

(& “Inactive status’ means the voluntary reversion by a holder of a certificate or aregistrant
to anonprofessional status outside the fields of public, private or governmental accounting
before reaching the age of retirement; and

(b) “Retired status’ means the voluntary termination by a holder of a certificate or a
registrant of all activities in the profession of public or private accounting upon the attainment of
at least 60 years of age or upon becoming permanently disabled and no longer gainfully
employed.

Sec. 2. NAC 628.120 is hereby amended to read as follows:

628.120 1. Thefollowing feesfor examinations are prescribed by the board:

(& For initial examination for a certificate as a certified public accountant until conditional
credit isreceived, the board will establish each year afee that will not exceed $500.

(b) For reexamination after conditional credit is received, the board will establish each year
feesthat will not exceed $100 per subject.

(c) For review and inspection of examination PAPEYS..........coivveereereeieeseeie e s esee e ereas $100

(d) For proctoring the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination administered in this
state and taken by a nonresident applicant if that applicant is not required to pay the board afee
fOr the EXAMINALION ........ccieieiece et st re e sresbeerea F$#51 $250

2. Thefollowing fees for applications are prescribed by the board:

(&) For an application for a certificate as a certified public accountant by reciprocity or
pursuant to passing the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination administered in this
state or iN aNOthEr JUIISAICTION..........cciieeieece e s ns $100

plus the actual cost of the investigation required pursuant to NAC 628.019,
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which will not exceed $75.
(b) For an application for registration of a corporation, limited-liability company or
QT2 1= 6 11T o TSSOSO $200
3. Thefollowing other fees are prescribed by the board:
() For atemporary permit to a nonresident accounting firm:
The proprietor, partner, member or shareholder responsible for the conduct
Of the ENQAGEMENT ........eeeececee e e st nes $160
Each additional person employed in the conduct of the engagement during
the period of the PEMMIL.........c.coi i re $25
(b) For filing an annual report for a corporation, limited-liability company or
QT2 1= 6 11T o TSSOSO $100
(c) For thelatefiling of an annual report of a corporation, limited-liability company or
PAIENEISNI.....eeueeueeteeteite et ettt et et et e s testesbesreebeeaeeaeeseesesessebesseebeebeeaeeseensensesetesreaseereeneennennas $100
(d) For reinstatement into public practice from retired or inactive status............ccccceeueeee.. $250
(e) For thelatefiling of the annual renewal of a permit to practice public
accounting, after January 31 Of @aCh YEar...........covveeiieii e $100
(f) For anindividual evaluation of experience pursuant to subsection 2 of
NAC 628.060, in addition to any reasonable costs of travel actually incurred by
the board and imposed pursuant to subsection 3 of NAC 628.060............cccccveeerieeiieveeseeenenn. $750
(9) A uniform fee for an annual permit or an annual renewal of a permit to practice public
accounting will be established by the board each year. The fee will not exceed $160 and will be
prorated if an initial annual permit is obtained during the year.

4. Any fee paid pursuant to this section must be paid in the currency of the United States.
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Sec. 3. NAC 628.120 is hereby amended to read as follows:

628.120 1. Thefollowing feesfor examinations are prescribed by the board:

(& For initial examination for a certificate as a certified public accountant until conditional
credit isreceived, the board will establish each year afee that will not exceed $500.

(b) For reexamination after conditional credit is received, the board will establish each year
feesthat will not exceed $100 per subject.

(c) For review and inspection of examination PAPEYS...........coivveeveeieeieeseere e s esee e eneas $100

(d) For proctoring the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination administered in this
state and taken by a nonresident applicant if that applicant is not required to pay the board afee
fOr the EXAMINGLION .......eiiie bbb $250

2. Thefollowing fees for applications are prescribed by the board:

(&) For an application for a certificate as a certified public accountant by reciprocity or
pursuant to passing the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination administered in this
state or iN aNOthEr JUFISAICTION..........ccieeeieece et s ns $100

plus the actual cost of the investigation required pursuant to NAC 628.019,

which will not exceed $75.

(b) For an application for registration of a corporation, limited-liability company or
0T = 6 11T o TSROSO $200

3. Thefollowing other fees are prescribed by the board:

() For atemporary permit to a nonresident accounting firm:

