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ADOPTED REGULATION OF THE 

STATE SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 

LCB File No. R084-00 

Effective July 1, 2000 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§1, 5 and 6, NRS 581.050, 581.055; §§2-4 and 12, NRS 581.050; §§7-9, NRS 
581.050, 581.055 and 581.075; §10, NRS 581.075; §11, NRS 561.105 and 
582.040. 

 

 Section 1.  Chapter 581 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto a new section to read 

as follows: 

 1.  The state sealer of weights and measures hereby adopts by reference the “Examination 

Procedure for Price Verification” set forth in the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology Handbook 130: Uniform Laws and Regulations, 2000 edition, and any subsequent 

revision of that portion of the publication that has been approved by the state sealer of weights 

and measures for use in this state. Each revision of that portion of the publication shall be 

deemed approved by the state sealer of weights and measures unless he disapproves of the 

revision within 60 days after the date of publication of the revision by the National Institute of 

Standards and Technology. 

 2.  The state sealer of weights and measures will review each revision to ensure its 

suitability for this state and file a copy of each revision he approves with the secretary of state 

and the state library and archives administrator. The most recent revision that has been 

approved by the state sealer of weights and measures will be available for inspection at the 

office of the Bureau of Weights and Measures, Division of Measurement Standards, 2150 
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Frazer Avenue, Sparks, Nevada 89431, or may be purchased from the Superintendent of 

Documents, United States Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. 20402, for the price 

of $22. 

 3.  A violation of any provision of that portion of the publication adopted by reference in 

subsection 1 shall be deemed a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and 

measures will impose: 

 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 2.  NAC 581.005 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.005  As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires, [“division”] 

“department” means the [division] state department of agriculture . [of the department of 

business and industry.] 

 Sec. 3.  NAC 581.007 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.007  1.  If the [division] department determines that a person unintentionally violated a 

provision of chapter 581 of NRS or this chapter, the [division] department may issue a notice of 

warning to that person without imposing an administrative fine. 

 2.  A notice of warning issued by the [division] department must be in writing and [must] set 

forth: 

 (a) The statute or regulation that was violated; 

 (b) The action necessary to remedy the violation; and 

 (c) The time by which the person must remedy the violation to avoid the imposition of an 

administrative fine. 
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 Sec. 4.  NAC 581.009 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.009  1.  The state sealer of weights and measures hereby adopts by reference the 

National Institute of Standards and Technology 105-Series Handbooks and Training Materials, 

as those publications [exist] existed on June 23, 1998, and any subsequent revision to those 

publications issued by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, which has been 

approved by the state sealer of weights and measures for use in this state. Each new revision 

shall be deemed approved by the state sealer of weights and measures unless he disapproves the 

revision within 60 days after the date of publication by the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology. 

 2.  The state sealer of weights and measures will review each revision issued after June 23, 

1998, to ensure its suitability for this state [. The most current] and file a copy of each revision 

he approves with the secretary of state and the state library and archives administrator. The 

most recent revision that has been approved by the state sealer of weights and measures will be 

available for inspection at the office of the Bureau of Weights and Measures, Division of 

[Agriculture,] Measurement Standards, 2150 Frazer Avenue, Sparks, Nevada 89431, or may be 

obtained from the Office of Weights and Measures, NIST, Building 820, Room 223, 

Gaithersburg, Maryland 20889, [at a] for the price of $35. 

 Sec. 5.  NAC 581.011 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.011  1.  The state sealer of weights and measures hereby adopts by reference the 

National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 44, [1994] 2000 edition, and any 

subsequent edition issued by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, which has been 

approved by the state sealer of weights and measures for use in this state. Each new edition shall 

be deemed approved by the state sealer of weights and measures unless he disapproves the 
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edition within 60 days after the date of publication by the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology. 

 2.  The state sealer of weights and measures will review each edition issued after the [1994] 

2000 edition to ensure its suitability for use in this state [. The most current] and file a copy of 

each edition he approves with the secretary of state and the state library and archives 

administrator. The most recent edition that has been approved by the state sealer of weights and 

measures will be available for inspection at the office of the Bureau of Weights and Measures, 

Division of [Agriculture,] Measurement Standards, 2150 Frazer [Street,] Avenue, Sparks, 

Nevada 89431, or may be purchased from the Superintendent of Documents, United States 

Government Printing Office, [P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15250-7954,] 

Washington, D.C. 20402, for the price of [$23. 

 2.] $29. 

 3.  A violation of a provision of the handbook adopted by reference in subsection 1 shall be 

deemed a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and measures will impose: 

 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 6.  NAC 581.050 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.050  1.  The National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 133 is hereby 

adopted by reference as the official procedure for the methods of checking the net contents of 

packaged commodities for compliance with respect to net weight, count or measure. [This] The 

publication, including supplements, is available for inspection at the office of the Bureau of 

Weights and Measures, Division of [Agriculture,] Measurement Standards, 2150 Frazer 
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[Street,] Avenue, Sparks, Nevada 89431, or may be purchased from the National Conference on 

Weights and Measures [, P.O. Box 4025, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20885,] Headquarters Office, 

15245 Shady Grove Road, Suite 130, Rockville, Maryland 20850, for the price of $26. 

 2.  A violation of a provision of the handbook adopted by reference in subsection 1 shall be 

deemed a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and measures will impose: 

 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 7.  NAC 581.200 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.200  1.  The following are tests and services for which fees will be charged: 

 (a) An annual test of a commercial device. 

