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PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE  

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS’ BOARD OF NEVADA 

LCB File No. R115-23 

December 7, 2023 

EXPLANATION – Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted. 

 

AUTHORITY: §§ 1 and 3, NRS 634.030; § 2, NRS 634.030 and 634.035; § 4, NRS 634.030 and 
634.160; § 5, NRS 634.030 and 634.130; § 6, NRS 634.018 and 634.030. 

 

A REGULATION relating to chiropractic; revising provisions relating to manipulation under 
anesthesia; revising provisions relating to education and training in dry needling; 
requiring a chiropractic physician or chiropractic assistant to provide certain 
information to the Chiropractic Physicians’ Board of Nevada; revising requirements 
relating to self-inspection forms; revising provisions relating to credits for continuing 
education; revising provisions relating to actions which are grounds for disciplinary 
action; and providing other matters properly relating thereto. 

 

Legislative Counsel’s Digest: 
 Existing law requires the Chiropractic Physicians’ Board of Nevada to adopt regulations 
establishing the qualifications a chiropractic physician must obtain before he or she is authorized 
to perform dry needling, which must include, without limitation, the successful completion of 
didactic education and training in dry needling. (NRS 634.035) Existing regulations: (1) require 
a chiropractic physician who wishes to obtain certification to perform dry needling to have 
completed at least 50 hours of didactic education and training in dry needling offered or certified 
by certain entities; and (2) provide a list of such entities, which includes the Providers of 
Approved Continuing Education. (NAC 634.3668) Section 2 of this regulation removes the 
Providers of Approved Continuing Education from the list of entities from which a chiropractic 
physician may complete such education and training.  
 Existing regulations require a chiropractic physician or chiropractic assistant who is 
licensed or certified by the Board to: (1) provide the Board with the address of his or her current 
legal residence; and (2) notify the Board, in writing, of any change in his or her legal residence 
within 15 days after the change. (NAC 634.380) Section 3 of this regulation requires a 
chiropractic physician or chiropractic assistant to additionally provide the Board with the 
electronic mail address that he or she uses in the course of his or her professional practice.  
 Existing regulations require a licensee to biennially submit to the Board a self-inspection 
form prescribed by the Board on or before December 31 of each even-numbered year. (NAC 
634.384) Section 4 of this regulation removes this requirement and instead requires a licensee, 
within 10 business days after the receipt of a self-inspection form in relation to a complaint made 
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against the licensee, to complete and submit the form to the Board. Section 4 also provides that a 
failure to complete and submit such a form is grounds for disciplinary action by the Board. 
 Existing law requires, with certain exceptions, a licensee in active practice within this 
State and a holder of a certificate as a chiropractic assistant in active practice within this State to 
attend certain hours of continuing education as a condition of renewing his or her license or 
certificate. (NRS 634.130) Existing regulations prescribe the circumstances under which the 
Board may approve or endorse an educational class or seminar for continuing education and 
attendance at such a seminar. Existing regulations additionally provide that as an alternative to 
the requirements prescribed for the approval or endorsement of attendance at such seminars, the 
Board will approve and endorse the attendance of a licensee or holder of a certificate at an 
educational seminar or seminars if the seminar or seminars have been granted recognition status 
by the Providers of Approved Continuing Education of the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing 
Boards and concern certain subjects. (NAC 634.385) Section 5 of this regulation removes the 
requirement for the Board to approve and endorse the attendance of a licensee or a holder of a 
certificate at an educational seminar or seminars under such circumstances. Existing regulations 
additionally provide the manner in which a licensee or holder of a certificate may receive credit 
for continuing education. (NAC 634.385) Section 5 provides that the Board will award credit for 
continuing education, not to exceed 4 hours per calendar year, to a licensee or holder of a 
certificate for his or her attendance at a meeting of the Board during the calendar year. 
 Existing law provides that certain actions including, among other things, unprofessional 
conduct, are grounds for initiating disciplinary action against a licensee or registrant pursuant to 
chapter 634 of the Nevada Revised Statutes. (NRS 634.140) Existing law defines 
“unprofessional conduct” to mean, among other things, conduct unbecoming a person licensed to 
practice chiropractic or detrimental to the best interests of the public. (NRS 634.018) Existing 
regulations provide a nonexhaustive list of actions which the Board will interpret as “conduct 
unbecoming a person licensed to practice chiropractic or detrimental to the best interests of the 
public.” Among other things, the Board includes in the list, participation in any verbal or written 
arrangement that involves capping or fee splitting and the performance of any chiropractic 
service on a patient who is under the age of 18 years without first obtaining the consent of the 
parent or legal guardian of that patient if the consent is required by existing law. (NRS 129.030, 
NAC 634.430) Section 6 of this regulation removes from the list explicit reference to an act 
which involves the performance of any chiropractic service on a patient who is under the age of 
18 years without proper consent. Section 6 additionally revises the definition of “capping” to 
include the use by a licensee of the services of a person who, with or without remuneration, 
refers a prospective new patient to the licensee: (1) at the scene of a traffic crash; (2) at a county 
jail or detention facility; or (3) within 72 hours after the prospective new patient has been 
involved in a motor vehicle accident or been injured as a result of the actions of another person, 
if the person who refers the prospective new patient is not licensed or certified as a provider of 
health care.  
 Existing regulations authorize a chiropractic physician who is licensed by the Board to 
perform manipulation on a patient who is under conscious sedation in the office of a physician 
who is currently certified by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical Specialties in 
the specialty of anesthesiology, emergency medicine or the management of pain, if the office is 
approved by the Board for the administration, monitoring and control of conscious sedation by a 
licensee. (NAC 634.3665) Section 1 of this regulation replaces the reference to certification in 
the specialty of the management of pain with certification in the subspecialty of pain medicine to 
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reflect the specialty and subspecialty certificates currently offered by the American Board of 
Medical Specialties. 
 