The proprietor, partner, member or shareholder responsible for the conduct

Of the ENGAGEMENT ... st nes $160
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Each additional person employed in the conduct of the engagement during
the period of the PEMMIL...........coi i $25
(b) For filing an annual report for a corporation, limited-liability company or
QT2 1= 6 11T o TSROSO $100
(c) For thelatefiling of an annual report of a corporation, limited-liability company or
QT2 = 6 11T o TSSOSO $100
(d) For reinstatement into public practice from retired or inactive status............cccceeuee.e.. $250
(e) For thelatefiling of the annual renewal of a permit to practice public
accounting, after January 31 Of @aCh YEar...........covvieiieie e $100
(f) For anindividual evaluation of experience pursuant to subsection 2 of
NAC 628.060, in addition to any reasonable costs of travel actually incurred by
the board and imposed pursuant to subsection 3 of NAC 628.060............ccccceeeerreeiiereeseeenenn $750
(g) Forregistering afictitioUS NAME .........ccveiiieie et $100
(h) A uniform fee for an annual permit or an annual renewal of a permit to practice public
accounting will be established by the board each year. The fee will not exceed $160 and will be
prorated if an initial annual permit is obtained during the year.
4. Any fee paid pursuant to this section must be paid in the currency of the United States.
Sec. 4. NAC 628.130 is hereby amended to read as follows:
628.130 1. Applicationsfor registration or any other required document or report must be
filed with the board at its office.
2. A corporation, limited-liability company or partnership must file with the board an
application for registration on aform furnished by the board. The application must be

accompanied by the prescribed fee.
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3. An application for registration of a fictitious name must be filed on a form furnished
by the board. The application must be accompanied by the prescribed fee.

4. Theboard, within areasonable time after the submission of an application for
registration, will either approve the application and issue a certificate of registration or refuse
approval and notify the feerporation-Hmited-Habiity-company-or-partnership} applicant of the
reasons for refusal and fdeseribel the procedure for requesting a hearing on the disapproval.

Sec. 5. NAC 628.220 is hereby amended to read as follows:

628.220 1. A program qualifiesasaprogram of continuing education if it:

(&) Isaformal program of learning which contributes to a growth in professional knowledge
and the competence of a person engaged in the practice of public accounting;

(b) Meets the minimum standards of quality of development, presentation, measurement and
the reporting of credits set forth in the Statement on Standards for fFermal} Continuing
Professional Education (CPE) Programs published by the National Association of State Boards
of Accountancy, asit existed on [May-13,-1982] the effective date of this section or other
educational standards which may be established by the board;

(c) Requires attendance or is a program for individual study;

(d) Isatleast 1 hour inlength;

(e) Isconducted by aqualified instructor or leader of discussions;

(f) Isapostsecondary course of education or educational seminar;

(9) Requiresarecord of attendanceiif it isnot a program for individual study; and

(h) Requires awritten outline to be retained.
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2. A copy of the statement may be obtained at no cost from the National Association of
State Boards of Accountancy, 150 Fourth Avenue North, Suite 700, Nashville, Tennessee
37219-2417.

Sec. 6. NAC 628.500 is hereby amended to read as follows:

628.500 1. The board hereby adopts by reference the Rules of Professional Conduct
adopted by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, as those rules existed on June
1, F2999;} 2000, with the following exceptions:

() Referencesto “member” are amended to refer to “practitioner.”

(b) Thedefinition of “financial statements’ in ET Section 92 is amended to read as follows:

(1) “Financia statements’ means.

() Any statements or footnotes related thereto that purport to demonstrate the financial
condition of a person at a particular time or the change in a person’s financial condition during a
particular period; or

(I1) Any statements prepared using a cash or other comprehensive basis of accounting.

(2) Theterm includes balance sheets, statements of income, statements of retained
earnings, statements of cash flows and statements of changesin equity.

(3) Theterm does not include incidental financial datathat isincluded in reports
concerning advisory services for management made to support recommendations to a client, tax
returns or schedules in support of atax return, or the statement, affidavit or signature of the
person who prepares atax return.

(c) Thedefinition of “practice of public accounting” in ET Section 92 is amended to have the
meaning ascribed to it in NRS 628.023.

(d) Thedisclosure required pursuant to Section B of Rule 503 must:
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(1) Include the amount of the commission expressed in dollars or the method, described in
plain language, used to calcul ate the commission;

(2) Include the name of the person or entity paying the commission;

(3) Bewritten;

(4) Bemade on or before the date of referral or recommendation; and

(5) Besigned and dated.

(e) The statement, affidavit or signature of the preparer of atax return does not constitute an
opinion on afinancia statement, and the preparer of the tax return is not required to make a
disclaimer of such an opinion.

2. A copy of the Rules of Professional Conduct may be obtained:

(& By mail from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, P.O. Box 2209,
Jersey City, New Jersey 07303-2209, at a cost of $13.50 for a printed copy or $10 for a copy on
CD-ROM; or

(b) On-line from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants at its website at

<http://www.aicpa.org/>, free of charge.

Sec. 7. 1. Thissection and sections 1, 2, 5 and 6 of this regulation become effective when
filed by the legislative counsel with the secretary of state.

2. Sections 3 and 4 of this regulation become effective on January 1, 2002.
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