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Explanation of Proposed Change:  Assembly Bill 163 of the 2023 State of Nevada Legislative 
Session (signed into law by the Governor), in part, provides for: a) employee leave if the employee 
or a household member (of the employee) is a victim of sexual assault; and b) accommodation for 
an employee if the employee or a household member (of the employee) is a victim of sexual 
assault.  The new regulation and amendments to NAC 284.2508, 284.539, 284.554, 284.578, 
284.5811 and 284.599, proposed by the Division of Human Resource Management, will adopt the 
statutory definition of ‘sexual assault” and amend existing employee provisions to conform to the 
expanded protections now outlined in Nevada Revised Statutes.  

 
NEW  “Sexual assault” defined.  “Sexual assault” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 

200.366. 
 
NAC 284.2508 Compensatory time: Use. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 284.345, 

608.0198) 
1. At the direction of the appointing authority, compensatory time must be used within a 

reasonable time after it is accrued. 
2. Unless it would cause an undue hardship to the agency, a request for the use of compensatory 

time may not be unreasonably denied if the request is made at least 2 weeks in advance of the first 
date on which the employee wishes to use his or her compensatory time. 

3. Unless it would cause an employee to forfeit an amount of annual leave pursuant to 
subsection 2 of NRS 284.350, an employee must, to the extent possible, exhaust his or her 
compensatory time before using his or her available annual leave. 

4. An appointing authority shall approve a request for compensatory time of an employee who 
is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault or whose family or 
household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault, 
and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator if: 

(a) The employee has been employed in public service for at least 90 days; 
(b) The employee has accrued the amount of compensatory time necessary to cover the time 

requested; and 
(c) The combination of all leave taken by the employee for this purpose does not exceed 160 

hours in the 12-month period immediately following the date on which the act which constitutes 
domestic violence or sexual assault occurred. 

(Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel by R147-01, eff. 1-22-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n 
by R088-17, 12-19-2017, eff. 1-1-2018) 
 

NAC 284.539 Annual leave: Written request; approval or denial; authorized use. (NRS 
284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.350, 608.0198) 

1. Except as otherwise provided by the Family and Medical Leave Act, an appointing authority 
shall determine the time when annual leave is taken after considering the needs of the agency and 
the seniority and wishes of the employee. Annual leave may not be granted in excess of the 
accumulated annual leave. 

2. A written request for annual leave that is submitted by an employee within a reasonable time 
before the date upon which the annual leave is requested to commence must be approved or denied 
by the appointing authority, in writing, before the date upon which the annual leave is requested 
to commence or within 15 days after the appointing authority receives the request, whichever is 
sooner. 



3. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, the appointing authority may deny a request 
for annual leave for good and sufficient reason. The appointing authority may not prohibit an 
employee from using at least 5 consecutive days of annual leave in any calendar year. 

4. An employee shall request annual leave at least 30 days in advance if the need for leave is 
foreseeable and the annual leave is to be taken in conjunction with a planned leave of absence 
without pay. 

5. An employee who has accumulated both annual leave and compensatory time off, and who 
may lose annual leave at the end of the calendar year, may elect to use the annual leave instead of 
the compensatory time for approved leave. In all other instances, compensatory time must, as far 
as practicable, be exhausted before annual leave is used. 

6. An employee who is receiving benefits for a temporary total disability pursuant to chapters 
616A to 616D, inclusive, or chapter 617 of NRS may use his or her accrued annual leave pursuant 
to NAC 284.5775. 

7. An appointing authority shall approve a request for annual leave of an employee who is a 
victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault or whose family or 
household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault, 
and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator if: 

(a) In accordance with NRS 284.350, the employee has been employed in public service for at 
least 6 months; 

(b) The employee has accrued the amount of annual leave necessary to cover the time 
requested; and 

(c) The combination of all leave taken by the employee for this purpose does not exceed 160 
hours in the 12-month period immediately following the date on which the act which constitutes 
domestic violence or sexual assault occurred. 

(Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 6-18-86; 9-17-87; 7-14-88; 4-20-90; 
3-23-94; 11-16-95; R031-98, 4-17-98; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 
12-29-2005; R037-17, 10-31-2017, eff. 1-1-2018) 
 

NAC 284.554 Sick leave: Authorized use. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355, 
608.0198) 

1. An employee is entitled to use sick leave if the employee: 
(a) Is unable to perform the duties of his or her position because he or she is sick, injured or 

physically incapacitated due to a medical condition; 
(b) Is physically incapacitated due to pregnancy or childbirth and is therefore unable to perform 

the duties of the employee’s position; 
(c) Is quarantined; 
(d) Is receiving required medical, psychological, optometric or dental service or examination; 
(e) Is receiving counseling through an employee assistance program for a condition which 

would otherwise qualify pursuant to the provisions of this section; 
(f) Has an illness, death or other authorized medical need in his or her immediate family and 

he or she complies with the requirements of NAC 284.558 or 284.562; or 
(g) Meets the requirements set forth in subsection 2. 
2. An appointing authority shall approve a request for sick leave of an employee who is a 

victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault or whose family or 
household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault, 
and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator if: 



(a) The employee has been employed in public service for at least 90 days; 
(b) The employee has accrued the amount of sick leave necessary to cover the time requested; 

and 
(c) The combination of all leave taken by the employee for this purpose does not exceed 160 

hours in the 12-month period immediately following the date on which the act which constitutes 
domestic violence or sexual assault occurred. 

[Personnel Div., Rule VII § D part subsec. 6, eff. 8-11-73; A 2-5-82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of 
Personnel, 10-26-84; 4-20-90; 11-16-95; A by Personnel Comm’n by R141-07, 1-30-2008; R037- 
17, 10-31-2017, eff. 1-1-2018) 

 
NAC 284.578 Leave of absence without pay: Conditions for approval; restrictions on 

use; revocation. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.360, 608.0198) 
1. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 284.360, an appointing authority may grant a leave of 

absence without pay to an employee for not more than 1 year for any satisfactory reason. 
2. The Commission may grant leaves of absence without pay in excess of 1 year for purposes 

deemed beneficial to the public service. 
3. An appointing authority may require an employee on leave of absence without pay to submit 

every 2 weeks a statement of his or her intent to return to work. 
4. If the reason for granting the leave no longer exists, the appointing authority may revoke the 

leave after notifying the employee in writing and allowing, so far as is practicable, not less than 5 
working days after the date of notification for the employee to return to work. 

5. An employee shall request leave without pay at least 30 days in advance of when the need 
for the leave is foreseeable, if practicable. 

6. An employee may not use leave without pay in lieu of sick leave or annual leave without 
approval of the appointing authority. 

7. An employee who is using leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act may not use 
leave without pay until the employee has exhausted all the accrued sick leave, accrued annual 
leave, accrued compensatory time and catastrophic leave that the employee is eligible to use based 
on the nature of the absence, as required by NAC 284.5811. 

8. An appointing authority shall grant leave without pay, upon request, to an employee who is 
a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault or whose family or 
household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault, 
and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator if: 

(a) The employee has been employed in public service for at least 90 days; and 
(b) The combination of all leave taken by the employee for this purpose does not exceed 160 

hours in the 12-month period immediately following the date on which the act which constitutes 
domestic violence or sexual assault occurred. 

[Personnel Div., Rule VII § E subsecs. 1-4, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10- 
26-84; 3-23-94; 10-27-97; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; R060-09, 11-25- 
2009; R037-17, 10-31-2017, eff. 1-1-2018; R063-18, 9-27-2018) 
 

NAC 284.5811 Family and medical leave: Maximum amount in 12-month period; 
eligibility; use. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.350, 284.355, 284.3626, 608.0198) 

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, an employee who is entitled to take leave 
pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act is limited to a total of 12 weeks of such leave during 
a rolling 12-month period. The rolling 12-month period is measured backward from the date an 



employee uses any leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. 
2. An employee who is entitled to take leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act to 

care for a covered service member is limited to a total of 26 weeks of such leave during a single 
12-month period. 