 Section 1.  NAC 634.3665 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.3665  1.  A licensee shall not perform manipulation on a patient under anesthesia 

unless the licensee performs the manipulation at a medical facility or office described in 

subsection 2 and: 

 (a) Has obtained certification to perform such manipulation from: 

  (1) A college of chiropractic that is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education; 

or 

  (2) Another program approved by the Board; or 

 (b) Is enrolled in a program to obtain the certification described in paragraph (a) at the time 

the manipulation is performed and the licensee performs the manipulation under the direct 

supervision of a qualified instructor approved by the Board. 

 2.  The manipulation described in subsection 1 may be performed: 

 (a) On a patient who is under general anesthesia or deep sedation, only in a hospital or 

surgical center for ambulatory patients that is licensed by the Division of Public and Behavioral 

Health of the Department of Health and Human Services and accredited by: 

  (1) The Joint Commission ; [on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations;] or 

  (2) The National Committee for Quality Assurance; or 

 (b) On a patient who is under conscious sedation: 

  (1) In a medical facility described in paragraph (a); or 

  (2) In the office of a physician licensed pursuant to chapter 630 of NRS or osteopathic 

physician licensed pursuant to chapter 633 of NRS who is currently certified by a specialty board 
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of the American Board of Medical Specialties in the specialty of anesthesiology [,] or emergency 

medicine or [the management of pain,] the subspecialty of pain medicine, if the office is 

approved by the Board for the administration, monitoring and control of conscious sedation by a 

licensee. 

 3.  As used in this section: 

 (a) “Conscious sedation” means a minimally depressed level of consciousness, produced by a 

pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof, in which the patient 

retains the ability independently and continuously to maintain an airway and to respond 

appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal commands. 

 (b) “Deep sedation” means a controlled state of depressed consciousness, produced by a 

pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof, and accompanied by a 

partial loss of protective reflexes and the inability to respond purposefully to verbal commands. 

 (c) “General anesthesia” means a controlled state of unconsciousness, produced by a 

pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof, and accompanied by 

partial or complete loss of protective reflexes and the inability independently to maintain an 

airway and respond purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal commands. 

 (d) “Hospital” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 449.012. 

 (e) “Surgical center for ambulatory patients” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 449.019. 

 Sec. 2.  NAC 634.3668 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.3668  1.  A chiropractic physician who wishes to obtain certification to perform dry 

needling must submit to the Board an application in the form prescribed by the Board. The 

application must include, without limitation, proof that the applicant has completed at least 50 

hours of didactic education and training in dry needling offered or certified by: 
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 (a) The Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards, or its successor organization; 

 (b) The American Chiropractic Association, or its successor organization; 

 (c) The International Chiropractors Association, or its successor organization; 

 (d) [The Providers of Approved Continuing Education, or its successor organization; 

 (e)] The American Medical Association, or its successor organization; 

 [(f)] (e) The American Osteopathic Association, or its successor organization; 

 [(g)] (f) The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, or its successor 

organization; 

 [(h)] (g) The State Board of Oriental Medicine; or 

 [(i)] (h) A school of chiropractic. 

