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PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE DEPARTMENT 

OF MOTOR VEHICLES AND PUBLIC SAFETY 

LCB File No. R065-00 

April 3, 2000 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§1-5 and 7, NRS 483.760; §6, NRS 483.255. 

 

 Section 1.  NAC 483.750 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.750  1.  In addition to the requirements of NRS 483.710, an applicant for a license to 

own or operate a school for training drivers must: 

 (a) Submit to the department an application [upon] for a license to own or operate a school 

for training drivers on a form supplied by the department [to: 

  (1) The Northern Regional Manager, Motor Vehicles Branch, 305 Galletti Way, Reno, 

Nevada 89512; or 

  (2) The Southern Regional Manager, Motor Vehicles Branch, 8250 West Flamingo, Las 

Vegas, Nevada 89117; 

 (b) Have] ; 

 (b) Prove to the satisfaction of the department that the applicant has earned a high school 

diploma or its equivalent; 

 (c) Submit a [check or money order in the amount of the] nonrefundable fee as required by 

NRS 483.780;  

 (d) Within the 2 years immediately preceding the date an applicant submits his application to 

own or operate a school, not have a conviction of: 
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  (1) Two or more traffic offenses; or 

  (2) A gross misdemeanor; 

 (e) Within the 4 years immediately preceding the date an applicant submits his application to 

own or operate a school, not have been convicted of a felony; and 

 (f) Never have been convicted of: 

  (1) An offense involving fraud, dishonesty or moral turpitude; 

  (2) A sexual offense as defined by NRS 179D.410; or 

  (3) A crime that the department determines is related to a license to own or operate a 

school for training drivers. 

 2.  The applicant must furnish the department with: 

 (a) A list of each vehicle used by the school for [the training of] training drivers, including 

the year, make and model of each vehicle; 

 (b) A copy of the [registration and] certificate of insurance that clearly identifies the vehicle 

insured for each vehicle used by the school for [the training of] training drivers; 

 (c) A copy of the lease agreement for each vehicle which is leased by the school and used for 

the training of drivers; 

 (d) The official name of the school, including the name of the owner and any controlling 

officers of the school; 

 (e) The proposed location of the established place of business of the school and the telephone 

number, if available; 

 (f) The proposed plan of classroom instruction, if applicable, which the school will offer, 

including copies of detailed training outlines, course handouts, audio-visual aids, a list of related 

films or videos used by the school and all examinations which will be administered; 
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 (g) The proposed plan of behind-the-wheel training that the school will offer, if applicable, 

including copies of detailed training outlines; 

 (h) The days and hours of operation of the school; 

 (i) Two cards upon which the applicant’s fingerprints, taken by an agent of the department 

who has been authorized by the department to take fingerprints or by a law enforcement 

agency, are displayed; 

 (j) Written permission that authorizes the department to forward those cards to the central 

repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; 

 (k) The fee for processing the cards as required by the central repository; 

 (l) Written documentation, if applicable, that clarifies the applicant’s criminal record or 

related status; [and] 

 (m) If the applicant is applying for a license to operate a school which will provide behind-

the-wheel training, proof of experience required by subsection 6 of NRS 483.710; and 

 (n) Any other information concerning the applicant’s honesty and integrity which the 

department considers necessary. 

 3.  An owner or operator shall include in the application the address of each place where he 

conducts business and the name under which he does business at each address. If an owner or 

operator does business at more than one address, he shall designate one address [in each county 

in which he does business] as his principal place of business [for that county] and one name as 

the principal name of his business. He shall designate as branches all his other business addresses 

not otherwise designated as a principal place of business pursuant to this subsection. 
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 4.  An owner or operator who makes application to the department to own or operate more 

than one school, in addition to meeting the requirements of subsections 2 and 3, must meet the 

requirements of NRS 483.710 and: 

 (a) Submit a separate application and fee for each school he will be operating under a 

different name; and 

 (b) Prohibit an instructor employed by the school from instructing at a school or branch 

office for which he is not licensed. 

