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AUTHORITY: NRS 654.110; NRS 654.190.   

 

 

A REGULATION relating to nursing facility administrators, administrators of residential facility 

for groups, or health services executives and grounds for disciplinary action related 

thereto.  

 

 

 

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:  

 Existing law. . . 

 

 Sec. 1 NAC 654.091 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.091.  1.  A health services executive may renew his or her license by submitting 

to the Board not more than 60 days before his or her license expires: 

 (a) An application for the renewal of the license; 

 (b) A nonrefundable renewal fee of $350; and 

 (c) Evidence satisfactory to the Board that during the 2 years immediately preceding the 

application for renewal he or she has completed the requirements for continuing education set forth 

in subsection 1 of NAC 654.093. 

 2.  Every 4 years a health services executive who wishes to renew his or her license pursuant 

to this section must submit to the Board: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec093
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 (a) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its designee 

to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for 

submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

 (b) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of the 

health services executive were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means to 

the Central Repository and that the health services executive has given written permission to the 

law enforcement agency or other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints 

to the Central Repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report. 

 3.  If a health services executive does not renew his or her license on or before the date for 

renewal of the license, the license automatically expires. 

 4.  A person whose licensure as a health services executive expires pursuant to subsection 3 

may apply [to have his or her license reinstated by the Board.  To have his or her license reinstated,  

the person must] for a new license by which he or she must: 

 (a) Submit to the Board an application for licensure as a health services executive and pay the 

fees required pursuant to NAC 654.087; 

 (b) Submit to the Board: 

  (1) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its 

designee to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal 

History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

  (2) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of 

the person were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means to the Central 

Repository and that the person has given written permission to the law enforcement agency or 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec087
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other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints to the Central Repository 

for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; and 

 (c) Complete 8 hours of training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to long-term 

care and any other standards of care which apply to health services executives that is approved by 

the Board. 

 Sec. 2  NAC 654.093 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 634.093.  1.  To renew his or her licensure as a health services executive, a licensee 

must have, in the 2 years immediately preceding the date for renewal of the license, completed 40 

continuing education units in a program approved by the Board pursuant to subsection 2. Two of 

the continuing education units must be in professional ethics and two of the continuing education 

units must be in training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to long-term care and any 

other standards of care which apply to health services executives. 

 2.  The Board will approve programs for continuing education units for organizations, groups 

or persons that sponsor educational programs which meet certain criteria as the Board may 

prescribe. Special forms for requesting approval must be used and are available from the office of 

the Board. Topics for programs for continuing education units must be related to the domains of 

practice in the field of support and services of long-term care. 

 3.  The Board will not approve more than 8 continuing education units earned in any 24-hour 

period. 

 Sec. 3  NAC 654.095 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.095.  A health services executive shall: 

 1.  Ensure that the nursing facility [,] or residential facility for groups [or veterans’ home], as 

applicable, is in compliance with all applicable requirements of: 



 

--4-- 

LCB Draft of Proposed Regulation R***-24 

 

 (a) Chapter 449 of NRS and chapter 449 of NAC; and 

 (b) Part 483 of Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

 2.  Oversee and direct the persons employed by the facility or home as necessary to ensure 

that the residents of the facility or home receive needed services and protective supervision. 

 Sec. 4. NAC 654.098 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.098  1.  Only a person who has qualified as a health services executive and who 

holds a license issued by the Board for the current licensing period may use the title “Health 

Services Executive,” and may use the abbreviation “H.S.E.” after his or her name. No other person 

may use or be designated by such a title or abbreviation or any other words, letters, sign, card or 

device tending to or intending to indicate that the person is a licensed health services executive.

 2.  If the Board imposes an administrative fine on a person for a violation of subsection 1, the 

amount of the fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 for a second or 

subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation.   