 2.  Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a chiropractic physician who wishes to 

renew a certificate issued pursuant to this section must submit to the Board with each application 

to renew his or her license to practice chiropractic proof that he or she completed at least 4 hours 

of continuing education in dry needling during the immediately preceding biennium. A 

chiropractic physician is not required to complete such continuing education during the biennium 

in which the certificate is issued. 

 3.  A chiropractic physician may perform dry needling only if he or she is certified pursuant 

to this section. A chiropractic assistant shall not perform dry needling. 

 Sec. 3.  NAC 634.380 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.380  1.  A chiropractic physician or chiropractic assistant who is licensed or certified 

by the Board shall: 

 (a) Provide the Board with the [address] : 

  (1) Address of his or her current legal residence; and 
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  (2) Electronic mail address that he or she uses in the course of his or her professional 

practice; and 

 (b) Notify the Board, in writing, of any change in his or her legal residence within 15 days 

after the change. 

 2.  In addition to providing the Board with the address of each office where he or she 

practices pursuant to NRS 634.129, and the address of his or her legal residence, a chiropractic 

physician or chiropractic assistant may provide the number of a post office box which is to be 

used as his or her mailing address. 

 Sec. 4.  NAC 634.384 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.384  [Each] A licensee shall [biennially] , within 10 business days after receiving a self-

inspection form from the Board relating to a complaint, as described in NRS 634.160, made 

against the licensee, complete and submit [a] the self-inspection form [prescribed by] to the 

Board. [The] A failure to complete and submit the self-inspection form [must be received by the 

Board on or before December 31 of each even-numbered year. The Board will reject a self-

inspection form submitted pursuant to this section if the form is incomplete.] is grounds for 

disciplinary action by the Board. 

 Sec. 5.  NAC 634.385 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.385  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection [7,] 6, the Board may approve or 

endorse an educational class or a seminar if it concerns: 

 (a) The practice of chiropractic; 

 (b) Performing chiropractic adjustment; 

 (c) Avoiding unprofessional conduct or malpractice including, without limitation, gross 

malpractice; 
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 (d) Performing manipulation; 

 (e) Diagnosis and treatment of subluxation complex; 

 (f) Compliance with this chapter or chapter 629 or 634 of NRS; or 

 (g) Lifesaving skills, as described in subsection 4 of NRS 634.130. 

 2.  The Board may approve or endorse the attendance by licensees or holders of certificates, 

in person or on-line, of an educational seminar or seminars if: 

 (a) The syllabus and curriculum of the instructors of the seminar or seminars and the required 

fee are submitted to the Board; 

 (b) The seminar or seminars provide instruction in conformity with subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 

634.130, as applicable; 

 (c) The seminar or seminars concern a subject described in subsection 1; 

 (d) The sponsor of the seminar or seminars ensures that each licensee and holder of a 

certificate who requests credit for continuing education to satisfy the requirement set forth in 

subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, attends at least 50 minutes of each hour of 

instruction; and 

 (e) The seminar or seminars are sponsored by: 

  (1) A chiropractic college which has been accredited by: 

   (I) The Council on Chiropractic Education; or 

   (II) Another educational entity that has been approved by the Board; 

  (2) A state chiropractic board or association; 

  (3) The American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractors Association or 

the successor of either; 

  (4) A major hospital, as defined in NRS 439B.115; 
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  (5) An accredited university or college; or 

  (6) A regulatory body as defined in NRS 622.060. 

 3.  [As an alternative to the method of approval and endorsement provided in subsection 2, 

the Board will approve and endorse the attendance by licensees or holders of certificates, as 

applicable, in person or on-line, of an educational seminar or seminars if the seminar or seminars 

have been granted recognition status by the Providers of Approved Continuing Education of the 

Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards and concern a subject described in subsection 1. 

 4.]  The sponsor of the seminar or seminars shall ensure that each licensee or holder of a 

certificate, as applicable, attending that seminar is in attendance in a timely manner at the start of 

each lecture. If the sponsor fails to maintain the proper monitoring procedure, such failure may 

constitute grounds for the Board to withdraw its approval of a current or future seminar or 

seminars hosted or arranged by that sponsor. 

