ADOPTED REGULATION OF THE PEACE OFFICERS’
STANDARDS AND TRAINING COMMISSION

LCB File No. R031-23

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [emitted-material] is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: § 1, NRS 289.510.

A REGULATION relating to peace officers; establishing the requirements a peace officer must
meet to receive a command level basic certificate; and providing other matters properly
relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:

Existing law requires the Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Commission to adopt
regulations establishing minimum standards for the certification and training of peace officers.
(NRS 289.510)

This regulation provides that the Commission may award a command level basic
certificate to a peace officer if: (1) the peace officer has been elected or appointed to an
executive level position; (2) the peace officer meets the minimum standards for appointment; (3)
the peace officer has 5 consecutive years of experience as a peace officer employed by a Nevada
agency; (4) any prior certification of the peace officer has not been revoked or suspended; (5) the
peace officer has completed certain training courses; (6) the peace officer passes the state
certification examination with a score of at least 70 percent; and (7) the peace officer passes a
physical fitness examination approved by the employing agency of the peace officer.

Section 1. Chapter 289 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto a new section to read
as follows:

1. The Commission may award a command level basic certificate to a peace officer if:

() The peace officer has been elected or appointed to an executive level position;

(b) The peace officer meets the minimum standards for appointment established pursuant
to NAC 289.110;

(c) The peace officer has 5 consecutive years of experience as a peace officer employed by

a Nevada agency;

--1--
Adopted Regulation R031-23



(d) Any prior certification of the peace officer has not been revoked or suspended;

(e) The peace officer has satisfactorily completed a training course that is approved by the
Executive Director which consists of a minimum of 80 hours of training that satisfies the
requirements established by the Commission pursuant to subsection 1 of NAC 289.300 in:

(1) Abuse of older persons;

(2) Child abuse and sexual abuse of a child;

(3) Civil liability;

(4) Classification and receiving of offenders;

(5) Constitutional law;

(6) Counter-terrorism and weapons of mass destruction;
(7) Crimes against persons;

(8) Crimes against property;

(9) Cultural awareness;

(10) Domestic violence, stalking and aggravated stalking;
(11) Ethics in law enforcement;

(12) Fire safety and use of emergency equipment;

(13) Games offenders play;

(14) Gangs and cults;

(15) Juvenile law;

(16) Laws relating to arrest;

(17) Laws relating to correctional institutions;

(18) Laws relating to drugs, including, without limitation, current trends in drugs;

(19) Miscellaneous crimes;
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(20) Modern correctional philosophy;
(21) Probable cause;
(22) Public and media relations;
(23) Records of offenders in institutions;
(24) Rights of victims;
(25) Search and seizure;
(26) Searches of offender institutions;
(27) Supervision of offenders;
(28) Training concerning active assailants; and
(29) Use of force;
() The peace officer passes the state certification examination with a score of at least 70
percent; and
(g) The peace officer passes a physical fitness examination approved by the employing
agency of the peace officer.
2. An agency may have only two active command level basic certificates at any one time.
3. To maintain a command level basic certificate, a peace officer must comply with the
provisions of this chapter and chapter 289 of NRS.
4. A command level basic certificate expires immediately upon the separation of a peace
officer from an executive level position unless, within 90 days after the separation, the peace

officer is newly elected or appointed to an executive level position.
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