 (b) A retest of a device which was marked “out of order” during a test. 

 (c) A trip to test a device which was not available or ready for testing at the time scheduled 

for a test. 

 (d) A test requested for a device if a special trip is required to perform the test. If, upon the 

arrival of the weights and measures, the test scheduled for the device cannot be performed for 

any reason which is not the fault of the [division,] department, any fee which would have been 

charged for that test remains due. 

 (e) A test requested for a noncommercial device. 

 (f) A calibration according to industrial standards of weights and measures. 

 (g) An adjustment of a commercial device immediately following a determination of 

noncompliance during an annual test. 
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 2.  A special test fee will be charged pursuant to NAC 581.210 and 581.220 for a 

commercial device for which an annual fee has not been paid by the annual inspection date. 

 3.  The fees for annual tests of devices are : [as follows:] 

 (a) For scale devices: 

 500 pounds and under........................................................................................................$11 

 Over 500 pounds through 2,000 pounds .....................................................................[29] 30 

 Over 2,000 pounds through 5,000 pounds ..................................................................[65] 80 

 Over 5,000 pounds ....................................................................................................[80] 140 

 Hopper, 5,000 pounds and under.............................................................................[110] 200 

 Hopper, over 5,000 pounds .....................................................................................[150] 250 

 Livestock or vehicle scale, 40,000 pounds and under ...............................................[45] 100 

 Livestock or vehicle scale, over 40,000 pounds......................................................[100] 150 

 (b) For linear devices .......................................................................................................[12] 15 

 (c) For meter devices: 

 Dispenser, hose, meter or octane grade tested with a 5-gallon prover ..........................[9] 10 

 Dispenser tested with a prover larger than 5 gallons...................................................[60] 75 

 Truck- or rack-mounted meter, rated to a maximum capacity of [up to] not 

more than 120 gallons per minute ..........................................................................[60] 75 

 Truck- or rack-mounted meter, rated to a maximum capacity of [over] more 

than 120 gallons per minute..................................................................................[90] 140 

 Nontemperature-compensated meter used to measure liquid petroleum gas ..............[60] 75 

 Temperature-compensated meter used to measure liquid petroleum gas..................[90] 150 



 

--7-- 
Adopted Regulation R084-00 

 4.  Failure to pay a fee required pursuant to this section within 30 days after receipt of the 

bill for the fee is a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and measures will 

impose: 

 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 8.  NAC 581.210 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.210  1.  The fees for tests of devices other than the annual tests are : [as follows:] 

 (a) For scale devices: 

 500 pounds and under ............................................................................................[$16] $25 

 Over 500 pounds through 2,000 pounds ....................................................................[35] 50 

 Over 2,000 pounds through 5,000 pounds ...............................................................[85] 100 

 Over 5,000 pounds .................................................................................................[117] 160 

 Hopper, 5,000 pounds and under ...........................................................................[135] 300 

 Hopper, over 5,000 pounds....................................................................................[195] 350 

 Livestock or vehicle scale, 40,000 pounds and under .....................................................130 

 Livestock or vehicle scale, over 40,000 pounds ....................................................[160] 200 

 (b) For linear devices .......................................................................................................[12] 25 

 (c) For meter devices: 

 Dispenser, hose, meter or octane grade tested with a 5-gallon prover ......................[17] 25 

 Dispenser tested with a prover larger than 5 gallons .................................................[80] 95 

 Truck- or rack-mounted meter, rated to a maximum capacity of up to 120 

gallons per minute ...................................................................................................[80] 95 
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 Truck- or rack-mounted meter, rated to a maximum capacity of over 120 

gallons per minute ...............................................................................................[130] 160 

 Nontemperature-compensated meter used to measure liquid petroleum gas...........[80] 100 

 Temperature-compensated meter used to measure liquid petroleum gas ..............[130] 200 

 (d) For standards of mass, volume or length, per hour .........................................................[20] 

  For certification of standards for use in testing a commercial device for a 

                  service agency or service person.................................................................................40 

  For certification of standards for use in testing a noncommercial device...................80 

 2.  Failure to pay a fee required pursuant to this section within 30 days after receipt of the 

bill for the fee is a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and measures will 

impose: 

 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 9.  NAC 581.220 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 NAC 581.220  1.  In addition to the fees prescribed in NAC 581.210, the following fees 

will be charged for a special test except as otherwise provided in this section: 

 (a) For each hour for testing a device above the time normally required to 

perform that test..............................................................................................[$20.00] $40 

 (b) For each hour for witnessing the test of a device that is not conducted by the 

[division.................................................................................................................... 20.00] 

              department.......................................................................................................................40 

 (c) For mileage, per mile for: 
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 Pickup truck ...............................................................................................................[0.40] 1 

 Livestock test truck ....................................................................................................[0.50] 2 

 Petroleum prover truck...............................................................................................[0.50] 2 

 Motor truck and hopper test truck..............................................................................[1.00] 3 

 (d) For each hour of required travel of the inspector, in addition to the fees 

specified in paragraph (c) .................................................................................[20.00] 40 

 (e) For the per diem of the inspector, the amounts [currently] allowed by law for 

state employees, under conditions set by the [division.] department. 