 [5.] 4.  The sponsor of a seminar shall allow any representative of the Board to attend all or 

part of the seminar in order to monitor the content of the course or lecture and the procedures for 

taking attendance. A representative who is taking the seminar to satisfy the requirements of 

subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, shall pay the full registration fee. 

 [6.] 5.  The sponsor of a seminar which has received the approval of the Board shall report 

to the Board all changes in the seminar as soon as possible. 

 [7.] 6.  Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the Board will not award credit for 

continuing education to a licensee or holder of a certificate, as applicable, for an educational 

class or seminar that is of a nonclinical nature, including, without limitation, an educational class 

or seminar regarding the building or management of a chiropractic practice. For the purposes of 

this subsection, an educational class or seminar regarding proper billing procedures shall not be 
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deemed to be an educational class or seminar regarding the building or management of a 

chiropractic practice. 

 [8.] 7.  The Board will not award credit for continuing education to an instructor of an 

educational class or seminar unless the instructor obtained from the Board approval for such 

credit before teaching the educational class or seminar. 

 [9.] 8.  Continuing education hours earned through the completion of a specific educational 

class or seminar may be counted only once during a calendar year toward the hours of continuing 

education required by subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, even if the licensee or 

holder of a certificate completes that class or seminar more than once during that calendar year. 

 [10.] 9.  The Board will award credit for continuing education to a licensee or a holder of a 

certificate for all educational classes or seminars which are approved and endorsed by the Board 

pursuant to this section and are attended by the licensee or holder of a certificate. 

 10.  The Board will award credit for continuing education, not to exceed 4 hours per 

calendar year, to a licensee or a holder of a certificate for attending a meeting of the Board 

during the calendar year. 

 Sec. 6.  NAC 634.430 is hereby amended to read as follows: 

 634.430  1.  As used in subsection 10 of NRS 634.018, the Board will interpret the phrase 

“conduct unbecoming a person licensed to practice chiropractic or detrimental to the best 

interests of the public” to include, without limitation: 

 (a) Engaging in or soliciting sexual misconduct. 

 (b) [Performing any chiropractic service on a patient who is under the age of 18 years without 

first obtaining the consent of the parent or legal guardian of that patient if the consent is required 

pursuant to NRS 129.030.  
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(c)] Performing manipulation on a patient under anesthesia without complying with the 

requirements set forth in NAC 634.3665. 

 [(d)] (c) Entering into a financial agreement or making a financial arrangement with a 

potential or existing patient as an inducement to enter into or continue care. This paragraph does 

not prohibit a licensee from providing complimentary chiropractic services to an existing patient. 

 [(e)] (d) Participating in any verbal or written arrangement that involves capping or fee 

splitting. 

 [(f)] (e) Engaging in practices regarding the billing of patients or the making of claims under 

a contract of insurance that are abusive or fraudulent, or both, including, without limitation: 

  (1) Billing patients or making claims under a contract of insurance for chiropractic 

services that have not been performed. 

  (2) Billing patients or making claims under a contract of insurance in a manner which 

misrepresents the nature of the chiropractic services that have been performed. 

  (3) Submitting to patients or carriers of insurance bills or claims which fail to disclose 

pertinent information or which contain false information, including, without limitation: 

   (I) Failing to disclose to a patient that a bill has already been paid, in full or in part, by 

a carrier of insurance. 

   (II) Failing to disclose to a carrier of insurance that a claim has already been paid, in 

full or in part, by a different carrier of insurance. 

   (III) Stating falsely that the injury of a patient is the result of an accident or work-

related incident. 
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 [(g)] (f) Engaging in a practice of waiving, abrogating or rebating the deductible or 

copayment required to be paid by a policy of insurance or a third party if the practice is used as a 

device for advertising or marketing, or both. 

 [(h)] (g) Failing to make any report or record available to the Board upon lawful request, 

failing to cooperate with any investigation by the Board or knowingly giving false information to 

the Board, including, without limitation, falsifying documentation concerning continuing 

education. 

 [(i)] (h) Failing to make any report or record available to another licensee, practitioner, 

patient or institution upon a lawful request to do so in compliance with the provisions of chapter 

629 of NRS. 

 [(j)] (i) Being delinquent in the payment of a judgment for the payment of child support 

pursuant to chapter 425 of NRS or being subject to a court order for the support of one or more 

children and not complying with the order or a plan approved by the district attorney or other 

public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed pursuant to the order. 

 [(k)] (j) Being in default on the payment of a student loan. 