 5.  Before an application is approved for a school, an authorized representative of the 

department will inspect the premises of the school for training drivers to ensure that the 

[requirements of NAC 483.792 are met and the following are satisfactory: 

 (a) Heating and air conditioning; 

 (b) Lighting; 

 (c) Ventilation; 

 (d) Fire exits; 

 (e) Cleanliness; and 

 (f) Area for parking.] school has satisfactorily complied with all state and local health and 

safety codes and will review all applicable city and county business licenses of the school. 

 6.  In addition to the requirements listed in this section, before an application is approved for 

a school that offers classroom instruction, an authorized representative of the department will 

inspect the premises of the school for training drivers to ensure [the] : 

 (a) The existence of satisfactory: 

 [(a)] (1) Space for each student; 

 [(b)] (2) Facilities for the disabled; 
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 [(c)] (3) Desks or tables and chairs; 

 [(d)] (4) Restroom facilities; and 

 [(e)] (5) Accessibility of the classroom to the area for parking [.]; and 

 (b) The cleanliness of the equipment and facilities of the school is satisfactory to the 

department. 

 7.  The department will evaluate the curriculum and facility of each school, and the 

qualifications of each instructor of the school, in its evaluation of an application.  

 8.  A representative of the department may, if he considers it necessary: 

 (a) Request additional information from an applicant; and 

 (b) Request another state agency to review an application.  

 9.  Within 30 days after the department receives an application, it will notify the applicant of 

the approval or denial of his application, or request additional information from the applicant. 

The department may issue a temporary license to operate a school for training drivers which 

expires on the date the department approves or denies the application, or upon the expiration of 6 

months, whichever occurs first. The department may extend the temporary license if the result of 

the report regarding the applicant’s criminal history is not received within the 6-month period. 

The department will not issue a license to an applicant if the applicant does not meet the 

requirements of NRS 483.710 and this section. 

 10.  If an applicant does not provide to the department, within 6 months after the date he 

submits his application, all information necessary for the department to evaluate his application, 

the department will not consider him for licensure unless he submits a new application, takes the 

examination for licensure and pays the required fee. 
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 11.  A license issued by the department must show the name of the operator and the school, 

and the address of the school. If a school ceases operation as a school for training drivers, it shall 

immediately surrender to the department the license issued by the department and request 

cancellation of the license. [If the operator of a school dies, the school may, with the approval of 

the department, remain open under the license of the deceased operator for a period not to exceed 

6 months.] A license to own or operate a school is nontransferable. 

 12.  An owner or operator must be a licensed instructor for a course, or employ or contract 

for the services of at least one person who is a licensed instructor. 

 Sec. 2.  NAC 483.7605 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.7605  1.  To renew a license to own or operate a school for training drivers, a licensee 

must submit to the department: 

 (a) An application for renewal; 

 (b) The fee for licensure required by NRS 483.780; 

 (c) For each vehicle used by the school for [the training of] training drivers: 

  (1) A current list of the year, make and model; 

  (2) A copy of the [registration and] certificate of insurance [;] that clearly identifies the 

vehicle insured; and 

  (3) A copy of the lease agreement for each vehicle which is leased by the school; and 

 (d) A copy of the days and hours of operation of the school, including the office of the school 

. [; 

 (e) Two cards upon which the applicant’s fingerprints, taken by a law enforcement agency, 

are displayed; 
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 (f) Written permission that authorizes the department to forward those cards to the central 

repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; 

 (g) The fee for processing the cards as required by the central repository; and 

 (h) Written documentation, if applicable, that clarifies the applicant’s criminal record or 

related status.] 

 2.  The department will accept an application for renewal up to 30 days after the date on 

which a license expires. If an application is submitted more than 30 days after the date on which 

a license expires and the license was not suspended or revoked by the department at the time of 

expiration, the license shall be deemed permanently lapsed and the licensee must submit an 

application for initial licensure pursuant to the provisions of NRS 483.710 and NAC 483.750. 

 3.  The department will not renew a license if a licensee fails to comply with the provisions 

of NRS 483.700 to 483.780, inclusive, or NAC 483.710 to 483.795, inclusive. 