 3.  Where the person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has 

also failed to timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

 Sec. 5  NAC 654.100 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.100.  1.  In addition to the requirements set forth in NRS 654.150 and 654.180, 

an applicant for a license as a nursing facility administrator must submit evidence satisfactory to 

the Board that the applicant: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec150
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 (a) Is 21 years of age or older; 

 (b) Is a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United 

States; 

 (c) Has one of the following: 

  (1) A baccalaureate or master’s degree in the administration of nursing facilities or the 

field of health care from a college or university recognized by the United States Department of 

Education and has successfully completed at least 1,000 hours: 

   (I) In a program for training administrators approved by the Board or the National 

Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards; or 

   (II) In an internship or residency program in a facility providing long-term nursing 

care; or 

  (2) A baccalaureate or master’s degree in any field from a college or university recognized 

by the United States Department of Education and has successfully completed at least 1,200 hours 

in a program for training administrators approved by the Board or the National Association of 

Long Term Care Administrator Boards; [or] 

  [(3) A certificate issued by the American College of Health Care Administrators for the 

completion of the program for the certification of nursing home administrators;] 

 (d) Has completed 8 hours of training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to long-

term care and any other standards of care which apply to nursing facility administrators that is 

approved by the Board; and 

 (e) Is not the subject of any disciplinary proceeding. 

 2.  A program for training administrators described in subsection 1 must be completed in a 

nursing facility that has 40 or more beds and must require a person in the program to complete: 
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 (a) All the activities and forms provided in The NAB Five-Step Program Administrator-in-

Training Internship Manual for Nursing Home Administrators published by the National 

Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards;  

 (b) At least 1,000 hours of training in a period of not less than 20 weeks and include training 

[in the following areas: 

  (1) Administration of nursing facilities; 

  (2) Personnel management of nursing facilities; 

  (3) Nursing; 

  (4) Rehabilitation of patients in nursing facilities; 

  (5) Management of medical records in nursing facilities; 

  (6) Activities for patients of nursing facilities; 

  (7) Social services for patients of nursing facilities; 

  (8) Admission of patients of nursing facilities; 

  (9) Management of a business office; 

  (10) Dietary needs of patients of nursing facilities; 

  (11) Housekeeping and laundry services provided in nursing facilities; and 

  (12) Maintenance and environmental management of nursing facilities] as prescribed by 

National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards; and 

 (c) If the applicant is required to complete 1,200 hours of training pursuant to subparagraph 

(2) of paragraph (c) of subsection 1, 200 hours of training as follows: 

  (1) Sixty-five hours of training on resident care; 

  (2) Forty-five hours of training on personnel management; 

  (3) Twenty-five hours of training on financial management; 
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  (4) Twenty-five hours of training on maintenance, housekeeping and laundry; and 

  (5) Forty hours of training on administration. 

 3.  In addition to the requirements set forth in subsection 2, a program for training 

administrators described in subsection 1 must require a preceptor to supervise each person 

receiving the training set forth in subsection 2. The preceptor must: 

 (a) Be a licensed nursing facility administrator in good standing with the Board or with the 

licensing authority in the state or United States territory in which the preceptor is practicing 

and supervising the person receiving the training and: 

  (i) Where the training is occurring outside Nevada, it is occurring pursuant to that state’s 

or territory’s governing laws; or 

  (ii) Where the training is occurring in Nevada, the preceptor works with and supervises 

the person receiving the training while both are working at the same facility in Nevada; 

 (b) Have practiced as a nursing facility administrator for at least 2 of the preceding 5 years; 

 (c) Have completed a preceptor training program approved by the Board; 

 (d) Determine the order in which the training will be provided to each person he or she 

supervises; and 

 (e) Record the dates and times that each person he or she supervises completes the training 

required in each area set forth in subsection 2. 

 4.  Evidence of the successful completion of a program for training administrators submitted 

pursuant to subsection 1 must be a certificate of completion that is: 

 (a) On a form provided by the Board; and 

 (b) Signed by the preceptor who supervised the applicant. 
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 5.  A program for training administrators completed in another state must be equivalent to 

those programs approved in this State. 

 [6.  Before an applicant for a license as a nursing facility administrator may begin a program 

for training administrators described in subsection 1, the applicant must obtain approval from the 

Board to do so. 

 7.  A person or entity must obtain approval of the Board to provide a program for training 

administrators described in subsection 1. The person or entity seeking approval must submit to the 

Board a description of the training program and any additional information required by the Board.] 

