[Rev. 11/21/2013 12:24:31 PM--2013]

CHAPTER 566 - INSPECTION AND POSSESSION OF HIDES AND CARCASSES

NRS 566.015           “Department” defined.

NRS 566.025           Conditions authorizing possession of carcass of bovine animal.

NRS 566.027           Persons slaughtering cattle without formal inspection system required to retain hides for 30 days; exhibition of hides or certificate of release. [Repealed.]

NRS 566.035           Inspection by inspectors of Department and peace officers. [Repealed.]

NRS 566.045           Penalties.

_________

 

      NRS 566.015  “Department” defined.  As used in this chapter, “Department” means the State Department of Agriculture.

      (Added to NRS by 1959, 406; A 1993, 1743; 1999, 3681)

      NRS 566.025  Conditions authorizing possession of carcass of bovine animal.

      1.  It is unlawful for any person to have in his or her possession all or part of the carcass of any bovine animal unless:

      (a) The animal was slaughtered at a slaughtering establishment under a United States Government, state, county or municipal inspection system which provides for adequate stamping for identification of all carcasses or parts of carcasses before release; or

      (b) The person exhibits to any inspector or agricultural enforcement officer of the Department, on demand:

             (1) The hide of the animal from which the carcass was obtained, with ears and brands attached without disfiguration or alteration; or

             (2) A certificate of inspection or release of the carcass, or of the carcass and hide, issued by an inspector of the Department.

      2.  As used in this section, “agricultural enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in regulations adopted by the Department.

      (Added to NRS by 1959, 406; A 1993, 1743; 1999, 3681; 2013, 1323)

      NRS 566.027  Persons slaughtering cattle without formal inspection system required to retain hides for 30 days; exhibition of hides or certificate of release.  Repealed. (See chapter 286, Statutes of Nevada 2013, at page 1328.)

 

      NRS 566.035  Inspection by inspectors of Department and peace officers.  Repealed. (See chapter 286, Statutes of Nevada 2013, at page 1328.)

 

      NRS 566.045  Penalties.  Any person who violates any of the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and, in addition to any criminal penalty, shall pay to the Department an administrative fine of not more than $1,000 per violation. If an administrative fine is imposed pursuant to this section, the costs of the proceeding, including investigative costs and attorney’s fees, may be recovered by the Department.

      (Added to NRS by 1959, 406; A 1967, 317; 1993, 900; 1995, 548; 1999, 3681)