 4.  The department may issue a provisional license for a period not to exceed 6 months 

pending the report on the applicant’s criminal history. The department may extend the 

provisional license if the report is not received within the 6-month period. 

 Sec. 3.  NAC 483.761 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.761  1.  In addition to the requirements of NRS 483.720, an applicant for a license as 

an instructor for classroom instruction must: 

 (a) Submit an application, on a form provided by the department, which sets forth his 

qualifications and contains the following information: 

  (1) The full name and residence address of the applicant; 

  (2) The date of birth of the applicant; 

  (3) The social security number and driver’s license number of the applicant; 
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  (4) The employment history of the applicant; and 

  (5) The official name of each school where the applicant will be an instructor. 

 (b) Submit to the department: 

  (1) Two cards upon which the applicant’s fingerprints, taken by an agent of the 

department who has been authorized by the department to take fingerprints or by a law 

enforcement agency, are displayed; 

  (2) Written permission that authorizes the department to forward those cards to the central 

repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; 

  (3) The fee for processing the cards as required by the central repository; and 

  (4) Written documentation, if applicable, that clarifies the applicant’s criminal record or 

related status. 

 (c) [Have] Prove to the satisfaction of the department that the applicant has earned a high 

school diploma or its equivalent. 

 (d) Within the 2 years immediately preceding the date an applicant submits his application, 

not have a conviction of: 

  (1) Two or more traffic offenses; 

  (2) A gross misdemeanor; or 

  (3) A crime involving the possession, sale, use or manufacture of a controlled substance. 

 (e) Within the 4 years immediately preceding the date an applicant submits his application, 

not have been convicted of a felony. 

 (f) Never have been convicted of: 

  (1) An offense involving fraud, dishonesty or moral turpitude; 

  (2) A sexual offense as defined by NRS 179D.410; or 
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  (3) A crime that the department determines is related to the position for which the 

applicant applies. 

 (g) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, submit school transcripts or other 

documentation as proof of completion of at least 40 hours of instruction at the college level, or 

the equivalent thereof, as evidenced by the accumulation of four credits for continuing education 

or other training acceptable to the department that pertains to the development of skills related to 

driving or providing instruction. An instructor in a school for training commercial vehicle 

operators and an instructor whose license is not endorsed to provide classroom instruction for the 

purposes of NRS 483.250 may submit proof of other education and experience that is deemed 

acceptable by the department. 

 (h) Possess a valid driver’s license issued by the department which, in Nevada or any other 

jurisdiction: 

  (1) Does not have any outstanding failure-to-appear notices on file; and 

  (2) Has not been suspended or revoked within the 12 months immediately preceding the 

date on which the applicant submitted his application. 

 (i) Pass a written examination administered by the department, with a score of at least 80 

percent. 

 2.  In addition to the requirements listed in subsection 1, an applicant for a license as an 

instructor is eligible to instruct a student in the behind-the-wheel training phase of a course in 

driver training if he: 

 (a) Possesses a valid driver’s license in this state which, in Nevada or any other jurisdiction: 

  (1) Shows not more than one conviction for a moving traffic violation within the 12 

months immediately preceding the date on which the applicant submitted his application nor 
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more than two convictions for moving traffic violations within the 24 months immediately 

preceding the date on which the applicant submitted his application; 

  (2) Has not been suspended or revoked within the 3 years immediately preceding the date 

on which the applicant submitted his application; 

  (3) Shows no convictions involving alcohol or controlled substances within the 3 years 

immediately preceding the date on which the applicant submitted his application; and  

  (4) Authorizes the applicant to operate a vehicle in the classification necessary for the type 

of vehicle in which he will be giving instruction; 

 (b) Submits evidence that he has been a licensed driver for at least 5 years; and 

 (c) Obtains a score of at least 80 percent on a practical demonstration of his driving ability 

over a prescribed course as established by the department in the type of vehicle for which he will 

be instructing. 

 3.  An application for a license as an instructor for a school for training drivers must be 

submitted to [: 

 (a) The Northern Regional Manager, Motor Vehicles Branch, 305 Galletti Way, Reno, 

Nevada 89512; or 

 (b) The Southern Regional Manager, Motor Vehicles Branch, 8250 West Flamingo, Las 

Vegas, Nevada 89117.] the department on a form provided by the department. 