 Sec. 6  NAC 654.111 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 1.  An applicant who holds a license as a nursing facility administrator or its equivalent from 

another jurisdiction and wishes to obtain a license as a nursing facility administrator in this State 

without taking the examination required by NRS 654.150 must submit an application to the Board 

with the applicable fees as required by NAC 654.105 and evidence satisfactory to the Board that: 

 (a) The applicant: 

  (1) Has obtained a baccalaureate or master’s degree in the administration of nursing 

facilities or a related field from a college or university recognized by the United States Department 

of Education and has successfully completed at least 1,000 hours in a program for the training of 

administrators approved by the Board; [: 

   (I) In a program for training administrators approved by the Board or the National 

Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards; or 

   (II) In an internship or residency program in a facility providing long-term nursing 

care;]  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec150
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec105
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  (2) Has obtained a baccalaureate or master’s degree in any field from a college or 

university recognized by the United States Department of Education and has successfully 

completed at least 1,000 hours in a program for training administrators approved by the Board or 

the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards [; or 

  (3) Has obtained a certificate issued by the American College of Health Care 

Administrators for the completion of the program for the certification of nursing home 

administrators. 

 (b) The applicant is licensed as a nursing facility administrator in a state that requires a person 

to pass the examination administered by the National Association of Long Term Care 

Administrator Boards to obtain such a license]. 

 (c) The applicant’s score on the examination administered by the National Association of 

Long Term Care Administrator Boards is valid. For purposes of this paragraph, a score is valid if 

the applicant’s license as a nursing facility administrator in another state has not lapsed or been 

suspended, revoked or otherwise restricted since the date that the score was issued by the National 

Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards. 

 (d) The applicant’s license in that state is in good standing and has been in good standing for 

the 2 years immediately preceding the date that he or she submits his or her application to the 

Board. 

 [(e) [The applicant was licensed as a full-time administrator of record of a nursing facility for 

2 years of the 5-year period immediately preceding the date on which he or she submits his or her 

application to the Board. 

 (f)] Any license as a nursing facility administrator granted to the applicant by the licensing 

authority of another jurisdiction has not been suspended, revoked or otherwise restricted for any 
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reason other than nonrenewal of the license or failure to obtain the required continuing education 

credits in a jurisdiction in which the applicant is licensed but is not currently engaged in the 

practice of nursing facility administration, evidence of which must be provided to the Board 

directly by the licensing authority of that jurisdiction. 

 [(g)] (f) The applicant has completed 8 hours of training concerning the statutes and 

regulations relating to long-term care and any other standards of care which apply to nursing 

facility administrators that is approved by the Board. 

 [(h)] (g) The applicant has complied with all other requirements for licensure as a nursing 

facility administrator set forth in this chapter and chapter 654 of NRS. 

 2.  The Board will review the evidence presented pursuant to this section to determine 

whether the applicant is eligible for licensure pursuant to this chapter and chapter 654 of NRS. 

 3.  The Board may, upon good cause shown, waive any of the requirements of subsection 1 

other than a requirement set forth in chapter 654 of NRS. 

 Sec. 7  NAC 654.1115 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.1115  1.  Examinations for licensure as a nursing facility administrator will be 

held at such times and places as [the Board designates] as are offered by the National Association 

of Long Term Care Administrator Boards. 

 2.  The [written] examination must be: 

 (a) Prepared by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards or any 

testing service approved by the Board; and 

 (b) Administered, in a manner approved by the Board, by the National Association of Long 

Term Care Administrator Boards or any testing service approved by the Board. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654
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 3.  A passing grade will be determined by the National Association of Long Term Care 

Administrator Boards. 

 4.  An applicant who fails the examination may retake the examination. An applicant who 

fails the examination on [two] three consecutive occasions must wait [1 year] six months after the 

date of his or her last examination to apply for the examination. 

 Sec. 8  NAC 654.112 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.112  1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 654.169, a nursing facility 

administrator may renew his or her license by submitting to the Board not more than 60 days before 

his or her license expires:  

 (a) An application for the renewal of the license; 

 (b) A nonrefundable renewal fee of $350; 

 (c) Evidence satisfactory to the Board that during the 2 years immediately preceding the 

application for renewal he or she has completed the requirements for continuing education set forth 

in subsection 2 of NAC 654.130; and 

 (d) If applicable, the information required pursuant to subsection 2. 

 2.  Every 4 years a nursing facility administrator who wishes to renew his or her license 

pursuant to this section must submit to the Board: 

 (a) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its designee 

to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for 

submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

 (b) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of the 

nursing facility administrator were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means 

to the Central Repository and that the nursing facility administrator has given written permission 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec169
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec130
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to the law enforcement agency or other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the 

fingerprints to the Central Repository for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its 

report. 

 3.  If a nursing facility administrator does not renew his or her license on or before the date 

for renewal of the license, the license automatically expires. 

