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EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 
 

 
 
A REGULATION relating to taxation; revising provisions relating to filing a claim for refund; and 
providing other matters properly relating thereto.  
 
NAC 360.480(2) provides that a claim for a refund of interest or a penalty that was paid by the Taxpayer 

related to a tax administered by the Department must be filed within 3 years after the date of payment 

of the interest or penalty.  However, there is no guidance in the tax statutes for when a claim must be 

filed if the Taxpayer has paid the tax but not the penalty and interest. 

 
To address this situation the title of NAC 360.480 should be updated as well as make changes to the 
NAC for further clarification. In addition, adds guidance for crediting out of statute money to 
unclaimed property.  
 
 
      Section 1.     NAC 360.480 is hereby amended to read as follows: 
 
NAC 360.480  Documentation required with claim for refund; time for filing claim for  
 
refund of interest or penalty. (NRS 360.090) 
 
     1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 360.490 to 360.496, inclusive, a claim for a refund  
 
must be accompanied by: 
 
     (a) A statement setting forth the amount of the claim; 
 
     (b) A statement setting forth all grounds upon which the claim is based; 
 
     (c) All evidence the claimant relied upon in determining the claim, including affidavits of any  
 
witnesses; and 
 
     (d) Any other information and documentation requested by the Department. 
 
     2.  A claim for a refund of interest and/or a penalty that was paid by the taxpayer related to a  
 
tax administered by the Department and approved by the Department or the Nevada Tax  



 
Commission must be filed within 3 years after service of written notification of the credit on the 
 
 taxpayer. the date of payment of the interest or penalty. 
 
     3. A claim for a refund of overpaid tax, as a result of, but not limited to, an amended  
 
return, correction or adjustment must be filed within 3 years after service of written  
 
notification of the credit on the taxpayer. 
 
     4.   Except as otherwise provided in NRS chapter 361, NRS 360.235, 360.357, 360.7575,  
 
362.130, 369.345, 369.370, 375B.280 and 680B.120, if a claim for refund is not filed with the  
 
Department within 3 years pursuant to NRS 354.230, 363A.160, 363B.150, 363C.610,  
 
363D.200, 368A.260, 370.5041, 372.635, 372A.310, 372B.190, 374.640, 482.313, 482C.230 and  
 
section 2 and 3 if this regulation, the Department shall credit the amount of the overpayment  
 
against any other such tax or fee then due pursuant to NRS 360.236 and remit any remaining  
 
overpayment to the Nevada State Treasurer’s Office, in accordance with NRS 120A.  
 
     
 