 4.  A representative of the department may interview an applicant for a license as an 

instructor for a school for training drivers to determine the applicant’s knowledge, skills, abilities 

and fitness for instruction. 

 5.  The department will not issue a license to an applicant if the applicant does not meet the 

requirements of NRS 483.720 and this section. 
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 6.  The department may revoke the license to instruct of an instructor if he is convicted of 

any traffic offense involving alcohol or a controlled substance. An instructor whose driver’s 

license is revoked pursuant to this subsection is not eligible to instruct students in the classroom 

instruction phase of training for drivers until 12 months after the date of reinstatement of his 

driver’s license or driving privilege. An instructor whose driver’s license is revoked pursuant to 

this subsection is not eligible to instruct students for the behind-the-wheel training phase of 

training for drivers until 3 years after the date of reinstatement of his driver’s license or driving 

privilege. 

 7.  At least once every [4] 5 years, an instructor of the behind-the-wheel training phase of 

training for drivers shall submit to a driving examination administered by a representative of the 

department. 

 Sec. 4.  NAC 483.7615 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.7615  1.  The department will establish an examination for the licensure of an applicant 

as a driving instructor which may consist of an actual demonstration or a written examination, or 

both. The actual demonstration must be sufficient in scope to determine if the applicant 

consistently complies with all traffic laws and consistently practices the safe operation of a motor 

vehicle. The written examination will cover: 

 (a) The traffic laws and procedures for licensing in this state; 

 (b) Practices of safe driving; 

 (c) The operation of a motor vehicle; 

 (d) Knowledge of teaching methods and techniques; and 

 (e) The laws and regulations which apply to [a licensed school for training drivers.] an 

instructor. 
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 2.  An applicant who fails to pass the examination must wait at least 1 full day before he may 

take the examination again. [If an applicant fails the examination two or more times, he must 

wait at least 5 full days before he may retake the examination.] 

 Sec. 5.  NAC 483.762 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.762  1.  To renew a license as an instructor for a school for training drivers, a licensee 

must submit to the department: 

 (a) An application for renewal; and 

 (b) The fee for licensure required by NRS 483.780 . [; 

 (c) Two cards upon which the applicant’s fingerprints, taken by a law enforcement agency, 

are displayed; 

 (d) Written permission that authorizes the department to forward those cards to the central 

repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; 

 (e) The fee for processing the cards as required by the central repository; and 

 (f) Written documentation, if applicable, that clarifies the applicant’s criminal record or 

related status.] 

 2.  A licensee shall, during each [4-year] 5-year period after the initial issuance of his 

license, pass a written examination administered by the department . [, unless he meets the 

requirements of subsection 3.] 

 3.  Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, an applicant whose license is endorsed 

for classroom instruction for the purposes of NRS 483.250 must submit evidence with his 

application for renewal, in the form of a school transcript or other documentation which verifies: 

 (a) Completion of at least 40 hours of instruction at the college level, or the equivalent 

thereof, as evidenced by the accumulation of four credits for continuing education or other 
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training acceptable to the department which pertains to the development of skills related to 

driving or providing instruction, within the 2 years immediately preceding the date on which the 

application for renewal is submitted; or  

 (b) At least 40 hours of other instruction, training or seminars which pertain to the 

development of skills related to driving or providing instruction in driving, within the 2 years 

immediately preceding the date on which the application for renewal is submitted. 

 4.  An instructor in a school for training commercial vehicle operators or an instructor whose 

license is not endorsed to provide classroom instruction pursuant to the provisions of NRS 

483.250 must submit evidence with his application for renewal, in the form of a school transcript 

or other documentation which verifies: 

 (a) Completion of at least 18 hours of education or training that relates to driving skills or to 

providing instruction; or 

 (b) At least 1 year of experience providing instruction that is deemed acceptable by the 

department for the purposes of this subsection. 