 4.  A person whose license as a nursing facility administrator expires pursuant to subsection 

3 may apply [to have his or her license reinstated by the Board. To have his or her license 

reinstated, the person must] apply for a new license by which he or she must: 

 (a) Submit to the Board an application for a license as a nursing facility administrator and pay 

the fees required pursuant to NAC 654.105; 

 (b) Submit to the Board: 

  (1) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its 

designee to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal 

History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

  (2) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of 

the person were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means to the Central 

Repository and that the person has given written permission to the law enforcement agency or 

other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints to the Central Repository 

for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; 

 (c) Complete 8 hours of training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to long-term 

care and any other standards of care which apply to nursing facility administrators that is approved 

by the Board [; and 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec105
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 (d) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, take the written examination required 

pursuant to NRS 654.150 and receive a passing grade as determined by the National Association 

of Long Term Care Administrator Boards. 

 5.  A person who applies to have his or her license reinstated pursuant to subsection 4 is not 

required to take the written examination if the person: 

 (a) Applies to have his or her license reinstated not later than 5 years after the date on which 

the license expired; and  

 (b) Has taken and received a passing grade on the written examination not later than 5 years 

after the date on which the license expired]. 

 Sec. 9  NAC 654.130 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.130.  1.  [A program of study to train and qualify applicants for a license as 

nursing facility administrators offered by any accredited university or college is acceptable and 

approved for such a purpose. 

 2.]  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 654.169, to renew his or her license, a licensee 

must have, in the 2 years immediately preceding the date for renewal of the license, completed 30 

continuing education units in a program approved by the Board pursuant to subsection 3. Two of 

the continuing education units must be in professional ethics and two of the continuing education 

units must be in training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to long-term care and any 

other standards of care which apply to nursing facility administrators. 

 [3.] 2.  The Board will approve programs for continuing education units for organizations, 

groups or persons that sponsor educational programs which meet certain criteria as the Board may 

prescribe. Special forms for requesting approval must be used and are available from the office of 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec150
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec169
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the Board. Topics for programs for continuing education units must be related to the domains of 

practice in the field of long-term care. 

 [4.] 3.  The Board will not approve more than 8 continuing education units earned in any 24-

hour period. 

 Sec. 10  NAC 654.144 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.144  1.  Only a person who has qualified as a licensed nursing facility 

administrator and who holds a license issued by the Board for the current licensing period may use 

the title “Nursing Facility Administrator,” and may use the abbreviation “N.F.A.” after his or her 

name. No other person may use or be designated by such a title or abbreviation or any other words, 

letters, sign, card or device tending to or intended to indicate that the person is a licensed nursing 

facility administrator. 

 2.  If the Board imposes an administrative fine on a person for a violation of subsection 1, the 

amount of the fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 for a second or 

subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation.   

 3.  Where the person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has 

also failed to timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

 Sec. 11  NAC 654.1505 shall be amended to read as follows: 
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 654.1505.  In addition to the requirements of NRS 654.155 and 654.180, and unless 

otherwise any of the following provisions are waived by the Board upon a showing of good cause 

therefore, an applicant for a license as an administrator of a residential facility for groups must: 

 1.  Possess a high school diploma, general equivalency diploma or degree from an accredited 

institution of higher learning; 

 2.  Pass an examination administered by the National Association of Long Term Care 

Administrator Boards; 

 3.  Complete a program of training approved by the Board concerning the statutes and 

regulations relating to residential group care and any other standards of care which apply to 

operators of residential facilities; 

 4.  Provide a statement to the Board indicating that to the best of the applicant’s knowledge 

he or she is of good health and free from contagious disease; 

 5.  Indicate whether the applicant suffers from any mental impairment that would affect the 

ability to perform the duties of an administrator of a residential facility for groups; 

 6.  Be able to communicate adequately in the English language both verbally and in writing; 

 7.  Indicate whether the applicant has been investigated for misconduct or had a license or 

certificate revoked, modified, limited or suspended, or whether any other disciplinary action or 

proceeding has been instituted against him or her by any authority in any state; 

 8.  Provide a statement to the Board indicating whether since the age of 18 years the applicant 

has ever been: 

 (a) Charged with any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony; or 

 (b) Convicted of any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony;  

  9.  Submit to the Board: 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec155
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec180
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 (a) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its designee 

to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for 

submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

 (b) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of the 

applicant were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means to the Central 

