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ADOPTED REGULATION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR 

VEHICLES AND PUBLIC SAFETY 

LCB File No. R134-97 

Effective November 14, 1997 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [ ] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§ 2-5, § 5 of chapter 328, Statutes of Nevada 1997; § 6, § 3 of chapter 595, 

Statutes of Nevada 1997; § 7, NRS 483.383. 

 

 Section 1.  Chapter 483 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set 

forth as sections 2 to 6, inclusive, of this regulation. 

 Sec. 2.  As used in sections 3, 4 and 5 of this regulation, unless the context otherwise 

requires: 

 1.  “International instructor” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 3 of chapter 328, 

Statutes of Nevada 1997. 

 2.  “International student” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 4 of chapter 328, 

Statutes of Nevada 1997. 

 Sec. 3.  An international instructor or international student who applies for an original 

driver’s license or instruction permit or for the renewal or extension of a driver’s license or 

instruction permit must provide with his application: 

 1.  If he is an international instructor, a letter, signed by the administrator of the 

educational institution at which he is an instructor, dated not earlier than 30 days before receipt 
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of the application by the department, as proof that he is an international instructor. The letter 

must include, without limitation: 

 (a) The date of his employment; 

 (b) A statement that indicates that the applicant is an instructor at the educational 

institution; and 

 (c) A statement that indicates that his employment with the educational institution is 

indefinite. 

 2.  If he is an international student, a letter, signed by the administrator of the educational 

institution at which he is a student, dated not earlier than 30 days before receipt of the 

application by the department, as proof that he is an international student. The letter must 

include, without limitation: 

 (a) The date of his enrollment; 

 (b) A statement that indicates that the applicant is a student at the educational institution; 

and 

 (c) A statement that indicates that his enrollment at the educational institution is indefinite. 

 3.  Any other information or documentation requested by the department, which may 

include, without limitation:  

 (a) An identification card issued by the educational institution, including, without limitation: 

  (1) An identification card for members of the staff or faculty; and 

  (2) An identification card for students; 

 (b) His school transcript; and 

 (c) His enrollment records. 
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 Sec. 4.  The department will charge and collect a fee of $6 for the extension of a driver’s 

license issued to an international instructor or international student. 

 Sec. 5.   Each driver’s license or instruction permit issued to an international instructor or 

international student must contain a restriction X, which must be defined on the back of the 

license or permit as meaning that the holder thereof declares himself to be a resident of this state 

for the limited purpose of obtaining a driver’s license or instruction permit.  

 Sec. 6.  As used in chapters 482 and 483 of NRS, “seasonal resident” means any person 

who is not a “resident,” as defined NRS 483.141 and who: 

 1.  Temporarily resides in this state for a period of at least 31 days in each calendar year; 

 2.  Maintains a temporary residence in this state;  

 3.  Returns to the state or jurisdiction of his residence at least one time during each calendar 

year; and 

 4.  Is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction. 

 Sec. 7.  NAC 483.430 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 483.430  1.  The holder of a driver’s license is not eligible to apply for the renewal of the 

license by mail if: 

 (a) The license expires 4 years after the date of expiration stated thereon because a certificate 

of renewal has been issued for the license; 

 (b) The license is a commercial driver’s license; 

 (c) At the time the drivers’ license division of the department mails to the applicant the 

expiration notice required pursuant to NRS 483.382, an examination of the applicant’s driving 

record in this state, any other state, the District of Columbia, any territory or possession of the 

United States or any country indicates that his driver’s license or privilege to drive in that 
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jurisdiction is suspended, revoked or canceled or that his application for a driver’s license in that 

jurisdiction has been denied; 

 (d) The license is subject to restriction M, N, O or S as those restrictions are described in 

NAC 483.350 and 483.360; 

 (e) He is less than 25 years of age or 71 years of age or older; 

 (f) He has been convicted of three or more traffic violations within the 4 years immediately 

preceding the date of expiration of the license; 

 (g) The license is a restricted driver’s license issued pursuant to NRS 483.490; [or] 

 (h) His name is listed in the records of the department as a person who must renew his 

driver’s license in person because the department believes that the information contained on his 

driver’s license may be incorrect or that his license may have been issued as a result of fraud or 

mistake [.] ; or 

 (i) He is an international instructor or an international student. 

 2.  As used in this section [, “traffic] : 

 (a) “International instructor” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 3 of chapter 328, 

Statutes of Nevada 1997. 

 (b) “International student” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 4 of chapter 328, 

Statutes of Nevada 1997. 

 (c) “Traffic violation” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 483.473. 

 