 5.  The department will accept an application for renewal up to 30 days after the date on 

which a license expires. If an application is submitted more than 30 days after the date on which 

a license expires and the license was not suspended or revoked by the department at the time of 

expiration, the license shall be deemed permanently lapsed and the licensee must submit an 

application for initial licensure pursuant to the provisions of NRS 483.720 and NAC 483.761. 

 6.  The department will not renew a license if a licensee fails to comply with the provisions 

of NRS 483.700 to 483.780, inclusive, or NAC 483.710 to 483.795, inclusive. 

 Sec. 6.  NAC 483.7898 is hereby amended to read as follows: 
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 483.7898  1.  Pursuant to NRS 483.250, the department will accept the following as proof 

of successful completion of a course in automobile driver education offered by a public or 

private college, university or high school located in the United States that is subject to regulation 

by its respective state educational agency or governing board: 

 (a) A written statement which indicates that the student has successfully completed a course 

in automobile driver education which includes the: 

  (1) Name of the student; 

  (2) Date of birth of the student; and  

  (3) Signature of the registrar or other member of the administrative staff of the school; 

 (b) A school transcript; or 

 (c) Any other form acceptable to the department. 

 2.  Pursuant to NRS 483.250, the department will accept a certificate of completion on a 

form approved by the department as proof of successful completion of a course in automobile 

driver education that is offered by a school for training drivers which is licensed or approved by 

the department and which includes the: 

 (a) Official name of the school; 

 (b) Name of the student; 

 (c) Date of birth of the student; 

 (d) Date that the course was completed; 

 (e) Amount and type of training that was completed; and 

 (f) Name and signature of the instructor who provided the training. 

 3.  For a person under the age of 18 years to receive credit for completion of classroom 

instruction of a course in automobile driver education: 
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 (a) The student must attend every session; or 

 (b) If a student is absent, the absence must be marked on the attendance record and the 

student must make up the session that is missed. 

 4.  A school for training drivers may issue a certificate of completion to a person under the 

age of 18 years only if the person: 

 (a) Completes the classroom course required pursuant to subparagraph (2) of paragraph (d) of 

subsection 1 of NRS 483.250; and 

 (b) Receives a minimum passing score of 70 percent on his final examination. 

 5.  A school for training drivers that provides training to students as described in this section 

shall retain a copy or transcript of the record of each student under the age of 18 years for 3 years 

after the date of the completion of the course as evidence of the total hours of training he has 

received. 

 Sec. 7.  NAC 483.795 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.795  1.  An authorized representative of the department will, at least semiannually, 

visually inspect each vehicle used for the training of drivers to ensure that the vehicle is in good 

operating condition. 

 2.  Each vehicle which is not a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to NAC 483.802 and is 

used by a school for [the training of] training drivers must be maintained in a clean and safe 

operating condition at all times and have at least the following equipment: 

 (a) If the vehicle is equipped with an automatic transmission, a dual braking device which 

enables an instructor in the front passenger seat to bring the vehicle under control in an 

emergency; 
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 (b) If the vehicle is equipped with a standard transmission, a dual clutch device and braking 

device which enables an instructor in the front passenger seat to bring the car under control in an 

emergency; 

 (c) A separate mirror which enables the instructor to view traffic behind the vehicle; and 

 (d) A safety belt for the driver and each passenger of the vehicle. 

 3.  If a school for training drivers purchases or leases a motor vehicle for the training of 

drivers, an authorized representative of the department will inspect the vehicle: 

 (a) Within 30 days after the purchase or lease. 

 (b) In the discretion of the department, during the semiannual inspection conducted pursuant 

to subsection 1. 

 4.  Each vehicle which is a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to NAC 483.802 and is used 

by a school for [the training of] training drivers must meet all the requirements of the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations as set forth in 49 C.F.R. §§ 390 et seq. 

 5.  While being used to provide behind-the-wheel training on a public road, a vehicle must 

display conspicuously a sign which states “Student Driver” or the name of the school. The sign 

must [have] : 

 (a) Be permanent in nature; 

 (b) Be securely mounted on a vehicle; 

 (c) Not be constructed of paper; and 

 (d) Have a background and letters of contrasting colors and be visible at least 100 feet from 

both the front and rear of the vehicle while operating in traffic. 