Repository and that the applicant has given written permission to the law enforcement agency or 

other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints to the Central Repository 

for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a report on the applicant’s background 

and such other law enforcement agencies as the Board deems necessary; and 

 10.  Provide proof that he or she:  

 (a) Has: 

  (1) [At] Has a high-school diploma or equivalent with least 2 years of experience in 

health care [, including management and supervision,] within the 6-year period immediately 

preceding the date on which he or she submits his or her application;  

  (2) An associate’s degree and at least 1 year of experience in health care [, including 6 

months of management and supervision,] within the 6-year period immediately preceding the date 

on which he or she submits his or her application; or 

  (3) A bachelor’s degree, master’s degree or doctoral degree and at least 6 months of 

experience in health care [, including management and supervision,] within the 6-year period 

immediately preceding the date on which he or she submits his or her application; 

 (b) Completed 100 hours of study or training approved by the Board in the domains of practice 

in the field of operating a residential facility for groups; and 
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 (c) Completed 40 hours of study under the supervision of a mentor who has been approved by 

the Board pursuant to NAC 654.156. 

 As used in this subsection, “experience in health care” means full-time, or equivalent hourly 

experience, working in a licensed residential facility for groups, licensed facility for skilled nursing 

or licensed facility for intermediate care [or providing home or community-based services related 

to health care.] ; and 

 11.  Be a citizen of the United State or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United 

States. 

 Sec. 12  NAC 654.1515 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.1515  1.  An applicant who wishes to obtain a license as an administrator of a 

residential facility for groups without taking the examination required by NRS 654.155 must 

submit evidence satisfactory to the Board that: 

 (a) [For the 2 years immediately preceding the date on which he or she submits an application 

to the Board, the] The applicant has been licensed as an administrator of a residential facility for 

groups in a state that requires a person to pass the national examination administered by the 

National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards to obtain such a license; 

 (b) The applicant’s license in that state is in good standing; and 

 (c) The applicant has complied with all other requirements for licensure as an administrator 

of a residential facility for groups set forth in this chapter and chapter 654 of NRS. 

 2.  An applicant who wishes to be licensed pursuant to this section will be denied licensure if 

he or she has a record of any disciplinary, civil or criminal action taken against him or her for 

activities that the Board finds to be contrary to the qualifications for a licensee that is listed on a 

federal, state or private registry or data bank, including, without limitation, the Healthcare Integrity 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec156
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654
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and Protection Data Bank maintained by the Health Resources and Services Administration of the 

United States Department of Health and Human Services. 

 Sec. 13  NAC 654.1518 shall be amended to read as follows:  

 651.1518  1.  Examinations for licensure as an administrator of a residential facility 

for groups will be held at such times and places as [the Board designates] are set by the National 

Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards. The fee for each examination will be 

established by the [Board in an amount to cover the cost of administering the examination] the 

National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards. The fee is not refundable. 

 2.  A passing grade will be determined by the National Association of Long Term Care 

Administrator Boards. 

 3.  An applicant who fails the examination may retake the examination. An applicant who 

fails the examination [twice] three times must wait at least [1 year] six months after the date of 

the last examination before he or she may retake the examination. 

 Sec. 11  NAC 654.152 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.152  1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 654.169, an administrator of a 

residential facility for groups may renew his or her license by submitting to the Board not more 

than 60 days before his or her license expires: 

 (a) An application for the renewal of his or her license; 

 (b) A nonrefundable renewal fee of $350; 

 (c) Evidence satisfactory to the Board that during the 2 years immediately preceding the 

application for renewal he or she has completed the requirements for continuing education set forth 

in subsection 1 of NAC 654.154; and 

 (d) If applicable, the information required pursuant to subsection 2. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec169
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec154
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 2.  Every 4 years an administrator of a residential facility for groups who wishes to renew his 

or her license pursuant to this section must submit to the Board: 

 (a) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its designee 

to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for 

submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

 (b) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of the 

administrator of a residential facility for groups were taken and directly forwarded electronically 

or by another means to the Central Repository and that the administrator of a residential facility 

for groups has given written permission to the law enforcement agency or other authorized entity 

taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints to the Central Repository for submission to the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report. 

 3.  If an administrator of a residential facility for groups does not renew his or her license on 

or before the date for renewal of the license, the license automatically expires. 