 [(l)] (k) Violating the rules or regulations of a federal program that relates to the practice of 

chiropractic. 

 [(m)] (l) Engaging in fraud, misrepresentation or deception in any business affairs that relate 

to the practice of chiropractic. 

 [(n)] (m) Allowing a person to: 

  (1) Perform chiropractic services; or 

  (2) Engage in any aspect of the provision of chiropractic care to patients, 
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 if that person is not authorized to perform such services or provide such care pursuant to this 

chapter and chapter 634 of NRS. The prohibition set forth in this paragraph does not apply to a 

person who is licensed or certified as a provider of health care pursuant to one or more of the 

chapters of title 54 of NRS. 

 [(o)] (n) Engaging with a patient in a romantic or dating relationship unless the patient is the 

spouse of the licensee. 

 [(p)] (o) Examining or treating the anus, breast or genitalia of a patient without first: 

  (1) Obtaining from the patient an informed consent that refers to the specific procedures 

that will be performed on those parts of the body of the patient; and 

  (2) Making a note of such consent in the record of the patient. 

 [(q)] (p) Violating a provision of a chapter of title 54 of NRS other than chapter 634 of NRS 

pursuant to which the licensee holds a license or certificate as a provider of health care. 

 [(r)] (q) Knowingly giving a false or factually unsupported opinion in a peer review, records 

review, independent medical examination or chiropractic examination for the purpose of 

reducing a payment or reimbursement to a licensee for the care or treatment of a patient. 

 [(s)] (r) Failing to either post a written disclosure or give a written disclosure to a patient and 

maintain the written disclosure concerning a lack of maintaining professional liability insurance 

in accordance with the requirements of NRS 634.1295 and NAC 634.445. 

 [(t)] (s) Practicing chiropractic while impaired by alcohol, the use of illicit drugs, the 

unauthorized or improper use of a prescription drug or controlled substance, or any known or 

diagnosed mental illness or cognitive deficit. 
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 [(u)] (t) Paying or receiving any remuneration in such a manner and amount as would 

constitute a violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7b(b), regardless of whether the patient for whom the 

remuneration is paid or received is a patient under a federal health care program. 

 2.  A patient’s consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement in a 

romantic or dating relationship with a licensee does not excuse the conduct of the licensee. 

 3.  As used in this section: 

 (a) “Capping” means the use by a licensee of the services of [a] :  

  (1) A person who is remunerated for referring to the licensee a new patient who has been 

involved in a motor vehicle accident or who has been injured as a result of the actions of another 

person. 

  (2) A person who, with or without remuneration, refers a prospective new patient to the 

licensee: 

   (I) At the scene of a traffic crash; 

   (II) At a county or city jail or detention facility; or 

   (III) Within 72 hours after the prospective new patient has been involved in a motor 

vehicle accident or been injured as a result of the actions of another person, if the person who 

refers the prospective new patient is not a person who is licensed or certified as a provider of 

health care pursuant to one or more of the chapters of title 54 of NRS or the laws of another 

state or the District of Columbia. 

 (b) “Fee splitting” means the acceptance of remuneration by a licensee for referring a patient 

to another provider of health care or a health care facility or the provision of remuneration by a 

licensee for a referral to the business of the licensee. 

 (c) “Sexual misconduct” means: 
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  (1) Sexual relations between a licensee and a patient of that licensee, regardless of whether 

the patient initiated or consented to those sexual relations. 

  (2) Conduct by a licensee, in regard to a patient, that is sexual in nature, sexually 

suggestive or sexually demeaning to the patient. 

  (3) The commission by a licensee of one or more of the offenses defined in NRS 200.368, 

200.730, 201.210 and 201.220. 

  (4) The use by a licensee of deception, misrepresentation or force for the purpose of 

engaging in sexual conduct with a patient in: 

   (I) A clinical setting; or 

   (II) A setting that is used ordinarily for the provision of chiropractic services. 

 The term does not include sexual conduct or sexual relations that take place between a 

licensee and his or her spouse or between a licensee and a person who was a patient after the 

chiropractic physician-patient relationship has been terminated for a reasonable time. 

 (d) “Sexual relations” means: 

  (1) Sexual intercourse. 

  (2) Any touching of sexual or other intimate parts of a person or causing such person to 

touch the sexual or other intimate parts of the licensee for the purpose of arousing or gratifying 

the sexual desire of either the licensee or the patient. 

 

 