3. To calculate eligibility for leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act, each hour 
that an employee is in paid status in the 12-month period immediately preceding the leave must be 
considered as time worked. 

4. Except as otherwise provided in subsections 5 and 6, an employee who meets the 
requirements for eligibility for and who is taking leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave 
Act must exhaust all the accrued sick leave, accrued annual leave, accrued compensatory time and 
catastrophic leave that the employee is eligible to use based on the nature of the absence before 
using leave without pay. Any accrued sick leave, accrued annual leave, accrued compensatory 
time, catastrophic leave and holiday pay to which the employee is entitled pursuant to NAC 
284.255 runs concurrently with the leave granted pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act 
if the employee is otherwise eligible for that sick leave, annual leave, compensatory time, 
catastrophic leave or holiday pay. 

5. If an employee is absent from work as the result of a work-related injury or illness and meets 
the requirements for eligibility for leave due to a serious health condition pursuant to the Family 
and Medical Leave Act: 

(a) Any amount of time that the employee is absent from work during that period will be 
designated as leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act; and 

(b) The employee may elect to use paid leave or leave without pay for the portion of time that 
he or she is not being compensated for the work-related injury or illness. 

6. If an employee is absent from work as the result of a non-work-related injury or illness, the 
employee is receiving compensation for the injury or illness from a disability benefit plan and the 
employee meets the requirements for eligibility for leave due to a serious health condition pursuant 
to the Family and Medical Leave Act: 

(a) Any amount of time that the employee is absent from work during that period will be 
designated as leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act; and 

(b) The employee may use paid leave for the time that the employee is being compensated for 
the non-work-related injury or illness if the employee has entered into an agreement with the 
appointing authority to use the paid leave. If the employee and the appointing authority have not 
entered into such an agreement, the employee may not elect to use and the appointing authority 
may not require the employee to use paid leave for that time. 

7. If an employee who is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual 
assault or whose family or household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic 
violence or sexual assault, and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator, is absent from work 
and meets the requirements for eligibility pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act, any 
amount of time that the employee is absent from work during that period will be designated as 
leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. 

8. An appointing authority may require an employee to provide medical or other appropriate 
documentation to support his or her need for leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. 

(Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by 
Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, 10-30-2003; R145-05, 12-29-2005; R060-09, 11-25-2009; R021- 
13, 10-23-2013; R037-17, 10-31-2017, eff. 1-1-2018) 

 



NAC 284.599 Requirements. (NRS 284.065, 613.222) 
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the appointing authority of an employee who 

is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault or whose family or 
household member is a victim of an act which constitutes domestic violence or sexual assault, 
and the employee is not the alleged perpetrator, shall, upon the request of the employee, provide 
reasonable accommodation to the employee. 

2. Reasonable accommodation provided pursuant to this section must not cause an undue 
hardship to the operations of the appointing authority and must be deemed by the appointing 
authority to ensure the safety of the employee, the workplace, the employer or other employees.  
Such accommodation may include, without limitation: 

(a) Relocating the employee, including, without limitation, providing a different work area for 
the employee or changing the location to which the employee reports; 

(b) Modifying the schedule of the employee; or 
(c) Providing the employee a new telephone number for work. 
3. For the purposes of this section, a relocation of an employee must not be construed: 
(a) As a transfer as defined in NAC 284.106; or 
(b) To authorize the employee to appeal the relocation using the process for an appeal of a 

transfer set forth in NRS 284.376. 
(Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R037-17, 10-31-2017, eff. 1-1-2018) 

 