 4.  A person whose license as an administrator of a residential facility for groups expires 

pursuant to subsection 3 may apply [to have his or her license reinstated by the Board. To have his 

or her license reinstated, the person must] apply for a new license by which he or she must: 

 (a) Submit to the Board an application for a license as an administrator of a residential facility 

for groups and pay the fees required pursuant to NAC 654.151; 

 (b) Submit to the Board: 

  (1) A complete set of fingerprints and written permission authorizing the Board or its 

designee to forward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal 

History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; or 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec151
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  (2) Written verification, on a form prescribed by the Board, stating that the fingerprints of 

the person were taken and directly forwarded electronically or by another means to the Central 

Repository and that the person has given written permission to the law enforcement agency or 

other authorized entity taking the fingerprints to submit the fingerprints to the Central Repository 

for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report; and 

 (c) Complete 8 hours of training concerning the statutes and regulations relating to residential 

group care and any other standards of care which apply to operators of residential facilities that is 

approved by the Board [; and 

 (d) Take the written examination required pursuant to NRS 654.155 and receive a passing 

grade as determined by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards] .  

 Sec. 14 NAC 654.154 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.154  1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 654.169, to renew his or her 

license, in the 2 years immediately preceding the date for renewal of the license, an administrator 

of a residential facility for groups must have completed 16 continuing education units in programs 

approved by the Board pursuant to subsection 2. Two of the continuing education units must be in 

professional ethics and two of the continuing education units must be in training concerning the 

statutes and regulations relating to residential group and any other standards of care which apply 

to operators of residential facilities.  

 2.  The Board will approve programs for continuing education units for organizations, groups 

or persons that sponsor educational programs which meet certain criteria as the Board may 

prescribe. Special forms for requesting approval must be used and are available from the office of 

the Board. Topics for programs for continuing education units must be related to the domains of 

practice in the field of support and services provided of long-term care.  

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec169
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 3.  An administrator of a residential facility for groups who is approved by the Board to serve 

as a mentor pursuant to NAC 654.156 may receive credit for not more than 10 continuing 

education units during each renewal period by supervising the study of an applicant for a license 

as an administrator of a residential facility for groups. One continuing education unit will be 

awarded for each 4 hours of actual supervision. 

 4.  The Board will not approve more than 8 continuing education units earned in any 24-hour 

period. 

 Sec. 15  NAC 654.165 shall be amended to read as follows: 

  654.165  1.  Only a person who holds a valid license issued by the Board for 

the current licensing period as an administrator of a residential facility for groups may use the title 

“Residential Facility Administrator,” and may use the abbreviation “R.F.A.” after his or her name. 

No other person may use or be designated by such a title or abbreviation or any other words, letters, 

sign, card or device tending to or intended to indicate that the person is licensed as an administrator 

of a residential facility for groups. 

 2.  If the Board imposes an administrative fine on a person for a violation of subsection 1, the 

amount of the fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 for a second or 

subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation.   

 3.  Where the person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has 

also failed to timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-654.html#NAC654Sec156
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 Sec. 16  NAC 654.190 shall be amended to read as follows: 

  654.190  1.  Each person licensed as a nursing facility administrator, 

administrator of a residential facility for groups or health services executive shall 

conspicuously display the person’s original license showing the person is the facility’s 

administrator of record in a public place within the facility of which he or she is the 

administrator of record. 

 2.  If the Board imposes an administrative fine on a licensee for a violation of 

subsection 1, the amount of the fine will be at least $250 for a first violation and at least 

$500 for a second or subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each 

violation.   

 3.  Where the person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has 

also failed to timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

 Sec. 17  NAC 654.220 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.220  1.  Any person who becomes aware that a person licensed pursuant to the 

provisions of chapter 654 of NRS is engaged in conduct which constitutes grounds for disciplinary 

action may file a complaint with the Board. The complaint must be in writing and signed by the 

complainant. 
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 2.  The Board will permit the licensee to provide proof satisfactory to the Board that he or she 

was not engaged in conduct which is grounds for disciplinary action. 

 3.  A member of the Board, an investigator appointed by the Board,  or a committee appointed 

by the Board to review cases, will review each complaint and conduct an investigation to determine 

whether there is a reasonable basis for the complaint. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 

4, a member of the Board who participated in the investigation may not participate in the decision 

whether to take further action on the complaint following the investigation and may not participate 

in any subsequent hearing or action by the Board relating to the complaint. 