 2.  The fees for mileage, travel and per diem will be prorated among persons requiring tests 

of devices in the same area if all the devices can be tested during the same trip. 

 3.  Only the fee prescribed by NAC 581.210 for a test of a device will be charged if: 

 (a) The test can be made during a scheduled trip for inspections in the vicinity; or 

 (b) The site of the test is within a minimal distance from the base of the inspector or within 

the same metropolitan area. 

 4.  The amount of charges for: 

 (a) The testing of devices or standards not listed on the schedule of fees; 

 (b) Testing of standards from out of state; or 

 (c) Testing which requires special arrangements or conditions, 

will be determined by agreement between the state sealer of weights and measures and the owner 

or operator of the device or standard to be tested. 

 5.  Failure to pay a fee required pursuant to this section within 30 days after receipt of the 

bill for the fee is a violation of this section, and the state sealer of weights and measures will 

impose: 

FLUSH 
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 (a) For the first violation, an administrative fine of $25; 

 (b) For the second violation, an administrative fine of $50; and 

 (c) For the third and each subsequent violation, an administrative fine of $100. 

 Sec. 10.  NAC 581.340 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 581.340  1.  The fee for the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration as a service 

agency is [$50.] $100. 

 2.  The fee for the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration as a service person is 

[$10.] $20. 

 3.  If a service agency or service person fails to renew the certificate of registration issued to 

the service agency or service person before it expires, the service agency or service person must, 

in addition to the fee required pursuant to subsection 1 or 2, pay a late fee equal to 50 percent of 

the fee otherwise required for the renewal of the certificate. 

 Sec. 11.  Chapter 582 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto a new section to read as 

follows: 

 The fee for: 

 1.  The issuance of a certificate of appointment as a public weighmaster pursuant to NRS 

582.040 is $120. 

 2.  The annual renewal of a certificate of appointment as a public weighmaster issued 

pursuant to NRS 582.040 is $100. 

 Sec. 12.  This regulation becomes effective on July 1, 2000. 
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NOTICE OF ADOPTION 
 
 

The amendments have been adopted by the Nevada Board of Agriculture during the meeting in 
Las Vegas on April 20, 2000.  The schedules applied are in accord with the funding policies for 
each of the Department of Agriculture programs. 
 
 

INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT 
 
 

INFORMATIONAL STATEMENT FOR LCB FILE NO. R084-00 
 

1. Public workshops were held on March 15th, in the Department of Agriculture office, 2300 
McLeod, Las Vegas, and on March 16th in the Department of Agriculture office, 350 
Capitol Hill, Reno. 

 
 Public hearings were held on March 30th, in the Department of Agriculture office, 2300 

McLeod, Las Vegas, and on March 31st, in the Department of Agriculture office, 350 
Capitol Hill, Reno. 

 
 Notice of workshops and hearings were posted in all six Department of Agriculture offices, 

the Nevada State Library in Carson City, and all Nevada county libraries.  Copies could be 
requested from the Nevada Department of Agriculture by writing to 350 Capitol Hill, 
Reno, or calling (775)688-1180, or other department locations. 

 
2. Workshops in Las Vegas, Reno: 
 Attendance, 0 
 Written statements received,  0 
 
 Hearings in Las Vegas, Reno 
 Attendance 1 (Reno) 
 Written statements received, 0 
 
3. Comments were received from a business representative during the hearing in Reno.  In 

behalf of the associations he represents, agreed the fee schedule increase should be 
addressed. 

 
4. Economic effects of the adopted amendments: 
 
 A. Adverse effects,  None 
 
 B. Beneficial effects, The fair assessment of license and testing  

  fees to each of the industries regulated. 
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 C. Immediate and long term effects, The adverse and beneficial effects are the  
   same as the immediate and long term  
   effects. 

 
 D. Economic cost to the agency There will be no additional cost to the  

   agency to enforce. 
 
 E. There are no other state or federal agency regulations which the adopted 

 amendments overlap or duplicate. 
 
 F. The amendments adopted do not include any provisions more stringent than any 

 federal regulation involved in the same activities. 
 
The amendments have been adopted by the Nevada Board of Agriculture during the meeting in 
Las Vegas on April 20, 2000.  The schedules applied are in accord with the funding policies for 
each of the Department of Agriculture programs. 
 


