[Rev. 11/22/2013 9:04:56 AM--2013]

[NAC-451 Revised Date: 8-04]

CHAPTER 451 - DEAD BODIES

PRESERVATION

451.010 Embalming.

451.020 Severability.

CREMATION

451.050 Written authorization: Allowance of person to witness cremation; allowance of simultaneous cremation of remains of two or more persons.

TRANSPORTATION

451.100 Transportation by common carrier, agencies or other persons.

451.110 Bodies subject to trauma or disinterred more than 30 days after burial.

451.120 Transportation by funeral directors or embalmers.

451.130 Burial-transit permits.

451.140 Responsibility of Health Division.

 

 

 

PRESERVATION

NAC 451.010  Embalming. (NRS 439.200)

1.  At the direction of a physician, licensed to practice medicine in Nevada, who was last in attendance on a person known or suspected to have died of a communicable disease, or of any coroner or health officer who has knowledge or suspects that a person has died of a communicable disease in his jurisdiction, the funeral director shall embalm the dead body as soon as possible.

2.  In a case where an autopsy or other medical examination is required, embalming must not be performed until authorized by the physician, coroner or health officer having jurisdiction over the body.

3.  If a dead body has not been disposed of or otherwise preserved within 18 hours after the time of death, the facility must, in the interest of public health, take such steps as may be reasonably necessary to preserve the dead body or may store the dead body in a sealed container.

[Bd. of Health, Disposition of Dead Bodies Reg. Art. I, eff. 4-21-78]

NAC 451.020  Severability. (NRS 439.200)  If any provision of NAC 451.010 is declared unconstitutional or invalid for any reason, the remainder of its provisions are not affected thereby.

[Bd. of Health, Disposition of Dead Bodies Reg. Art. II, eff. 4-21-78]

CREMATION

NAC 451.050  Written authorization: Allowance of person to witness cremation; allowance of simultaneous cremation of remains of two or more persons. (NRS 451.640, 451.685, 642.063)

1.  Before an operator of a crematory allows:

(a) A person to witness a cremation, the operator shall obtain, on a form provided by the crematory, written authorization from a person authorized pursuant to NRS 451.650 to order the cremation of human remains.

(b) The remains of two or more persons to be simultaneously cremated in the same chamber, the operator shall obtain, on a form provided by the crematory, written authorization from the agent of each person whose remains are to be simultaneously cremated.

2.  A form required pursuant to subsection 1 must:

(a) Be written in language that is easily understood;

(b) Include a clear explanation of the purpose of the form; and

(c) Be maintained by an operator of a crematory for 1 year after the cremation of the remains of a person.

3.  Any failure by the operator of a crematory to maintain the written documentation required by paragraph (c) of subsection 2 is a violation of this chapter.

(Added to NAC by Funeral Bd. by R043-02, 11-26-2003)

TRANSPORTATION

NAC 451.100  Transportation by common carrier, agencies or other persons. (NRS 439.200)

1.  The bodies of persons who have died from any cause must not be received for transportation by a common carrier or transported by agencies or other persons authorized to carry human bodies unless the body has been embalmed and prepared by an embalmer licensed under the laws of Nevada.

2.  The bodies of persons who have died from any cause must not be received for transportation by a common carrier unless the body is placed in a sound casket and enclosed in a transportation case adequate to prevent the seepage of fluids and the escape of offensive odors.

[Bd. of Health, Transportation of Dead Bodies Reg. 1, eff. 3-15-66]

NAC 451.110  Bodies subject to trauma or disinterred more than 30 days after burial. (NRS 439.200)  The body of a person, or the remains of the body of a person, whose death was caused by a severe trauma, or the remains of a human dead body in which decomposition has occurred and in which either the effects of the trauma or decomposition prohibit normal embalming and preparation procedures or a body disinterred more than 30 days after burial may be transported only:

1.  In a sealed casket enclosed in a transportation case;

2.  In a sound casket with a sealed inner liner enclosed in a transportation case; or

3.  In a sound casket encased in a sealed transportation case.

[Bd. of Health, Transportation of Dead Bodies Reg. 2, eff. 3-15-66]

NAC 451.120  Transportation by funeral directors or embalmers. (NRS 439.200)  Nothing in NAC 451.100 to 451.140, inclusive, prohibits or limits in any respect the transportation of dead human bodies within Nevada by licensed funeral directors or embalmers in properly licensed motor vehicles or aircraft owned, operated, chartered or leased by licensed funeral directors or mortuaries, nor prohibits the transportation of embalmed bodies within Nevada by relatives or other authorized persons.

[Bd. of Health, Transportation of Dead Bodies Reg. 4, eff. 3-15-66]

NAC 451.130  Burial-transit permits. (NRS 439.200)

1.  When bodies are shipped by common carrier or transported by an agency or by any other person authorized to carry human bodies, a burial-transit permit must be made out in duplicate.

2.  One copy of the burial-transit permit must accompany the body. The duplicate copy of the permit must be attached to and accompany the waybill covering the remains, and be delivered with the body at the point of destination to the person to whom it is consigned.

[Bd. of Health, Transportation of Dead Bodies Reg. 3, eff. 3-15-66]

NAC 451.140  Responsibility of Health Division. (NRS 439.200)  Nothing in NAC 451.100 to 451.140, inclusive, makes the Health Division of the Department of Health and Human Services responsible for any financial obligations incurred by the fulfillment of those sections, except as provided by law.

[Bd. of Health, Transportation of Dead Bodies Reg. 5, eff. 3-15-66]