 4.  If a member of the Board, an investigator appointed by the Board, or a committee appointed 

by the Board to review cases, decides to proceed with disciplinary action, the member of the 

Board , the investigator appointed by the Board,  or committee: 

 (a) Will refer the case to a prosecutor to bring charges against the licensee in the manner set 

forth in NRS 622A.300; and 

 (b) May recommend that the Board impose on the licensee one or more of the disciplinary 

actions set forth in subsection 8.  

 5.  If the member of the Board , the investigator appointed by the Board, or committee 

appointed to review the case recommends that the Board impose one or more of the disciplinary 

actions set forth in subsection 8: 

 (a) The Board will give the licensee written notice of the disciplinary action recommended by 

the member of the Board or committee appointed to review the case. The written notice must be: 

  (1) Delivered personally to the licensee; or 

  (2) Sent by certified mail to the last known address of the licensee. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-622A.html#NRS622ASec300
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 (b) Upon receipt of the written notice required pursuant to paragraph (a), the licensee may 

submit a written request to the Board to enter into a discipline agreement with the Board. The 

written request must: 

  (1) Be on a form prescribed by the Board; and 

  (2) State that the licensee knowingly, intelligently and voluntarily: 

   (I) Waives his or her right to a hearing on the charges brought against him or her; and 

   (II) Agrees to the terms of the discipline recommended to the Board pursuant to 

paragraph (b) of subsection 4. 

 6.  If a licensee submits a written request for a discipline agreement to the Board pursuant to 

paragraph (b) of subsection 5, the Board will consider whether to impose the discipline 

recommended pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 4 at a meeting of the Board held pursuant 

to NRS 654.100. At the meeting, the Board may not impose any discipline on the licensee other 

than the discipline recommended pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 4 that was agreed to by 

the licensee pursuant to sub-subparagraph (II) of subparagraph (2) of paragraph (b) of subsection 

5.   

 7.  If [: 

 (a) The Board does not impose discipline on the licensee at the meeting described in 

subsection 6; or 

 (b) The] the licensee does not submit a written request to enter into a discipline agreement 

with the Board pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 5, the Board will set a time and place for a 

formal hearing. The Board will conduct the hearing in compliance with the provisions of chapters 

233B and 622A of NRS. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec100
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 8.  If the Board determines by a finding of substantial evidence at a hearing conducted 

pursuant to subsection 7 that the licensee was engaged in conduct which is grounds for disciplinary 

action, it may order that the licensee: 

 (a) Be placed on probation for a specified time with conditions that the Board considers 

appropriate which may include, without limitation, restricting the number of facilities for which 

the licensee may act as an administrator of record. 

 (b) Receive a public reprimand. 

 (c) Have restrictions placed on the licensee’s practice [, including, without limitation, 

prohibiting the licensee from transporting patients or residents by motor vehicle if the licensee has 

been convicted for any offense for driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled 

substance] . 

 (d) Receive a suspension for a specified time or until further order of the Board. 

 (e) Have his or her license revoked. 

 (f) Participate in a program for the treatment of substance abuse. 

 (g) Pay an administrative fine, pursuant to NRS 654.190, of not more than $10,000 for each 

violation. 

 9.  If the Board determines at a hearing conducted pursuant to subsection 7 that the licensee 

was not engaged in conduct which is grounds for disciplinary action, the Board will dismiss the 

charges in writing and notify the licensee that the charges have been dismissed. 

 10.  If discipline is imposed against a licensee pursuant to this section, the Board will report 

the disciplinary action to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank maintained by the 

Health Resources and Services Administration of the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services or its successor. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec190
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 11.  The Board may, subject to the provisions of NRS 654.190, accept the voluntary surrender 

of a license. 

 Sec. 18  NAC 654.250 shall be amended to read as follows: 

 654.250  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 8, a person licensed as a 

nursing facility administrator or health services executive may not be the administrator of record 

of more than one nursing facility at the same time for more than 90 days in a calendar year. 

 2.  If a person licensed as a nursing facility administrator or health services executive is the 

administrator of record of more than one nursing facility, the person must: 

 (a) Immediately notify the Board that he or she is the administrator of record of more than one 

nursing facility; and 

 (b) Obtain a secondary administrator’s license for each additional nursing facility for which 

he or she is the administrator of record by paying a nonrefundable fee of $100 for each license.  

The Board may impose an administrative fine on a licensee for failure to comply with paragraph 

(a). The amount of such a fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 for a 

second or subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation.   

 3.  Where the person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has 

also failed to timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

 3.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 4 and 8, a person licensed as an administrator 

of a residential facility for groups or health services executive who is the administrator of record 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-654.html#NRS654Sec190
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for more than one facility may be an administrator of record for not more than 150 beds located in 

not more than five residential facilities for groups. For purposes of this subsection, multiple 

facilities located on the same campus are deemed to be a single facility. 

 4.  If a person licensed as an administrator of a residential facility for groups or health services 

executive operates more than one residential facility for groups, the person must: 

 (a) Immediately notify the Board that he or she is operating more than one residential facility 

for groups; and 

 (b) Obtain a secondary administrator’s license for each additional residential facility for 

groups that he or she is operating by paying a nonrefundable fee of $100 for each license. 

  The Board may impose an administrative fine on a licensee for failure to comply with paragraph 

(a). The amount of such a fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 for a 

second or subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation. Where the person 

did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has also failed to timely pay 

the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 

 5.  Each license and secondary license issued by the Board must include the name of the nursing 

facility or the residential facility for groups for which the license or secondary license was 

obtained. The Board will label each secondary administrator’s license issued pursuant to 

subsection 2 or 4 as an “A,” “B,” “C” or “D” license. 
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 6.  A person licensed as a nursing facility administrator and as an administrator of a residential 

facility for groups, or a person licensed as a health services executive, who is the administrator of 

record for more than one facility may be an administrator of record for not more than 150 beds 

located in all facilities for which he or she is the administrator of record. For purposes of this 

subsection, multiple facilities located on the same campus are deemed to be a single facility.  A 

health services executive may be the administrator of multiple facilities without restriction on 

the number of beds where the facilities are all located on the same campus. 

 7.  A nursing facility administrator, administrator of a residential facility for groups or health 

services executive shall surrender and return a license to the Board not later than 15 calendar days 

after: 

 (a) Relinquishing his or her responsibilities at the nursing facility or residential facility for 

groups for which the license was obtained; or 

 (b) The closure of the nursing facility or residential facility for groups for which the license 

was obtained. 

The Board may impose an administrative fine on a licensee for failure to comply with this 

subsection. The amount of such a fine will be at least $500 for a first violation and at least $1,000 

for a second or subsequent violation, but will not exceed $10,000 for each violation. Where the 

person did not seek a hearing related to a fine imposed in this section and has also failed to 

timely pay the administrative fine imposed pursuant to this section, the Board may: 

 (a) Deny any request for routine administrative services until the fine is paid; 

 (b) Deny a renewal application until the fine is paid; and 

 (c) Take disciplinary action because a failure to pay a fine imposed pursuant to this section 

is a cause for disciplinary action. 
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 8.  Upon application to the Board, a nursing facility administrator, administrator of a residential 

facility for groups or health services executive may, at the discretion of the Board, receive a waiver 

for a specified period of time from the limitations imposed by this section. 

 [9.  If the Board imposes an administrative fine pursuant to subsection 2, 4 or 7 and the fine is 

not paid in accordance with the terms of the written notice to the licensee of the fine, the Board 

will refer the matter to an investigator and the legal counsel for the Board to initiate disciplinary 

action against the licensee pursuant to NAC 654.210.] 

 Sec 19  NAC chapter 654 shall be amended to add the following new language: 

 “Health Services Executive” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 654.027. 

 Sec. 20  NAC 654.169 is repealed. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

TEXT OF REPEALED SECTION 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 NAC 654.169  Renewal of license. (NRS 654.110, 654.170) 

 1.  A licensee who holds both a license as a nursing facility administrator and a license as an 

administrator of a residential facility for groups may renew his or her license as a nursing facility 

administrator and his or her license as an administrator of a residential facility for groups if, except 

as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the licensee has completed: 

 (a) A total of 30 continuing education units in programs approved by the Board pursuant 

to NAC 654.130; and 

 (b) A total of 16 continuing education units in programs approved by the Board pursuant 

to NAC 654.154. 

 2.  If a program of continuing education has been approved by the Board for continuing 

education units pursuant to both NAC 654.130 and 654.154, a licensee who holds both a license 

as a nursing facility administrator and a license as an administrator of a residential facility for 

groups may use the continuing education units earned for the program to satisfy the requirements 

of paragraphs (a) and (b) of subsection 1. 
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